I was too busy going in circles, reaching nowhere!

3 40
Avatar for JLoberiza
10 months ago

June 15, 2023.

I was too busy going in circles, reaching nowhere! I realized that that's what I've been doing for the past two or three months. I easily get distracted. I was busy doing things that are not related to my goals. I did accomplish a lot of things... Little things slowly took me away from my goals.

Photo by 愚木混株 cdd20 on Unsplash

Reduced Earnings.

From 2020 to 2021, I depended so much on writing platforms like readcash for my online income. Then when the prices of cryptocurrency crashed, my earning was greatly reduced.

Then I joined HIVE. However, I realized the best play in HIVE is not to earn and withdraw. It's a good platform to earn passive income from writing.

Distractions DisGuised As Little Opportunities.

I've always been looking to earn. I get a lot of small tasks. I took some of them. The question is, were they worth my time? I realized that a lot of them are just a waste of my time that took me away from my goals.

On the other hand, some opportunities require patience and perseverance.

Then were some activities that were purely distractions.

Always Losing Track of Time

One of my biggest problems is, if not the biggest, I always lose track of time. I end up spending so much time on one task that I no longer have time to do other things.

Not only do I lose track of time, but I also lose the chance to earn.

In the past four weeks,s I have been working on my book. The working title is "A Beginner's Guide to Robotics With Arduino". I was too focused on it that I almost had no time to write for the online platforms.

Then this week, I started working on the chapters that require me to write tutorials. Not just write, I have to make the circuits and write the code.

I started making the circuits and I record the process. A third purpose of my book is to make video tutorials also. However, my mind often jumps in excitement. I started tinkering with more advanced projects. Something that I could do when I work on the more advanced chapters.

Photo by Firmbee.com on Unsplash

Taking Back Control

This week I wanted to work on the fourth chapter and even the fifth. But I lost focus on it again. I've been working on the circuit itself and not the chapter.

Yesterday, I thought of a way to take back control. A method that will give me time to focus on my book and also have time to work on the tutorials.

Last night, as I read my goals in my Evernote app, I tried another approach to making my schedule. Instead of setting a task for each hour or two, I simply divided my waking hours into at least four categories.

It's still experimental. I already went over the allotted time for writing an article. I guess, I need to make adjustments to my plan.

For now, this is how I divided my activities.

  • 4:30 -7:30 - Personal care. This includes prayer, meditation, and exercise.

  • 7:30 -12:00- Article writing and creating video tutorials.

  • 1:30- 4:30 - Writing my book.

  • 5:30-9:00 - family time.

This means I have to sleep at 9.

Photo by Morgan Housel on Unsplash

In Closing

I've always been struggling with time management. In the past, I overwhelmed myself by filling up each hour with activities. So when a little distraction arrives, my schedule easily gets messed up.

Hopefully, with this slightly loose scheduling, it would help me focus on the important things while allowing me to deal with some distractions.

How about you? Can you share what method you use to manage your time effectively?

Thanks for reading, sharing, and for your upvotes.


Post No. 2023-028

Date Posted: June 15, 2023, Philippine Standard Time

Originally posted in read.cash

All images are mine unless otherwise indicated.

Read.cash | Noise. App | Hive (Via Ecency)| Forum Coin |

| Publish0x | Cointiply | YouTube |

3
$ 0.14
$ 0.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Unity
$ 0.01 from @zulfrontado
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
10 months ago

Comments

The same thing happens to me with respect to time management. Because there are tasks that I don't expect during the day and I have to do. Like home activities, or university.

However, I like your time management plan. It is very similar to mine. Only I don't get up at 4 am, but at 8 am. I feel like I'm wasting some time by not getting up early. But, since I live with more people in my house, in the morning everyone gets ready to go to work. So getting up early is occupying someone's time in the bathroom, for example. What doesn't work for me. But, I would like to get up earlier to make the most of the day.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Yeah... I have learned that I need to expect any unexpected happenings. Just like yesterday... and I'm about to write about it. Thanks.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

You are welcome.

$ 0.00
10 months ago