Unraveling "Hallyu" - A Wave of Korean Cultural Popularity

52 91
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago

January 22, 2021

The other day, I have posted about Bitcoin Cash on my FB timeline to check what will gonna be the reactions of my friends. I also posted on my 'My Day' my BCH trading on Binance. Unfortunately, both got ignored, I received views but no one mind to ask questions about it. That means they prefer watching Kdramas more than learning about Bitcoin Cash and the crypto world.

I, myself was a fan of Kdrama and music too and idolized some Korean celebrities like Lee Min Ho, Park Seu Joon, IU, Hyun Bin, and more.

Korean dramas and music is not only popular among Asian countries but also exploding even in Europe and America and other parts of the world. They are so hot on video streaming sites like Netflix where they can just put subtitles to satisfy their English audience. Besides, access to Netflix and other video streaming sites is so easy that created the urge to explore. Korean entertainment is indeed booming right now.

The phenomenon started when the Kpop music Psy’s Gangnam Style went viral worldwide. I remember during the first release of this song, kids and even adults love singing this with matching dance moves of Psy. We even dance this during our company anniversary celebration at the beach.

But why is there a wave of Kdrama cultural popularity that people from all over the world are so fan of them?

I remember my young lady friend mentioned the word "Hallyu." She is a fan of Korean music too and always tells me the latest Korean songs and any updates about the Korean entertainment industry. I am not actually so interested in it nowadays because I am busier in the crypto world, but I just like listening to Kpop songs every time she played it.

Photo credit: bentley.com

"Hallyu" means Korean waves which show how Korean culture is spreading all over the world. For sure, many readers here are also idolizing Korean celebrities and fans of Kdramas and Kpop music too. There are many reasons why Korean cultural popularity has surged widely that even non-Korean got hooked by them.

Back when I was still a fan of Kdrama, I can’t even wait until the next episode is uploaded. I feel so addicted to them that I was watching Kdrama while working. I even followed Kdrama's Facebook pages to keep updated on the latest gossip and happenings in the world of K-drama.

"Crash Landing On You" photo from peoplesworld.org

K-dramas are also known for their universal appeal as they revolve around familiar themes of love, family, and friendship. Korean soaps are short, simple, and are perfect compact mini-series that everyone can binge-watch into the wee hours of the morning. Youth love Kdramas because it explores narratives that deal with them and each drama is creating an emotional connection with the audience.

"Scarlet Heart: Moon Lovers Ryeo" photo from wowkeren.com

What I love about Kdrama is because the plots, characters, and settings are different from typical dramas I've watched before. They are not the same old style, predictable plots that have been recycled all over again. Additionally, there is a version of a society that holds onto traditional values, just like "Scarlet Heart: Moon Lovers Ryeo," "Scarlet Heart: Moon Lovers Ryeo," the first traditional Kdrama I have watched, and pacing forward as developed society. Viewers will absorb information about their history, different culture, and learn about different societal norms by watching the daily life of the characters.

Moreover, Korean celebrities are just so attractive. Who is not hooked by the king-like appeal of Lee Min Ho? Girls are screaming while seeing Kim Soo Yun walking on the pathway. And just a smile of Hyun Bin showing his protruding dimples will make your day complete.

Black Pink photo from shilpaahuja.com

The Korean fashion has obvious trend appeal. Their outfits seem to be from the runway and their accessories are just as stunning as their clothes. And for that reason, imitations easily out in the market, and local fans are buying and copying the fashion of their idols. Attractive stars with their fashionable clothes are the reasons why many fans are drooling over Oppas and attached to Kdrama and Kpop groups.

"It's Okay Not To Be Okay" photo from thenerddaily.com

And if you will compare Korean drama to American movies, they are squeaky-clean, that's why they're rated G. You will rarely hear foul language and barely see violence, and the past kissing on love scenes are rarely progressing. That makes it newsworthy to viewers to see a French kiss in a Korean drama. So the other types of scenes give more impact on viewers because the show is not flooded with them. Additionally, there are also lots of meme-worthy moments in K-dramas. They are so funny and cute.

Photo credit: amazon.com

Watching Korean drama will also stretch your vocabulary. I know a friend who learned the Korean language through watching Kdrama and listening to Kpop music. She even knows some Korean movie directors and producers as well as Korean writers. Many devotees know several Korean words and phrases such as saying "Annyeonghaseyo" or "Hi" or "Hello" in English. So fans can easily confess their love to their idol by saying "saranghae Oppa" or "I love you Oppa" in English. And I don't need to translate "Oppa" to you because I am certain that you know what it means.

Photo credit: amazon.com

And who doesn't like to listen to Kpop music? Many Kdrama fan like me is not only after with the story and characters but also with the OST played in every episode. In fact, Kpop easily gets more viral than Korean dramas nowadays because of its catchy beats and fun lyrics. Fans easily understand its popularity and many Kpop now has a sprinkling of English words.
🎶 Fear comes to me
Day and night
Here I'm yelling out
I'm not the queen
You and I can maybe make it out 🎶
Is it familiar to you? It's one of the theme songs of the Kdrama "It's Okay Not To Be Okay" entitled "I'm Your Psycho" by Janet Suhh.

These are the reasons why Korean celebrities, drama, and music are so popular and easily get viral worldwide. There is a different genre of drama to choose from that suits every taste. Romantic comedies are most popular and there are melodramas for people who want to cry a lot. They can be seasoned to taste with historical, fantasy, science fiction, action, horror, romance, and many more. The cliff-hanging ending is also outstanding that leave viewers squirming until the next episode. The plot isn't predictable and the tension is built up so excellently that it is more emotionally resonant. Characters are developed and brought through trials so that the audience can relate to the characters and can feel the same emotions.

Korean dramas successfully created emotional connections with viewers. And because of Korean television, music trends change, fashions go in and out of style, personal tastes evolve. But there is only one thing that never changes, it is the power of a great story that sucks the devotees in. That is something Korean television is good at — delivering a compelling story and giving great entertainment.


I and my group dancing Psy Gangnam Style during our company anniversary celebrated at a beach in Bantayan Island Cebu. Where am I there? 🤣🤣

15
$ 3.20
$ 1.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @ErdoganTalk
$ 0.10 from @sc
+ 5
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Nagbakasakali lang na may interesting article ka na sinulat nung inactive ako, since di ako nakakarelate talaga sa mga cryptalks 😅 and when I saw the title of this article it excite me - sa wakas something I can relate to!

One thing I love about korean dramas is that you'll love even the second leads, unlike in filipino dramas that they will make you hate them.

Ikaw yung naka blue shorts or yung naka yellow dress? hehe

$ 0.03
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Haha.. Oo. Mostly nga sa second lead ka kililigin 🤣 gaya ni Oppa Hyuong sa Eternal Monarch 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Di pa yan napapanood, panget daw kasi. Pero yung second lead na sobrang na inlove ako si Han Ji Pyeong of Start up 😍

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Ganda kya story. Iba d lng mkagets kc medyo complicated

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When i have and will always be more hooked on anime but the korean songs go much deeper than the ones played on radios, specially the khiphop scene Plus i love the korean aesthetics when it comes to pics, they're good models to practice drawing 👉👈

$ 0.02
3 years ago

They are cute 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

With Korea, do you mean South Korea?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes sir 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's why I prefer watching kdrama than in our own channel, korean drama has a lot of genre while the others only has Mistress thingy 🙄

$ 0.03
3 years ago

🤣 sawa knb sa pinoy drama? 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yess super 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

May mga kdrama din na about sa dream nila na magimg Hallyu star gaya nong ano saka nong ano, ahaha nalimot ko na title kaya familiar na din ako sa Hallyu narinig ko na sya dati ee.

