How Grammarly Can Make You A Better Writer

29 90
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Some facts about my English writing "skills"

  1. At least 7 out of 10 times I write the word "crptocurrency", the spelling is incorrect. No, this one was not an intentional mistake, but I left it that way. Usually, though, I always type as "cyrptocurrency". I think my right hand is much faster than my left hand.

  2. I often misuse the comma ",". I mean I would put a comma where there should not be one or no comma where there should be one.

  3. I commit a lot of spelling mistakes. Yes, I'm not that good at spelling

  4. I would sometimes accidentally omit a word from a sentence. I'm not sure, but I think my hands can't keep up with my brain. Not that I'm a genius. My hands are just a bit slow, maybe.

I am often confused about which article (the, a, an) and preposition (on, in, at) to use.

These are just some of the common mistakes that I often commit when writing. Not to mention the number of typographical errors that I often commit when typing.

Here's what the above portion look like before I applied the corrections.

Screenshot of my text before the correction. See? I'm a terrible writer.

Hello again, dear readers and writers. Yes, I admit, I commit a lot of mistakes every time I write an article. Like I have shown you above, you can see that I am a terrible writer.

Most of the time, I compose my article using Zoho Writer on a Chromebook. Since I am using a physical keyboard, I have no access to Grammarly until I copy my text to this editor (read.cash's editor). Only then I will see the number of errors that I have made.

See? 37 errors! That's

In this post, I will share with you how Grammarly helped me become a better writer and I'm sure it can make you a better writer too.

Created Using Pixteller

The First Time I Used Grammarly

If I remember it right, I saw a Grammarly ad on YouTube a few years ago. But I did not use the mobile keyboard as advertised. But when I joined Bitlanders.com, I was challenged to improve my writing. In that writing platform, each article is moderated, reviewed, and rated. You will get zero to five stars. If you get zero, it means you need to improve your article. If you get five stars, then it means your article can earn the highest possible reward (Up to $10 per day, I believe). The reward decreases if you earn fewer stars.

I have to thank @LucyStephanie, @Momentswithmatti, and/or @AkoyFilipina ... I can't remember who among them posted about Grammarly in Bitlanders. But these women are among the top writers of that platform when I joined. And following their examples, my writing improved and I started earning 4-5 stars in Bitlanders.

What is Grammarly

Grammarly is not an ordinary spelling and grammar checker. It's an AI (artificial intelligence) powered writing assistant that's capable of detecting and correcting all sorts of writing mistakes. Not just spelling and grammar. It can detect improper use of words (e.g. "there and their", its and it's), misuse of a comma, wrong punction, and a whole lot more.

Grammarly App is a virtual keyboard for mobile devices. The app could automatically correct common mistakes or make suggestions for more complicated errors.

Grammarly is also available as a browser extension for Chrome, Safari, Firefox, and Edge.

It also has an extension for Microsoft Word and Google Docs.

Should You Use Grammarly?

Writing articles is not my forte. I'm a technical guy. I would rather solve puzzles and deal with numbers than write. English is not my native language. And I admit I'm always poor at spelling and grammar.

However, I love to read and I have come to love writing too. So, I always find ways to improve my writing skills. That's why I'm thankful that I found Grammarly

So, if you want to improve your English writing skills, you should use Grammarly.

How Can Grammarly Make You A Better Writer?

  • Primarily Grammarly will check and autocorrect your spelling and grammar as you type.

  • It can detect misplaced and misused punctuations.

  • Grammarly can also detect if you have used wrong words like "adoption" instead of "adaption", "chose" and "choose", "their" and "there", "weather" and "whether", etc. These are quite common.

  • Suggest alternative words or synonyms. But I think this works only on the virtual keyboard.

  • It will also tell you if a sentence is unclear, but you will see the suggestion if you have a premium account.

I haven't tried the 'Free Premium Suggestion' yet. This is new.
  • Detect the "tone of your voice". Grammarly can detect the "emotion" of your writing. Is it positive? angry? joyful?

See the emoji?
And I never knew that written text can produce sound and we can see it! ๐Ÿคฃ

These are just the basic things that Grammarly is capable of doing. The premium version can do a lot more. Which is great for professional writers.

Is Grammarly Free?

Yes, you can use Grammarly freely. But as I have mentioned above, more features are available in the premium version. See the table below.

The difference between Free, Premium, and Business plans.

Grammarly is available for Android, iOs, and Windows (as Browser and Word extensions)

How Do You Use Grammarly?

For mobile devices, you can download and install Grammarly as your primary keyboard.

For desktops and laptops, add the browser extension and the MS Word extension as well.

You can check out their official website https://www.grammarly.com/

In Closing

Grammarly is a great AI-powered writing assistant. By taking note at the corrections often applied by this app, you will learn the common mistakes that you make and thus learn to avoid them in the future. It's like having an instant proofreader and writing tutor at the same time.

So, if you want to convey your message correctly, I would recommend using Grammarly.


