Drawing With Pencils on Paper Again

10 75
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

April 11, 2023

Ever since I got my Huawei tablet last year, I drew almost exclusively using it. I can't even remember the last time I used a pencil to draw.

However,each time the tip of the stylus glides smoothly on my tablet's almost frictionless screen, the feel is quite different. I mean, the surface of the tablet's screen is just too smooth. In short, I missed the feel of the friction of the pencil as it glides across the surface of a paper.


Greetings once again my wonderful readers and friends. I'm still quite busy this week, but I'm just thankful that I was able to find some time to draw the other day.

Drawing is a relaxing activity for me.


I have posted the character I drew using Medibang Paint before.

There is a story behind this character, actually. In the past few days, I thought of drawing this character in the old fashion way. So I picked up my pencils and erasers and my sketch pad.

My Tools

I only have two kinds of pencils. A number 2 pencil, and a 4B Faber Castel pencil. I also have two kinds of erasers, a block, dustless eraser, and a putty eraser.

I did not capture the process of my drawings, but I made two versions of my character in one page.

Two Versions

The costume of both versions are the same. In the version, the character is facing front and doesn't have the 'salakot' a traditional, light-weight Filipino headgear.

The second version is facing left and wearing a salakot.

The Costume

The pants is a loose red pants, like the prescribed pants in the Modern Arnis tournaments. I learned that, unlike the other martial arts, traditional Arnis or Eskrima does not require a specific costume to practice.

Although this is Filipino character, I used a sleeveless gi for the upper garment. The sleeveless gi Japanese in origin.

I added a bandana that serves as a mask. I plan to make another variation of this soon.

The Giho Sticks

Giho or Gijo, is a rare type of ironwood and it's tougher than the kamagong. The stick is octagonal as compared to the more common cylindrical-shaped arnis sticks.

I learned about Giho sticks from this page: https://www.traditionalfilipinoweapons.com/shop/iron-wood-gijo-sticks-from-the-philippines/

In Closing

I once thought I can draw using nothing but my tablet. However, the feeling of drawing using a pencil on a piece of paper is not just the same. I realized I can finish a rough sketch faster than doing it on my tablet.

I need to learn how to clean up my drawings properly though. In the past, after finishing the sketch, I would "ink" my work digitally.

One disadvantage of drawing with a pencil on paper is... there is no "UNDO" button.

Thanks for reading.



Post No. 2023-017

Date Posted: April 14, 2023 Philippine Standard Time

All images are mine unless otherwise indicated.

| Read.cash | Noise. App | Hive (Via Ecency)| Forum Coin |

| Publish0x | Cointiply | YouTube

7
$ 0.26
$ 0.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.03 from @Jane
+ 1
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

The feel of paper will never be replaced. Even to write. I am used to being on the PC, or the cell phone writing. But there are days where I just want to write in my notebook.

Besides that it is a relaxing activity.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung cousin ko lagi naaalala ko sayo sir kasi katulad din siya sayo ang galing mag draw. Mga ganyan din yung sa kanya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me sketching is a relief. I have been doing it since I remember. But I could not yet use it as a career. I hope I would be doing it soon! By the way your characters are well defined and amazing!👌

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess doing what we love to do is ... therapeutic, so to speak.

Thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang macho naman nung drawing mo hehe. Kung maging tunay siguro yan daig pa niyan si Papa P. at Coco Martin 😅.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahahaha. try ko kayang gawing kamukha ni Coco Martin.

LOL!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pwede hehe, sikat na sikat pa naman si Coco Martin ngayon dahil sa "Ang Probinsyano" at "Batang Quiapo".

$ 0.00
1 year ago

LOL!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wanted to be painter too...but fate had something else choosen for me...But I still love to draw , sketch , and paint ...I took it as my most beloved hobby....and for me drawing with a pencil on a piece of paper and then filling it with your favorite colors is way more better then on a screen...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, that is true... the feeling is quite relaxing

$ 0.00
1 year ago