I Went Over My Budget For April and May!

18 49
Avatar for JLoberiza
11 months ago


May 11, 2023

It is only the tenth of the Month and I am running low on funds! I am now down to my last spendable PHP1,000 (more or less $20). I have already taken money from my reserves! How did this happen to me?


Greetings my dear friends and readers! I supposed I'm not the only one who is or have been through this situation before. This is also not the first time that happened to me.

Lessons From the Past

I have learned my lessons in the past, that I always have some emergency funds. However, when the pandemic started, I had no work nor projects for my freelancing gigs for more than two months. I had no choice but to slowly use my emergency funds.

It seems I have forgotten that lesson that I, again, almost drained all my funds.

How Did I Overspend?

In April, we had two special occasions, our wedding anniversary and my wife's birthday!

Source: Image by Andrew Khoroshavin from Pixabay

I was planning to have a simple celebration for our anniversary. However, someone from my wife's family coerced us to go visit the Gigantes Islands. The trip was not that expensive though. For me, my wife, and kids, I spent just about 5 thousand Pesos. That's about $100.

The trip was tiring but worth it though. See my post indicated below for the details and pictures.


Read: Island Hopping at Islas de Gigantes


We had a simple celebration for my wife's birthday, but of course we had to spend some for the food.

House Renovation, Summer Heat, and Frequent Power Interruption.

The house, or my in-law's house is being renovation even as I write this. We are staying here for now since it is close to our workplaces and our children's school.

We had to have our post-paid Internet connection cut off temporarily. I wasn't able to upload anything in the last two weeks because of that. Also, I needed the Internet connection for my work. Most of the applications I'm using are online.

So I had to go to Globe and buy a pre-paid home Wi-fi. Since I was already thinking of buying a Wifi Extender after the house renovation, I bought the package that came with one. The total cost is PHP 1,499.00. The extender alone now costs between PHP900.00 to PHP1,200 in the market.

To beat the intense heat and the frequent power interruption, I bought a rechargeable deskfan that comes with a solar panel. It costs another PHP 1,499. The original price was PHP 1,899 so I grabbed the opportunity to buy it on sale.

All in all, I overspent at least PHP9,000. sigh

I know it may not seem much, but I have been living mostly on my low-salary as a part-time teacher. I earn leass than PHP 10,000 a month.

The Challenges:

1. Cut Down Unnecessary Expenses.

Though I always try to keep my expenses to a minimum, I still have some unnecessary expenses. One my post-paid phone plan expires in July, I plan to drop to a SIM only plan. Which will cut down my telcom expense by PHP 1,000 a month.

2. Get Out of my Comfort Zone!

I used to earn more. I guess I got stuck in my comfort zone again. Though I was earning less, I got a bit comfortable of the idea that I am earning something. It's enough to make ends meet every month... well... most of the time.

3. Focus

I admit, I get easily distracted. I lost focus out of my goals easily. In the past, I can focus for quite some time... but after a while I get comortable and lose focus.

4. Rebuild My Emergeny Funds

I can still make ends meet with what I earn. However, my emergency funds is depleted once again. I have to slowly build up my emergency funds again.

Source: Unsplash

On the other hand, I am still thankful that I am still HODLING a little more than 1 BCH. I also have some amount stored in HIVE. These are my secondary Emergency Funds. Thanks to #ReadCash and #HIVE.

5. Find Additional Sources of Income

I love writing. I was happy that I earned from this passion. Unfortunately, my income from ReadCash and Hive is quite low. I need one or two sources of income that will help me cover our monthly expenses and mellow down the effect of inflation.

In Closing

Do you know what's the biggest mistake I repeatedly do when it comes to budgeting and expenses? Well... it's NOT doing, to be precise. It's NOT listing down my expenses and my planned budget.

I have the idea how much I should spend each month, but I seldom list it down. Let alone, listing down my expenses.

I realized this so many times already but somehow, I can't get the habit of LISTING down my expenses and planning my budget properly. Sigh.

It's time to start of all over again.

I hope you have also learned from my mistakes.

Thanks for reading.


Post No. 2023-024
Date Posted: May 11, 2023 Philippine Standard Time
All images are mine unless otherwise indicated.

Lead Image: Image by Steve Buissinne from Pixabay (With modifications)
| Read.cash | Noise. App | Hive (Via Ecency)| Forum Coin |
| Publish0x | Cointiply | YouTube

6
$ 0.20
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
+ 2
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
11 months ago

Comments

It also happens to me, I had a savings fund in trx for emergencies, or simply to wait for the crypto to rise. I had to spend it on a family emergency.

Don't worry, it happens to all of us, and even more now with the problem of inflation worldwide.

I am also looking for new ways to earn money online. I entered hive, and I saw your link in the comments, I will follow you. :)

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Yeah, this prolonged crisis is a great challenge to us all.. Thanks for following me in Hive. I already followed back.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Thank you. :)

$ 0.00
11 months ago

A budget has to be planned but where we fail is when we don't keep track of them. Sometimes we ignore and think we can get back on track later. Unfortunately some dig themselves into holes they have a hard digging themselves out of. Your situation is common and it happens to everyone.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Hi Sir JLo. I guess budgeting with wifey will help you at ease with whatever plan you are setting up. Minsan talaga ganyan lalo na at mag 15 or katapusan. What's your link in Hive?

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Are you on Hive now?

$ 0.00
11 months ago

JLo is, me I am not so sure if my account is activated there. Should check tomorrow or when available. They say many Filipinos and foreigners enjoy the communities there too.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

It's fun but can be complicated at first. Let me know , I can delegate you some HP so you can get started. If you haven't wrote an introduction article there yet make sure you get with someone first for the requirements. I can give you some advice.

$ 0.00
11 months ago
$ 0.00
11 months ago

I'd love to do that... but we have a complicated... or not-so-usual situation when it comes to finances at the moment... heheh. I give her part of my salary buy I still set my own goals. hehehe

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Sabagay you still have your decisions. Importante naman sa mag asawa yong bigger decisions you talk. Pag maliliit like colors, foods etc. magpapakiramdaman na lng kayo haha.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

well... mas malaki kita nya kesa sa akin, kaya siya na ang nag bubudget hahaha. Ambag lang ako. hehehe... pero sa ngayon kasi, ayaw nyang iwanan nanay nya baka mangulila sa mga anak at mga apo nya. kaya dito muna kami sa kanila. me karenderya naman yung nanay nya kaya alang problema sa pagkain. hahaha.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Nanghihinayang ako sa mga pera na sinayang ko noon sa mga investment scams. Kung nilagay ko nalang sana sa savings baka hanggang ngayon may pera pa din ako huhu.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

marami ding nabiktima sa mga scams dito... haist...

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Added you in auto approval list for dream bigger community. And requesting you to be a moderator for the community to moderate the article and approve to publish.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Wow what's that community stands for?

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Thank you. I intended to accept when you invited me the first time, but when I clicked the notification, the invitation "vanished", so to speak. hehe. Maybe there was a glitch. It's ok now. I'd be happy to help moderate the channel.

$ 0.00
11 months ago