The Connected Sleep Paralysis

29 61
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

August 27, 2022

A great pressure loaded on my chest. I couldn't move, I couldn't shout. I seemed wrapped in the chair. A blurry dark-figured woman appeared in my sight. I couldn't see her face. Her long dark hair was obscuring it. I knew whose figure it was. I couldn't talk. I couldn't move. I couldn't ask for help. She wasn't moving either and just standing in front of me. "What is she thinking? Why is she not talking? Am I hallucinating? Is this a nightmare?" Questions were forming in my confused mind. I closed my eyes back to sleep and tried to fight whatever evil spirit there was. I didn't like the feeling. "What if I don't wake up anymore?" I wanted to get up but I couldn't.

Free image from Pexels by Vladimir Gladkov

Mustering all the strength I had, I pushed my legs and tried to move my arms. As I woke up completely, I seemed out of breath and the figure was gone. Indeed, it was just sleep paralysis. I stood, ran up the stairs to our room, and laid down on our bed where other girls sounded asleep.

The next episode was even more frightening....


When I first stepped into our staff house on Bantayan Island Cebu in 2013, I knew there was something wrong, I sensed it. I felt it. Along with other workers from outside Cebu, we lived in that concrete 2-story old house located in the middle of the Bantayan town. During my first days, I couldn't sleep well in that house. I didn't even want to be alone on my work off.

Free image from Pexels by Elviss Railijs Bitāns

The house was huge but lacked lights. The kitchen was dark even during the day, so the light was always on if we were at home. At the back of it is an empty lot that has been occupied by bundles of old papers from our branches. Wild grasses were fully grown and some wooden stuff seemed forgotten over time and started to deteriorate. And a tree seemed to have grown over the years of staying alone in the empty lot.

On the second floor was one room, occupied by the ladies. There were no decks, only some mattresses lying on the floor where we sleep beside each other at night. The boys' place was outside the room, in a small space near the stairs. The company usually assigned one or two boys to stay in that staff house and they seemed to be like the guards of the ladies as we were all young, ages 21 to 25. I found it uncomfortable sleeping with the girls in one place. But as days passed by, I became used to it and started to like our sleeping positions.

One holiday came that gave us a full rest for a day. Ram who's living in Mainland Cebu went back home a day before the holiday, and the two ladies left at the staff house, including me.

The day was spent like a typical day at home. We cooked and ate, washed clothes, cleaned the house, and rested. In the afternoon, everyone seemed tired and so we opted to take a nap after some chitchat. I didn't like sleeping in our room during the day as sun rays are passing through jalousie windows, making the room hotter.

I stayed in the living room on the first floor, lying on a long bamboo chair while playing on my phone. Until I felt heavy and my eyes closed slowly. I wasn't sure for how long I'd been sleeping, but I was certain that I was awakened by a sense of dread and pressure on my chest. I thought I was awake for real, but I couldn't move and speak out. I felt like being wrapped in a chair.

I felt like struggling to recover back my senses. Then blurred imprints of a lady appeared in front of me. I knew whose figure was that even if her face was covered by her hair. It was Jov's. I still couldn't move and talk. I felt scared by her dark figure which reminded me of a white lady's covered face in movies.

Unedited image from Unsplash by Ewelina Karbowiak

I tried to pull back my senses, pushing my feet and trying to move my arms. It was exhausting in my mind, but I didn't want to give up. As soon as my senses were far restored, I ran up the stairs to our room where ladies sounded asleep. I wanted to tell them the story but I didn't want to disturb them. My body seemed to be sleepy still and wanted to lay on the bed. I did as I wished, and closed my eyes until I drifted back to sleep.

After a moment, my eyes half opened with blurry vision. I checked if the other ladies have woken up. Jov in my right was still sounding asleep. As I turned to my left, I thought I saw Tin standing by the wall. The figure was staring at someone next to me. I followed his stares and saw Tin sleeping uncomfortably. I thought I was having a dream again. I felt too tired to process it, so I just told myself it was just a dream and closed my eyes back.

By the moment we were all awake in that late afternoon, my feelings seemed heavy and the other girls seemed uncomfortable. Probably due to taking a nap for a long.

Tin spoke out in a worried voice, and that's when we felt frightened by what had happened.

"Rub, I got a nightmare. I saw someone staring at you when you were sleeping." Said Tin to me.

I got goosebumps all over my body, and Jov felt scared as well.

"Are you serious Tin? I also saw someone staring at you in my dream." Then everyone was frightened.

I then asked Jov.

"Jov, did you go down earlier when I was sleeping on the chair?"

"No, why?"

"I saw your figure standing in front of me and when I fully woke up, that's when I ran up here."

We were only three in the staff house that afternoon and we couldn't even go down to the first floor because of what happened. Our sleep paralysis was connected and remained mysterious and unbelievable.

After that incident, we always play Hillsong at night and pray before going to sleep. We requested our supervisor to have a house clean up. We decluttered unnecessary things and cleaned the empty lot outside the kitchen. Fully grown grasses were cut down. The piles of old documents were packed in big sacks and organized in a certain place. And every night, we kept our light outside the house open as suggested by our co-worker from the island. Then the house was renovated after a few months.

It's almost a decade ago, but the memories are still fresh in my mind. That incident also reminded me of my sleep paralysis back when I was in college. Almost the same situation. I fell asleep from working on our thesis one afternoon in my friend's apartment. On the same long bamboo chair on the first floor of the apartment. A figure of a woman also appeared in my dream. She was sitting at the end of the chair and my feet seemed tied that I couldn't move. When I finally recovered, I immediately ran up the stairs to my friend's room who was also sleeping that afternoon.

Do you think the lady that appeared in my dream in Cebu was the same as when I was in college?

These were the most creepiest sleep paralysis experiences I ever had.

This was drafted last July when I heard from my co-Filipinos that Hive PH might have a contest about creepy experiences. But then it didn't happen 😅. And since I was too busy today, I opted to post this, lol.

Have you ever had the same experience?

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

17
$ 3.17
$ 2.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 9
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Yes, i had same experiences not long ago, nowadays not so much, once in while it will come n disturb me, i also don’t really understand why it happened.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It happens to me sometimes in my sleep. I can't move my arms and legs and I can't even speak. It is very scary.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I had encountered that sleep paralysis countless times but mine was a black silhouette of a man. He was there for years and I even came to a point I know ,longer wanted to sleep.

thanks God I successfully get rid of him

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe It's real, I have the same dream for a week several weeks ago, about a girl na naka white dress pero nakatalikod lang sya same scenario sa other dream ko ung nkaa white dress pero iba ibang place sa kakaisip ko napaint ko siya hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's creepy...that's scary...that's the stuff you read in novels or watch in movies. Wow. I can't begin to imagine this, Janeeyyyy. Hillsong is the perfect tune to wade this off and of course, praying just like you did back then...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True.. And I'm guilty that I often forget it nowadays, 😥

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww... Make it a part of you every night. It helps.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kagbi ko to nabasa pero sa takot ko dj na ko nakapag comment huhu. Di pa nangyayari to saakin at sanaaa wag naman mangyari huhu

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hold on, was this real? I was expecting to see "fiction" at the end. That experience is super creepy! I could actually feel the dread while reading it. It seems there were other forces at play in that house, the three of you experiencing similar dreams isn't normal at all. I don't think I have ever experienced something like that

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Not fiction..it's really real.. That's the most scariest dream I had. The house is really creepy..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahaha awesome relay of your experience! I have had sleep paralysis experiences before but not as scary as this one.

Whew.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Aguyy madamss ang scary naman nyaan. Ako naman di oa naka experience ng ganyan. Gawa kaya sa pag ooverthink kaya nakakaranas ng sleep paralysis?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Dati yan madam..i was out of stress...😅 .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahhh! As always happen with me, same everywhere.. But now it reduce, some words keeps it away. Yaah, those words are special haha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Do you often sleep in the afternoon? That's usually when REM is working and sleep paralysis is happening..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was happening because I was watching horror flim everyday at night and slept late night

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wth.. Why horror movie? Haha.. It answers why you are always having SP

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Interesting and thrilling too. I have just one experience like this and that is too much old. When i was 12, i had feared of something after noticing a sound. It was a constant sound coming behind my house. As i was a child then so i feared it a lot. But i have heared a lot of story from my mom and grandma.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nakakatakot naman miss Jane. Narinig ko na yang sleep paralysis din. Yung about sa house ganyan ako miss Jane ma feel ko talaga na may something sa house sa unang pasok ko palang kasi iba na pakiramdam ko.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Masesense mo nmn tlga na may something wrong... D mo lang maexplain

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo miss Jane totoo. Ang hirap i-explain pero alam mo na may nararamdaman kang hindi maganda.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have not had this kind of experience, but I am interested in astral travelling as an amateur. I would like to experiment with a professional in the future. I watched many videos on yotube on this subject. It has similarities with what you describe, when the consciousness is open and the body is fixed, the possibility of seeing extraterrestrial creatures is high in the journey with the astral body. Of course it is very different from a dream.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Based on the literal meaning of sleep paralysis, those are normal.. What isn't was our connected dream..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also experience sleep paralysis Jane and one of the reasons is when I wake up at the time where I don't usually wake up..only when my body clock is messed up. In your case, maybe there's a ghost trying to interrupt you or maybe different reason..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hndi nmn cguro. It's all just illusions..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm Do you have someone who is a female that you hold grudge with?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wala nmn . bkt? Si papa lang pinagtaniman ko ng galit sa buong buhay ko 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha galit din sa papa.. minsan kase ang sleep paralysis connected sya sa psychological issues natin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Minsan yeah.. If we are stressed we often dream weird stuff too .

$ 0.00
1 year ago