When On Bantayan Island Cebu (A Memories Of Yesterday)

41 81
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

May 29, 2021

This article is inspired by madam @Ruffa's travel adventures. And every Summer, I always remember this place.

Way back in 2013, I was assigned to work on Bantayan Island Cebu and that was supposed to be for three months only as part of my training. But then my stay was extended due to some reason which I even liked than working in Samar. I liked my colleagues, my staff-housemates, my neighborhood, and the residents of the island. They were so approachable and friendly, especially to the PPS associates.

Bantayan Island is divided into three municipalities: Bantayan which is the central part and where I lived for nine months, Madridejos the North part, and Santa Fe which is the center of tourism and the very first municipality that you will see once you step on the island. This photo was taken at the pier of Bantayan Island and the place behind is Santa Fe resort.

Another thing that I liked about living on this island is the natural features like the white sand beaches, neighboring islands, as well as the seafood, local foods, and delicacies.

@Santa Fe beach resort

Cebu has been a training ground for new employees of PPS, my former company. Therefore, associates are from different places in the Philippines and there are staff-houses in different areas of the country. Some of my staff-housemates were from Palawan, some were from Cebu City, and I was lucky to have a housemate from my province, Samar.

My PPS Bantayan Island Family

The island is also considered as Cebu's fishing ground where guinamos (salted fish) andΒ buwadΒ (dried fish) are transported to Cebu, Negros, and other places of the Philippines for consumption. Big poultry farms are also located on this island and eggs are transported to Cebu and other places. So if you are looking for cheaper but fresh seafood and eggs in the Philippines, you can find them on Bantayan Island.

We have a customer in our branch, an owner of big poultry on the island, and every time they harvested eggs, he always gives us a huge bag of eggs. So we always have free sunny-side-up eggs for breakfast and Leche flan for dessert.

One of my favorite foods is the island's famous danggit (dried fish) dip in vinegar with chili and garlic. They also have dried octopus, and other dried seafood, while their crabs and fish are also affordable so we always served them during special occasions.

It is also in Cebu where I gained weight because we like food tripping even at night before bedtime.

When the new bakery opened near our staff-house, we liked buying their special choco-lanay, a bread filled with chocolate and it's really oozing in every bite, and we usually paired them with hot milk.

This is how choco-lanay bread looks like. Photo from Facebook

And sometimes after work, we will gather together and eat outside, roam around Bantayan, or stay at the park. I really missed our bonding moments.

Every time we have seminars or events that we need to go to Cebu City, all branches were closed and we take that advantage to bond with each other, the laughter and food trips are what I missed the most.

Every December we have a competition of what branch can make the best Christmas ID. Other branches had a lot of preparations but ours was filmed in just one night 🀣. And guess what? Our video won the first prize. We were so happy when our one-night bonding was even paid off.

And last New Year 2014, my staff-housemates had vacations to their places and only us associates from Samar were left in the staff house. I thought it will gonna be the saddest New Year, but our co-associates living on the island invited us to celebrate New Year at their house. After eating, we biked around the municipality and it was my first time to do biking at night. We slept at their house as well and get back to work the day after.

But after nine months, I was sent back to Samar. I was so sad especially when my co-staff housemates were sent to different branches as well. And just like me, one of my closest friends resigned and prefer to work abroad. She worked in Taiwan and I studied Caregiving and work here in Hong Kong.

I hope I will be given a chance to go back to this island again and meet my former colleagues, they're not only colleagues but real friends.

https://www.pinterest.com/amp/pin/529806343661698228/

22
$ 2.55
$ 2.00 from @BitcoinCashCity
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
+ 9
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Hei jane, here i am. Btw i'am a little bit craving to see tge food πŸ˜… I am a foodie πŸ˜… btw enjoyed reading it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

baka naman po pwede paturo kong paano gumawa ng article bago palang kase ako

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we keep coming back to bantayan too.. have you visited the virgin island?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Missed my friends while reading this and also the company outing with office mates nakakatuwang balikan ang mga memories madam!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wey xzeon, look, seafoods.😁for sure u missed the foods..

When you have very good colleagues, hahanaphanapin mo sila no? Ksi kung toxic n nga ang work toz pti mga kasama ay naku, bka magquit n lng ng wla sa oras..

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Super.. Dun ako nag enjoy sa lahat ng naging work ko.. At hndi rn tozxic ang work..free food allowance pa 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I didn't saw your comment until I scrolled down and saw my name... Yeah Nakakamiss sobra. Naglalaway ako biglaπŸ˜… pati yang choco lanay.. Pure choco sya hindi arina. Haayz...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Part talaga ang foodtrip pag kasama mga workmates. Hehe. Ganyan din kami sa work though sometimes lang pero iba din talaga ganda ng Cebu. One of the places I wanted to visit. Sana soon πŸ˜ŠπŸ’š having those kind of memories like yours is a blessing 'coz not everyone has a good experience while working or having a training

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Gusto ko nga ivisit to bagp umuwi samin. Total connected flight naman ako from HK 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

why not. para naman marelax ka bago ka umuwi sa inyo. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, kkmis ang ganyan. Naglalaway ako sa seafoods... Grabe. 🀀Buwad nga pala ang tuyo nakalimutan ko. Sa Davao Bulad and tawag.. Medyo magkalapit ang salita ng Davaweno at Cebuano pansin ko noon, kasi mahilig akong makinig ng drama sa radyo noon pag wala ang stepmom ko😁.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Kaht ako naglalaway lalo na yung may suka na maasim.. Yay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay true, pag naglilihi ako grabr hinahanap ko seafoods!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kya pla.. Pro madami b seafoods jan sa inyo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naka! Walng seafoods dito. Sa bayan meron, ang mamahal. Dyamante ang presyo. Wala kang aabutang freshπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was once in Cebu, and indeed it is a beautiful and abundant place. It is just sad that I wasn't able to tour myself and enjoy their beaches due to the pandemic.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

San ka nakatira sa pinas?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Leyte province po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aba.. Leyteño.. Waray waray ako 😁 kapitbahay lng pla tyo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As in? Maaram am mag waray Kay nag work all ha Tacloban before 😊 nice meeting you po kababayan πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice. Pwede na ak mag dialect 🀣🀣 diin ka ha leyte?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahaplag Unhan Han abuyog tikadto southern Leyte ha may agas agas bridge ngani

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhh, inggit iz me. Sana makaranas din ako ng ganyan. Kaso dapat humanao muna akong work no haha. Mukhang masaya lang kasi, lalo na pag sa iisang apartment KAYO magkakasama πŸ˜’

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oo super. Tabi tabi pa kmi matulog nun wala kc deck πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Abay lalong masaya iyan, sama sama sa hirap at ginhawa ang barkada.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama.. Pra masaya lage

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I enjoyed your pictures more than your blog 🀣 lol. Sorry for that. Let me read it again πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Go ahead

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bantayan is Philippines beautiful Island I have studied.Being a vet,I want to eat its salted fish for which it has distinction.Would that I visit this pleasant place.You have God-gifted place.What opportunities visitors have for tourism?I am vet and have interest in poultry and want to internship in such places.Can you guide me about opportunities there?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Sure . if it will come true 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ma'am. Can you give me info about Internship opportunities there for a vet student?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry idunno bout that πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bantayan Island is also my topic in the next article. Still have to finish it. 😁🧑

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hala pumunta ka dun te? Excited to read that 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And finally, you shared your summer adventure! 😁 grabe naman ang ganda ng place, mukhang dami kang pwedeng gawin at puntahan. Halatang enjoy na enjoy mo.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nakalimutan kta imention 🀣 Super ganda ng place. Next will be bout virgin island 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ano yan mga summer getaway mo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's been 10years when i visited beach and sea last time and you guys are really lucky to have it near where you're living

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Woe that was too long .. That experience was last 2013 though πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alam mo, eto yun isa sa mga regrets ko. Yun di ko sinunod yun gusto ko na magtravel noon kabataan ko. Kya pag nakakabasa ako ng ganito, naiinggit ako and puro sana ganito,sana ganoon. That is why, I promised to myself makapagtapos lang ang anak ko ng college,travel galore talaga gagwin ko,hehehe.

Thanks for sharing us your travel experience Jane..Nakakinggit,hehehe

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Pwd pa naman yun te. Hndi kpa naman matanda 😁 pro acct mo spam parn 😒

$ 0.00
2 years ago