I Got Stuck in the 4th Chapter

2 40
Avatar for JLoberiza
10 months ago
Topics: Book, Writing, Journey, Arduino, Tutorials, ...

June 16, 2023

Day 25 of my journey as a first-time book author and I got stuck in the 4th Chapter. When I started writing the book, I finished the first three chapters plus the Introduction within 15 days. Now, 10 days have gone by and I haven't finished the 4th chapter yet.

Read Day 15 of My Journey as a First-Time Book Author.


Hello, once again my dear friends and readers. I have been quite busy writing my very first book/ebook. The working title is "A Beginner's Guide to Robotics with Arduino". I'm trying to finish before the end of the month.

Writing a book doesn't come without a struggle. This book includes step-by-step instructions on how to wire the circuits and write a program. This started in the third chapter. Doing this part takes so much time.

After I finished chapter three, I started making the tutorials. This means creating the project and recording the process. It took me longer than I thought.


Going in Circles

In the past 10 days, I've been preoccupied by so many things. Some are related to my book project, some are mere distractions.

(Read: I was too busy going in circles, reaching nowhere!).

Ever since I started my book project, I hardly had enough time to write online and do other stuff. The thing is I got immersed in thinking of different applications for the lessons in the third chapter. The possibilities are countless.

Chapter 4. Using the Passive Infrared (PIR) Sensor

This is the chapter that I am working on. Frankly speaking, the theory is simple. The passive infrared sensor is used as a proximity sensor. It detects heat emitted by living bodies or infrared within a certain distance. It can be used in various applications such as proximity alarms or automatic lighting control systems.

It should be simple enough that I could have finished the chapter in half a day. However, I'm been playing around with the different applications.

Tonight, after I finished the chapter, I will create a simple version of a smart night light. A blue LED will light up once it detects movement in the room. This is a good application for those who want to have a night light in a bedroom as he/she walks towards the light switch but don't want the light on when sleeping.

In Closing

I'm still in the process of applying my new method of managing my time. As if I am being tested though, there were lots of unexpected happenings that takes me away from my scheduled tasks.

Hopefully, I can catch up with my self-imposed deadline.

Thanks for reading, sharing, and for your upvotes.


Post No. 2023-029

Date Posted: June 17, 2023, Philippine Standard Time

All images are mine unless otherwise indicated.

Read.cash | Noise. App | Hive (Via Ecency)| Forum Coin |

| Publish0x | Cointiply | YouTube |

4
$ 5.17
$ 5.00 from @ewyr
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
+ 1
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
10 months ago
Topics: Book, Writing, Journey, Arduino, Tutorials, ...

Comments

Where are you selling your first ebook if I may ask JLo? Before the internet boom here in Ph, there's an ebook author who became a millionaire selling it online. His first chapters were actually verses from the bible where it has no copyright and because he was not that mastered yet online. Keep it up!

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Wala pa. Hindi pa tapos. I'm thinking sa Amazon siguro. I think I heard of that guy... nakalimutan ko name nya.

$ 0.00
10 months ago