Aba iba ang topic ni madam ngayon ah, about korean naman kahit ano talaga pwd sau ano, freelancer talaga 🤩

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Wala maisip eh.take a break muna sa crypto 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay di isipin mo si wrabbit 😂😂✌️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol. For me, Psy was really fenomenal. It was just like a Culture Bomb, suddenly exploded and many people hypnotized

$ 0.02
3 years ago

True... That was the start of korean hallyu

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Interesting how K-pop absorbed your target audience now you are absorbed too. Find an angle that will appeal to them like sharing this article with them. I know I will 😏😅

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Huh? 😅 aren't you a fan of Kpop girls? They are hot.. 🤣🤣

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Haha... They are hot really but I am more into growth. I don't do people much. Only like minded folks. You have a good flow with things.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So i guess you're at the age of 30-40+? 😅

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Close enough. . . Maybe it's just how life goes that you get to have so many people but in the end you still die alone like you was born.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Close? So 50+? 😅 ✌✌

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Close enough just add another 2 years lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seriously? You are as old as my mother 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can watch k-drama for 24 hours. I'm dead serious I have my list of every drama that I'm done watching and to tell you the truth, it is more than 100 kdramas series plus the Korean movies plus Korean clips🤦‍♀️🤣😹 ( but I've changed because of read.cash and noise.cash I'm currently watching true beauty and mr. queen at the same time but I got hooked here and now I'm busy thinking what would be my next topic for my article 🤦‍♀️) Another story to tell, I also study how to read and write hangul and the reason why I have my bangs 🙊 🤣 but I'm not really into kpop musics, I'm in love with the ost of every Korean drama hahaha and the reason why? What you mention above is all true hahaha.

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Same here. My list dn ako dati ng kdrama na papanoorin ko.. Pro dhl sa readcash tinigil ko na 🤣🤣 nkakaadik kc kpg masimulan mo na

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Supeeer po, buti nalang ngayon nakokontrol ko na sarili ko ate jane haha as in nung nasa senior high pa ako hindi ako nag rereview kahit exam na kinabukasan, ahh kahit pala nung first year college ako kdrama is layp😪🤣 ( hindi ko nga po alam bakit ako pumapasa haha) talagang maganda nadulot sakin ng platform na ituuu🤩💓💖💖💗💗 i love read.cash 🤩💖

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Grad kna ngayoj or still studying? Sana katulad mo mga kapatid ko.. Mga tamad yun eh 😭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nag aaral pa po, 2nd year college palang 🤧

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nun nabasa ko yun title, Omygod, I need to read this, HAHAHAHAH. Korean fanatics here😂😂😂

So true, iba kasi ang dating nila kahit un mga drama nila. Romantic pero di cheesy, then un kilig na mararamdaman mo is indescribable. Iba din un storyline. And the actors oh my, oh my! Mga pinagpalang nilalang😂😂😂

Thank you for writing an article that is not about bch this time. Kasi di talaga ako makarelate pag ganun ang topic kaya di ako makacomment. 😅😂

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Haha... Maiba naman.. Addict dn ako jan dati... Pro dati pa yun

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Naku try mo un mga latest kdrama like Mr queen and true beauty..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nope.. Ayaw ko na.. Mas busy ako sa iba

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha.. Sabagay dun ka na sa pagkakakitaan..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I quickly clicked when this article appear on my notification. I'm not a fan of Korean Culture but Blackpink is the reason why I explored the world of K-Pop. I'm near at being 2 years fan and I hope that I can see them sooner or later. Good article indeed, Ate Jane...

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Are you a he or a she? 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

He HAHAHAHHHHAA. You can check also my articles related to that hahahahaha peace yow

$ 0.00
3 years ago

KDrama is ♥️ From the story line to characters to location to artist 😂

$ 0.03
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Haha. Still a fan? D na ko nanonood

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hindi nako nanuod nung nag read.cash nako . Last napanuod ko Hi Bye Mama

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Akonyujg it's okay not to be okay . oi grabe iyak ko jan

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too . Hanggang ngayon nga naiisip ko padin Kung ako yung character 😅

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Korean girls are the best🙄🙄🙄

$ 0.03
3 years ago

🤣🤣 i thought you're not that kind of person who likes korean 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nu nu.... I love korean gives a lot🤤🤤🤤 My favourite🤤🤤 Hot hot🤤🤤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh. That's why you love them.. Hottiiees 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Damn they are... hot legs🥴🥴

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So you like black pink? 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The girls? hell yeah😅😅 I also like nancy 🤤🤤🤤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh.. I like nancy too.. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago