Hunger Headache

14 36
Avatar for Jabs
Written by
3 years ago

Last night I skip dinner, and eat banana only, it's not because I am on a diet but because during our dinner time I am not hungry, so I decided to skip my meal.

I was in bed watching kdrama at around 10:00 pm, I felt a little headache and I wonder why. There are only two reasons why I sometimes experienced headache. First, too much exposure to sunlight, and second, when I am hungry. Since I didn't went outside, then the reason for my headache was the latter.

It got me curious, why do we experienced headache when we are hungry?

We experienced hunger headache when we haven't had enough to eat, we may not only hear our stomach rumbling but we can also feel the strong headache coming on.

Hunger headache occurs when our blood sugar starts to dip lower than the usual. Being hungry can also trigger migraine headache to some people.

Symptoms

Hunger headache often resembles to tension headache in symptoms. And some of the common symptoms are as follows:

  • Feeling as if there is a tight band wrapped in our head

  • Dull pain

  • Feeling tension in neck and shoulders

  • Feeling pressure across forehead or the side of the head

When the blood sugar gets low we might notice these other symptoms:

  • Fatigue

  • Stomach pain

  • Dizziness

  • Shakiness

  • Feeling cold

These additionally symptoms will appear gradually. It may start with just dull headache but as we delay eating, we may start to notice the other symptoms. Hunger headache symptoms start to resolve within 30 minutes of eating.

Causes

  • Dehydration. The thin layers of the tissues in the brain can start to tighten and press on pain receptors if we haven't drink enough water.

  • Lack of caffeine. Caffeine is a stimulant the body becomes accustomed to especially if we had three to four cups a day habit. If we haven't enough caffeine in a while, the blood vessels in our brain can enlarge, increasing blood flow to our brain causing headache.

  • Skipping meals. The food we eat especially the calories are the measurement of our energy. Our body needs a consistent energy source in the form of food as fuel. If we haven't eating for a while, our blood sugar can drop. In response, our body releases hormone that signal our brain that we are hungry. This same hormone can trigger headache.

Treatment

We can usually relieve hunger headache by eating or drinking. If the caffeine is low, drinking a cup of coffee or tea can help.

I remember, when I was a kid my parents always told me to eat on time and never skip a meal.


Lesson Learned:

NEVER SKIP YOUR MEAL. ~@jabs

Thanks for reading!

11
$ 1.06
$ 1.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Jabs
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jabs
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Two to three years ago I had a lot of headaches. I had headaches almost every day after returning from high school. Occasionally, when the severity of the headache increased, I would start vomiting. But now I so much fine. Now I don't have a headache like before. Headache is really so much painful:(

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Really? Did you consult a doctor? I think it is serious.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I took medicine for several days as per the doctor's advice. Then I gave up some of my own bad habits. For example, sleeping late at night, watching too much television and not taking timely meals. Then I slowly recovered:)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's good to hear that you're fine now. Let's keep up the good habit so that we will not suffer.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much dear. All the time I try my best to give up my bad habit. But I can't give up mobile addiction 😖😖 I'm too much addicted on it:( But still I'm trying

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's another bad thing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nakaka ulcer yun db kpg nag iiskip ng meal kht nga yung hndi on time.. Sakn tlga kog my work ako, kog malatr ang kain sasakit na tiyan ko at mahihilo.. Pro kpg walang work..ok lng nmn hndi kumain.. Hndi nga ko madyado gutom..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo, nakakaulcer din pag nagskip ng pagkain. Pero kasi minsan hindi din maiwasan eh.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Minsan walang gana kya hndi kakain 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is something that I did years back then. My meals were not on time as I was on a graveyard shift. My body had a hard time adjusting. I had hyperacidity after skipping meals for months then eventually had an ulcer as a consequence. The pain is real, it's not just an ordinary stomachache that disappears when you poop. It's a serious issue so, never skip a meal. Health is wealth. ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Everything we do reflects on our body afterwards.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes I feel this, maybe it is because of dehydration

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nakakahilo talaga ang gutom.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Sinabi mo pa😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago