Zombies Got Me!

8 39
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Zombies Got Me!

I found a cabin in the woods. Some of the wooden walls are broken. I think I can fix them before nightfall.

I checked my Glock... I only have half a clip left. I need to find some weapons quickly.

I approached the cabin as quietly as I could. I peeked through a broken section of the wall.

A biter stands motionless in the middle of the room. It's a good thing most of them are inactive during the day. It must be the heat.

I thought of popping its head with my gun. But the gunfire might attract more of them.

What's that on the floor? A hammer! It's a few meters behind the biter.

I tiptoed towards the hammer. Just as I was an arms-length, the wooden floor squeaked!

Oh, crap!

The biter turned!

I grabbed the hammer and smashed the biter on the head!

The rotten corpse fell on the floor with a thud!

I realized, I cant start working on this cabin until I clear the area of biters!

But even before I could take another step, I heard some snarling coming from behind.

I turned around and saw a group of fast-biters running towards me!

I emptied my gun on the first three! And smashed the head of the fourth with a hammer!

But more biters were coming out from a room! Before I could turn one grabbed my hand and bit me!


Hello biters! I mean, readers!

That's probably the shortest and worst zombie story that you have ever read!

The good news, that's not the whole point of this post. What I wanted to share with you is why I got hooked on a post-apocalyptic zombie-themed role-playing game, Last Day on Earth: Survivor.

You might also consider this as a game review.

In this post, I will share with you

  • an overview of the game;

  • Why I got hooked on this game; and

  • How I was able to control my game time.


Why a Zombie-Themed Game?

As far as I can remember, I have always been attracted to almost anything that has zombies in it. I believe it started when I first saw Greg Romero's Night of the Living Dead through our black and white TV when I was little.

Then there's The Walking Dead that has been running for more than 11 years and counting.

The Walking Dead Season 10 Finale: Extended Opening Minutes

But of course, there are some zombie B-movies that I don't watch


Last Day On Earth: Survival

This is the back story based on the game description.

Set in the future, a virus nearly annihilated humankind. The remaining few survivors developed resistance to the virus. But those who perished came back from the dead.

Now the survivors (the players) must struggle not only to continue living with whatever avaIlable resources but fight the horde of zombies that roam on every part of the land.

Game Objective

The game has only one objective. Survive.

But it's not just surviving by bashing the brains of the brainless zombies, you have to survive hunger and thirst too. And you can do that by gathering berries, planting crops like carrots and corn, or even hunting. You can also craft a rain catcher for your drinking water and shower. Yes, you need to take a shower, or else the zombies can smell you from a mile away.

Then, there are the raiders (non-player characters) who attack your camp and plunder your goods.

And you also have to survive the other survivors. Most of the other survivors (players) are hostile to each other. So you either toughen it up or run away when you other players running towards you.

Game Play

You start in a small area (minimap) donning nothing but your red underwear. You will find a cabin with some parts of the wall is. missing.

Unlike in my story, in the beginning, you have to punch the zombies with your bare knuckles to put them down. Then you gather enough wood to craft a spear and stones for a hatchet and a pickax to gather more wood and stones.

You gather food, wood, and stones while clearing the area of zombies. There are also some deers in the area which you can hunt for food.

The Cabin.

The cabin is your home. You need to fix the broken walls to protect yourself from the elements, zombies, and raiders.

Clothes

Did I mention that you start with nothing but your underwear? Don't worry, with some plant fibers and pieces of cloth you can pick up from dead zombies (aren't zombies already dead?), you can make your designer clothing.

You need to stock up with the raw materials though, the clothes get destroyed after fighting so many zombies. Hats, shirts, pants, shoes all get destroyed... Except for your underwear.

Pockets and Backpack.

This is the unusual part that I find kind of funny.

In the inventory, you can carry up to 10 items in your "pocket". Not including the clothes you wear and the item in your hand and side-pocket. Even if you don't have a shirt or pants, you can carry these 10 items. The pocket must be in your underwear... 😁

And if you have a backpack you can carry additional 5 items only. Wow! It's either the backpack is so small or you have huge (indestructible) underwear!

The Global Map

If you step outside the minimap (to the green zone on all sides of the map) you will be brought to the global map.

On the global map, you can go to the different permanent locations to find more food and materials and zombies to kill.

Occasional Events and the Dealer.

From time to time some events randomly pop up. It could be an airdrop, some people needing help, a plane crash, or something else. Each could last for as short as five minutes, or more than a day. Rest assured these events could give you the materials needed for constructing different machines and other things you can use for your survival such as the motorcycle, CB radio, or the gunsmith bench - which you can use to modify your weapons.

Different Threat Levels.

Each location is marked with different colored markers. Signifying the different threat levels.

  • Green- low threat. The safest place for the newbies. Except for the presence of high-level players who wants to bully newbies.

  • Yellow- medium threat. You will encounter not just different types of zombies here but some mutated zombies like the toxic-spitter.

  • Red- high threat. You don't want to go here unprepared. Some monsters can deal 200 damage. And your life is just about 100 points.

On the other hand, you will get more valuable and rarer items in the high threat areas. Only if you can carry more items with the backpack.

The Crater.

Once you reach a certain level, you can enter the Crater. It's like a sanctuary for survivors. Players can't hurt other players...

But I need to explore this area further,

Why was I hooked on this game?

For years now, I have kept away from playing any Multiplayer online games. Especially those that require you to level up your character so you won't be left out.

Aside from that, the game

But with Last Day On Earth: Survival, I can play at my own pace, without worry about my character's level. I even deleted the game once and started again for the sake of this review.

Ok! I will confess... I love the game, and a story is brewing in my mind inspired by the game!

Controlling my Game Time.

I found the game in the third week of July. I got hooked on the game and played it for hours. That's the reason why I wasn't so active in the third week of July. But after playing the game for over a week, I decided to remove it.

But at the time, a story was brewing in my mind. A story inspired by the game.

A few days ago, I decided to install it again. But this time, I wanted to limit my game time.

The only way to do it is to make use of my phone's Screen Time feature or Digital Balance.

With the Screen Time, I can monitor the time I spent on the game. And when I reach the limit, a message will pop up and if I choose not to extend my time for 15 minutes, the game will close.

Of course, it requires some discipline not to hit that " GET MOR TIME" option.

Thanks For Reading

Credits:

Lead Image source: Unsplash

The rest of the images are screenshots of the game.

2
$ 1.28
$ 1.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

Naalala ko sa Timezone/Quantum, yan yung mga gusto namin laruin ng friend ko. Hahaha. Basta yung baril-baril tapos mga zombie. Kakatuwa. Kaya kapag nanonood The Walking Dead ang tatay ko,napapaisip ako na paano nga kung merong zombies in the future. Feeling ko baka maaga pa lang nakagat na ako. Hahaha. Anyway, malungkot nga tatay ko at nawala na ang Fox channels dito sa Philippines. Enjoy pa naman siya panoorin The Walking Dead.

Regarding sa game, parang ang sarap laruin niyan 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oist! Grabe! Talagang binasa mo talaga mga nakaraan kong posts ha!!! Wow! nako! kaya pala nawala ang Fox sa cable namin... akala mo dito lang hanapin mo sa Soap2day. to heheh.. dun ako nanonood pati na ang spin-off title na Fear the Walking Dead! Pati Squidgame andun din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Syempre. Gusto ko talaga nagstart kung saan ako nagend noon 😁 noted diyan sa Soap2day. Check ko minsan yan. Oo nawala na lahat ng Fox pati Disney channel dito Philippines. Nakakalungkot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

heheh.. nanonood ako ngayon ng Season 5. hehe yeah sana nga ligtas sila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! Actually akala ko nagpa bakuna ka na kuya, natawa ako sa sarili ko. Ung mga tao kc dito sa amin kwento lagi nlng zombie dahil daw sa bakuna 😂

Great poem, thrilling at kakaiba! Sana hindi mo dalhin sa pagtulog ung mga zombies po kakatakot!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. Soon, malamang me lalabas na B movie na dahil sa bakuna nag zombie apocalypse. Hehe.

Nangyari na dati sa akin... Dahik sa kalalaro ko ng computer games,napanaginipan ko ako na yung character sa game at hinahabol ako ng mga monster. Anong ginawa ko? Nilabanan ko sila. Nagising ako, nakangiti... Hehehe at hindi ko pala napatay PC ko nun at yung game pa ang nasa screen.

Hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waahh! Grabe na talaga. Parang ako lang hahah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😆 Lol!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago