Give and It Will Come Back To You

6 61
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

November 7.

Greetings, friends, and readers. It's Sunday morning here in the Philippines. The 7th day of the month and this is my 5th article for this week. Well, I'm one article short for this week. But I have a couple of drafts waiting to be finished.

This is supposed to be my Sunday reflection post. But instead of focusing on one verse, I will give a short recap on what transpired on my first 7 days of November.

So far, I have had a good start in the first week of the month. I have uploaded already four articles this week, and this is my fifth I am targetting six. Maybe I can finish one of my drafts later and hit my target. And I must be doing something right and Mr. You-know-who has been generous to me.

Two Morning Jog/Walk This Week

I had a good long morning jog-walk last Tuesday. I was on my way back home when my brother called me. It was something urgent so I added two more kilometers to my walk for a total of 9 Kilometers.

This morning was supposed to be another session of my jog-walk. Well, I did start it. I went out early. But before reaching my second kilometer it rained. I had to stop and seek shelter under a waiting shed.

When the rain stopped, I decided to go home. Since it's a Sunday, I decided to pass by the church. I admit I haven't visited the church for a long time. I was in time for the homily. The Gospel was about the old widow who gave her remaining two coins to the temple.

If you are following me in Noise, I posted this image quote before I started my walk.

https://noise.cash/post/10ngr92k

"A generous person will prosper; whoever refreshes others will be refreshed.," -Proverbs 11:25 NIV

Disclaimer

Before I continue, a little disclaimer. I am not a preacher, a priest nor a Bible scholar. As I mentioned about, I haven't even gone to Church for a long time. But I always do reflections on verses from the Bible. And what I will share with you here is based on my reflection and I do not mean to preach anything.

My Reflection

These words from the book of Proverbs suggest that a "generous person will prosper". I guess I don't need to explain that line. But there is a second part. "Whosever refreshes others will be refreshed."

In the New Century Version (NCV) translation, it says:

"Whoever gives to others will get richer; those who help others will themselves be helped."

Wow! I could not simplify that further! Does it mean all we need to do is give and expect to get rich?

I think the answer to that is what I learned from the homily that I heard earlier. I now think that it was predetermined that it will rain in the middle of my morning walk so I would go to the Church and listen to this.

The Gospel is taken from Mark12:41-44. And it says:

"Jesus sat down opposite the treasury and observed how the crowd put money into the treasury. Many rich people put in large sums.

A poor widow also came and put in two small coins worth a few cents.

Calling his disciples to himself, he said to them, “Amen, I say to you, this poor widow put in more than all the other contributors to the treasury. For they have all contributed from their surplus wealth, but she, from her poverty, has contributed all she had, her whole livelihood.”

Reflection:

It's often easy to give when we have a surplus. But when we have little, it's quite difficult to give. Right?

Here's what I learned and experienced in readcash and noisecash platforms.

In the first few months, I rarely give out tips, especially here in readcash. I thought "I have no other means of income, so I need every cent that I earned!". Yup, there were a few months that I had no other means of income but readcash and noisecash. But here is what I have observed lately. It seems that the more tips you give, the more you receive. I'm not sure if that is actually part of Rusty's algorithm, but other members have observed that as well.

In noisecash, I post only about 2-4 times a day. But, I do comment and give hearts every time I could get a chance. With the latest changes in that platform, we can now give tips from our wallets. So for the deserving posts, I would give a small tip. With that, I could still reach my minimum payout of $2 per day. Although there was a day or two that I did not.

I wonder what would happen if I give a bigger tip each time? I think I will do just that.

But WAIT! There is a certain condition when we give.

We should not expect anything in return.

When we give, it should not be with personal motive (Guilty! Don't rub it in on me please!). But we should give with all our hearts. We should give more than what we could afford to give, just like the widow in the Gospel.

In Closing

Let me close this post with a song from Gospel Singer Ron Kenoly

Thanks For Reading and Have a Blessed Day


P.S.

I could not think of a good title for this article so I borrowed a line from the song.

Credits:

Lead Image: Unsplash


Check out my other content at:


All content is mine unless otherwise indicated


9
$ 6.77
$ 6.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.06 from @Princessbusayo
+ 5
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

It always is a good feeling giving. Seeing a smile on someones face is payment enough :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ah. That is quite true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is very true that you get back what you sow out because givers never lack. God will bless those who give to others and not only money, but anything the other person is needing at that moment.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So many people don't know what they stand to gain by giving. God multipliers what a giver gives, while someone that hold unto the little he has remains the same.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's not against my will helping someone basta di ako gipit, kapag gipit karin kasi dimo alam gagawin mo and parang mafefeel sorry sakanalang sa nangangailamgan, yung gusto mo tumulong kahit pero wala karin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have got to say, I am.guilty as well. Learning to give without expecting something in return is not so easy

$ 0.00
2 years ago