Disclaimer

I know this sounds like a paid article, but no. I am applying for Grammarly's affiliate program but at the time of writing, my application was not approved yet. Affiliate or not, I wrote this because I know it could help a lot of writers improve their writing skills


Thanks for reading.


Check out my other content at:


All content is mine unless otherwise indicated.

10
$ 6.08
$ 5.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @TengoLoTodo
$ 0.05 from @Scotty17
+ 5
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

yup..still use grammarly until today! hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I only used word for the spelling because I'm terrible with my spelling and use the dictionary should it need to check if I got the right word or not. I have to re-read my writing should the be need to correct. For additional usage of unfamiliar words, I use chrome. We all need help at one point.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can add Grammarly extension to your MS Word.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh no! Thanks... I'm practising so my goal will be defeated it I do it so. I don't seek to perfection but I seek to hone my skills.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thats is good. In my case, I try to keep in mind the errors that Grammarly points out and try to avoid doing them next time. I do my draft on a distraction-free editor with no Grammarly then I will only see the errors after I copy the text on the editor. It's one way to learn. Then again it's up to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, words efficient enough doing the checking I don't have any problem so far. Sentence construction was never the concern in the first place. It's too much distraction I can't free write and there are meanings that changes the slightest punctuation changes. Don't really have problems using the basics, in, on, at, there, theirs, that, this, these, et. Al... Thank again but I am also concerned not on the text only but the context itself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I use it and so should everybody use it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't tried Grammarly yet. The free features are the same as in Word document so I use that instead. ๐Ÿ˜ I first write my articles in Word and copy-paste in read once done. ๐Ÿ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually, even the free version can do more than in Word when it comes to improving ones writing. But you can add Grammarly extension to Word.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I also used grammarly.com for my online articles. Such a big help to correct my errors.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I started writing here in read.cash, I just write and I don't care about the grammars or the punctuation that I used. But when those two accounts became a failure, I tried exploring this platform that can help me with this new account I created. I then stumbled on @Jane's article here, on how the Grammarly keyboard helps us in making articles. After reading it, I downloaded it and since then that was what I used. It somehow helps me improve my writing skills, though until now there's still a little struggle in constructing some ideas and words in my articles, at least I learned a little knowledge while using the Grammarly keyboard.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

At least, you have started to improve your writing skills. I wonder how many people have read @Jane's and how many chose to learn from it. Same question goes... I wonder how many people will start trying Grammarly after reading this?

Anyway, just keep on writing, soon you will be writing with less errors. If I check my articles that I wrote before I came across Grammarly, now... probably I will have more than a hundred errors. heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope after reading your article, they will try using Grammarly to help them...Yes thanks, I can say that Grammarly helps me a lot of everyday especially in writing articles here.. Compared to last time, my articles are way better now, that's what I observe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great! Improvement is a continuous process.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aweee thank you for sharing this one. I haven't try it yet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been telling people who have problems with their grammar and spelling to use Grammarly for years and for about 8 months here. I don't use it myself because I learned to write and was an English grammar teacher at one time. But there is simply no excuse for not using some free software to improve one's writing. Sadly, people are just here for the money. Good post!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks. Yeah, that's what I noticed here too. There are lots of free tools that could help improve our writing. Even Google Docs has a good AI that's more or less as powerful as Grammarly. Here's one observation. If a writer improves his/her writing, the chances that a reader will read through the content will increase. If the theory I read is correct, one of Rusty's parameter in tipping is the number of people reading the whole article.

Therefore, good content + good writing skill + good title = Rusty's tips. Just a theory anyway.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly. I don't read poor grammatical articles. I can usually tell by looking at the title and the preview whether I will read it or not.

All this finger pointing at Rusty is wrong. It is poor content that is not rewarded. It doesn't get any simpler than that!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yup. I just noticed two members created a new account within 48 hours. They say Rusty did not visit them. I will observe how they do on their new account. If they continue with their current writing style... I don't think Rusty will notice them.
I think having a niche helps as well.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, a niche. Many writers post haphazardly and so I do not subscribe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun o! Hehe. Maybe it was Momentswithmatti who suggested it. I haven't been using Grammarly until recently again. I rarely use it because I used to go to another free grammar checker site when I would write commissioned articles.

It's always good to use a grammar checker. I am also not perfect when it comes to writing. Haven't been using it here that much though. Hehe.

So sad Bitlanders have stopped paying but at least now we have read cash and noise cash. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Uy! Good Morning! Baka nga si Jean or Si pinay or si Sharon (wala pa sya dito). Sayang nga yung bitlanders. Salamat na lang at meron nang read.cash. hehehe. Salamat sa Upvote.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't how to use this app.I already install pero di ko alam pano gamitin ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa phone or sa browser?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa phone๐Ÿ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hanapin mo Settings-> Settings and Updates -> Language and Input Gawin mong default keyboard ang Grammarly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I make use of the grammarly keyboard when typing my article as well. Thanks for sharing, it will help some people a lot

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yup. That's why I shared this... I know Grammarly could help a lot of people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago