Three Alarm Clocks Hacks To Reprogram Your Body-Clock

10 50
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

January 29

During My College Days.

I set my alarm at 6:00 AM. My class starts at 7:30 AM. I turned off the alarm and gave myself another 5 minutes. The next time I knew it, It was almost 7 in the morning.

I guess many of you can relate to this situation. Especially if you have a class during the first period. The following semester, I found the perfect solution to this predicament. I never took a first-period class. Problem solved!


Greetings friends. I was pondering for hours what to write about earlier. Thanks to @OfficialGamboaLikeUs. I remember she posted a prompt about Alarm Clocks. What I will share with you is how to make your alarm-clock work. If you follow these steps, you will be awake before your alarm starts blaring.

Before that, let me share with you this video.

Failed Solutions.

Before I share with you my solution that worked. Let me share with you my failed solutions.

Advanced X-minutes.

I love to use an analog alarm clock. Though I don't really like using wristwatches, I also prefer the analog ones. To trick me about the time, I would set my clock and watch a FEW minutes in advance. I emphasize the "FEW". Why, if I set my clock five or ten minutes advanced. I still know the correct time. What I do is, I would not look at the clock (or watch) even before I adjust the time. Then slightly, I will advance the time.

This worked. Only until I realize the correct time difference between my clock and the actual time.

 So, it worked for a few days or even weeks. Once I learned the correct time, my subconscious mind will keep telling me: "Don't rush, you still have 17 minutes, not ten."

Image Source: Unsplash 

Multiple Alarms and snooze.

 Though I prefer an analog wristwatch, I did own one or two digital wristwatches at different times. Since digital wristwatches have alarms. I normally set my alarm clock and wristwatch to alarm with at least 5 minutes intervals. When I had my cellphone, I did set multiple alarms too.

 Did it work? The answer is obvious. This is still part of the "solutions that failed."

 Reprogram Your Body Clock.

I can't recall when I first encountered the term body clock. 

Body Clock definition: the internal mechanisms that schedule periodic bodily functions and activities —usually not used technically - Merriam/Webster

Our body follows certain schedules. Schedules that we often disrupt. Apparently, the most disrupted schedule is our sleep cycle. We go to bed late, but we want to get up early in the morning. Depriving our body the much-needed sleep.

 Experts say we need at least 6 hours of sleep each day. Eight is the most recommended. So, if we want to wake up early, we need to give our body what it needs in the first place. Sleep.

However, there are times that even we sleep early, we still can't wake up early. That is because our bodies are not yet used to getting up early.

How Do You Reprogram Your Body Clock?

I will share with you a few hacks using your alarm clocks.

 Created Using Pixteller

Alarm Clock Hack No 1: Put Your Alarm Clock Out Of Your Reach

I forgot where I learned this, but this life hack works. Why? If your alarm is just within your reach, you can easily shut it off or hit the snooze button. Place it out of your reach, probably across your room, or anywhere that will force you to stand up to shut it off. When your alarm goes off, you need to stand up and walk towards it to shut it off. This will get your blood to start circulating already.

Alarm Clock Hack No. 2: Change your Alarm Tone

If you are using your cellphone as an alarm clock, replace your alarm tone. Don't use the noisiest and loudest sound on your phone. Replace it with your favorite music, or anything pleasing to listen to. Personally, I love to listen to the sound of nature, so when I first did this, my alarm plays the sound of birds chirping.

There was a time that I selected a short prayer. So, every time I wake up, I am already praying.

Alarm Clock Hack No. 3: Set A Constant Time.

 This is the most important hack of the three. Even if you don't have an early schedule, don't slack it off. Set your alarm to the same time every single day. Do this for at least 30 straight days. If you want to get up at 5:30, set your alarm at 5:30 or a bit earlier.

 Once your body clock has adopted or been "reprogrammed" already, you will notice that you will be awake before the alarm goes off

I now wake up at 4:30 in the morning with our without the alarm.

Final Thoughts.

 The most important thing is don't deprive your body of much-needed sleep. If you want to get up at 5:30 AM, give yourself at least 6 hours of sleep. So, you should be asleep before 11:30 PM.

Then be consistent on the time you wake up. This is how you reprogram your body-clock

Thanks for reading.


Related Articles:

https://www.webmd.com/sleep-disorders/ss/slideshow-body-clock

https://www.onhealth.com/content/1/biological_clock_sleep_health_body_facts


Check out my other content at:  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10
$ 11.64
$ 11.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 4
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

I am the kind of person who set my alarm into "ring multiple times" so in case the first one fails at least in the second try it will not. Just me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sir, I remember when I changed my alarm tune sa rooster tune. Legit yung gulat kapag natunog kase sunod-sunod. May times pa na diko alam na nakaalarm ng 8:00 eh nasa flag ceremony kami nun 🥲 college department ako nung shs so seryoso talaga teacher lalo na at WVSU pamandin 🥲 kalagitnaan ng lupang hinirang humuni ng humuni ng toktorook yung alarm clock ko tas diko mapatay kase nagpapanic ako sa passwoed 🥲. Lahat ng studente pati teacher nakatingin sakin, resolution lang na nagawa ko nun is kunin battery nya pero nahulog pa phone ko 🥲 unforgetful yet good vibes sa mgabstress ng umagang-umaga 🥲

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Lol! Iniimagine ko yung.scene na nakatingin lahat sayo at me magyatanong pang 'sino ba ang nag dala nh manok dito?"😆😆😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In the mornings I have no problem getting up. But in the afternoons I do have to set an alarm on my cell phone for 3:30pm because I have to be ready to leave for the gym at 4pm. That's the schedule my instructor gave me. Because before the routines there is a warm up with dance therapy at 4pm. If I'm careless with the time and I'm late to the gym I miss the warm up. Interesting content. Regards

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I get up around the same time, say 7 AM every day, I need no alarm. Then, I wake up without any alarm clock, even if I sleep late. Our brain has got a feature of behavioral programming to control our internal body clock.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's right. If your body clock is already programmed to wake up at a particular time, then even if you sleep late occasionally, you will wake up at that time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also skip my first lecture just because I don't wanna wake up even i turned off my mobile phone when alarm rings but I like your hacks will definitely try them 😜

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I forgot to mention one important factor needed for these hacks to work. Discipline.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My body clock is really amusing since I always wake up before my alarm. The most interesting part is I woke up between 2 to 3 AM in the morning that's kinda creepy since I will open my eyes then pitch black welcomes me and I imagine different things that made me cover my whole body in blanket. After that I can sleep again. I always alarm my phone at 5 AM since I have a jog everyday in morning in BGC.❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some great tips you’re sharing here. I tried most of them and failed. After a while I came to the conclusion I really don’t like getting up in the morning, so I just let my body sleep as much as it wants 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago