Look! I Made My Own Stylus Holder And Saved Money

12 35
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

October 14, 2022 Post No. 226

There was a time that I dropped my Huawei MPen Generation 2 stylus. The stylus has a magnetic side for charging. The Bluetooth keyboard with a casing for my Huawei tablet also has a magnetic portion under the keyboard. I thought the pen was magnetically attached and secured before I stood up and went to the bedroom.

But when I reached the bedroom, I realized that the pen was not attached to the case. I went back to the balcony and searched for it. I could not find it. I went back and forth but I could not find the pen. I checked the Bluetooth devices that are connected, I saw that the pen is still online. But I could not find it.

Maybe it took me an hour before I found it with the help of the Bluetooth Scanner app. It has a feature that shows the signal strength of the Bluetooth device. I used that to estimate the distance of the pen from me.

(Read: How To Find Your Lost Bluetooth Device Quickly)

Created using PixelLab

Greetings once again my dear readers. That was the first occasion that I misplaced my stylus. I got frantic at that time. Though I got the stylus pen for free when I bought my tablet, I can't afford to buy a new one in case I lose it. It costs around PHP 2,000 or around $40 in the market.

After "misplacing" the pen several times, I thought I need to do something to secure it after every use. I thought maybe, there is a holder or something that I can buy online.


Checking Shopee.

So I checked Shopee. I found a magnetic stylus holder. It costs about PHP 250 plus shipping, Which will be about $6-$7 including the shipping. My budget is still a little tight though. So I just added the item to the cart. I looked for a cheaper alternative. It's not magnetic but it still costs about PHP 170 plus shipping. Again, I added the item to my cart but did not check out. I don't want to use my salary from my teaching job for my online shopping.

Screenshot of the Shopee Product

Usually, I use my online earnings to pay for my online shopping expenses.

Looking For An Alternative

However, there were several occasions again when I misplaced my pen. I thought I need to buy a holder or make one.

Since the pen is magnetic, or at least part of it is magnetic, I thought I could glue a strip of metal on my tablet's case. Or I could use thick mounting tape.

MR. DIY

I went to a Mr. DIY store and looked for some mounting tape and anything else that I can use. Then, I saw a bunch of multi-purpose cable organizers! I thought I can make something out of these.

The Materials

  • Two pieces of cable management clips

  • mounting tape

  • superglue.

The materials I bought from Mr. DIY

Multiple Trials and Failures.

  • First Try. I used only one cable management clips and the mounting tape that came with the product. I already doubted that it will last since the texture of the tablet case is rough. I placed the pen. After a few minutes, it fell off.

  • Second Try. Two cable management clips. The pen stayed much longer but fell.

  • Third Try.- Relocated the clips to the lower part of the case. (See the picture below). Where the pen will be angling upward. At least the effect of gravity will be reduced. I also used the extra mounting tape that I bought.

It held. But when I positioned the tablet flat on the table to draw, the side close to me is slightly elevated. Making it uncomfortable to draw.

Final position.

There were several tries after that. I used superglue this time. I decided to position the holder on the upper part of the tablet. Just below the camera.

Now, every time I'm done using my pen, I can safely clip it to the back of my tablet. Can even charge it while it is attached there.

Minor Mishap.

When I added super glue to the tape, I accidentally had a couple of droplets that got to my tablet's screen. I did not notice it until the next day. Good thing I did not close my tab while the glue was wet. Or else, the keyboard could have been glued to the screen.OH, No!

No worries though, after searching the Internet for some solutions, I got the glue off my screen. I dubbed a small amount of mayonnaise on the glue droplets and let it stay for at least 10 minutes. Then I removed the glue droplets easily with my fingernails.

In Closing

I spent less than PHP100 on the materials used in making my DIY Stylus holder.

  • Cable Organizer: PHP 39 / 12 pieces = PHP 3.60 / piece x 2 = PHP 7.20

  • Mounting Tape: PHP 15 / roll. I used barely 1/16 of the roll... let's say I used P1 worth of the tape

  • Super glue= PHP 10.00 but I used only a few drops.

Therefore, the total materials I used cost only about PHP 9.00.

So, why buy one when you can make one at a fraction of the cost?

The important thing is, I no longer have to worry about misplacing my stylus pen again.

Until my next DIY project.

(Co-published in Hive)

Thanks For Reading.


If you are in nois.app allready, hook me up on that amazing new social media app: https://noise.app/jloberiza


All images are mine unless otherwise specified.

Check out also my other earning sites. (Note: May contain referral Links)

|Read.cash | Noise.cash | Hive (Via Ecency)Forum Coin |

|Publish0x | Cointiply |

Or Checkout my LinkTree for updated links.


8
$ 2.21
$ 2.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
$ 0.03 from @tired_momma
+ 3
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

You have a creative mind dear mate, you and me are alike in crafting things, and make them usable... For sure it saves money.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Woah you saved a lot of money from it haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yup... pang Jolibee na ang na save ko. hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang galing nmn at mas maganda yan kc customized...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

oo nga... pag natangal to baka pwede ko pang palitan ng ibang kulay. hahaha. Pero, mahala safe na yun stylus ko. :D.

Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uwu still hoping that you will find it anyhow kung nasa bahay lang naman. I also have bad habit of forgetting things, but luckily my mother always knew me, so when she found something she knows I on use often hayun tinatago niya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always find it ... heheh.. but mabuti nang safe and secure kesa mawala ng tuluyan.. mahal ng stylus eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, 9 pesos lang ang nagastos, mas less expense talaga kaysa umorder sa Shopee.. Di na basta² mamisplace ang stylish pen mo kasi may lalagyan na talaga.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

yup... safe and secure. hehehe. at hindi na ako maghahanap kung saan ko inilagay pag kailangan ko nang gamitin, :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maganda yung ginawa mo sir para safe na siya at hindi na basta-basta mahuhulog. Umoorder ka rin pala sa shopee sir, same po tayo.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks. Paminsan minsan lang... pero hindi muna ngayon... wala pang budget... kung me kita na ulit online...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sir ako paminsan minsan pag may gusto bilhin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago