Do You Know That Computers Can Cause Painful Injuries?

7 50
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

January 27

If I remember it right, I believe I first felt it sometime in 2018. My ring fingers and pinkies on both hands always felt numb. I just massage them to relieve the discomfort. However as time goes by, they gradually worsened. I think it was year later that I started to notice that I had difficulties in making a full fist. It's like the joints on those fingers are locked. Then it worsened some more. I can't even bend them on their own. I have to bend them with my other hand. And doing so is painful. Straightening them is just as painful.

 I saw on TV that, I'm not alone who had that condition. The doctors called it "Trigger Fingers".


 Greetings my fellow writers. The first month of 2022 is about to end. I hope you have a productive month 

This is my 25th article for this month. I wanted to write this last night, but I wanted to change my schedule for writing. Instead of doing it late at night, I'm now doing it before breakfast. Yup, I'm having my first cup of coffee while writing this. Typing actually.

For the record, my goal is to post at least 25 articles per month. So I reached my minimum goal already.

 In my last article, I wrote about the importance of taking short breaks while working. In this article, I will share with you what could happen if you don't take short breaks while working. Especially if you are working on a computer or a mobile device for long periods at a time.

 I'm not scaring you but computers can cause painful injuries to you. And I am not referring to injuries that can occur when someone bashes you with a keyboard or a monitor. I am talking about injuries that you might have from using computers and other devices for a long period.

 In the medical world, the term is Repetitive Strain Injury (RSI)


Disclaimer

I may be a son of a doctor, but I am not a doctor. However, this is not the first time I have written about RSI. The information I will share with you is based on my experience and some research about the medical conditions that are mentioned here.


What is Repetitive Strain Injury?

"A repetitive strain injury (RSI) is an injury to part of the musculoskeletal or nervous system caused by repetitive use, vibrations, compression or long periods in a fixed position.[1] Other common names include repetitive stress disorders, cumulative trauma disorders (CTDs), and overuse syndrome."

- Wikipedia

 The trigger finger that I had (or still have) is not the first result of RSI for me. It is the second. Long before I had my first cellphone, I have long been a computer user. From my college days, I have been using computers both for work and playing games. I would work and play for hours non-stop.

 To cut the story short, after so many years of abusive computer use, I started to feel pain on my wrist and even up to my shoulders. I did a little research. That's how I found out about Repetitive Strain Injury and the condition of my wrist which is called Carpal Tunnel Syndrome

 What is Carpal Tunnel Syndrome?

"Carpal tunnel syndrome is caused by pressure on the median nerve. The carpal tunnel is a narrow passageway surrounded by bones and ligaments on the palm side of your hand. When the median nerve is compressed, the symptoms can include numbness, tingling and weakness in the hand and arm.

The anatomy of your wrist, health problems, and possibly repetitive hand motions can contribute to carpal tunnel syndrome."

- Mayo Clinic

 CTS is the first painful injury I had from using computers. Aside from the prolonged use of a computer, how I set up my computer, my sitting position also contributed to the strain on my wrist.

 Since my condition was not yet at its worst, I was able to remedy my situation by simply changing my position when using the computer, and taking short breaks frequently. (More on this in my next article)

 What is "Trigger Fingers"

"Trigger finger is a condition in which one of your fingers gets stuck in a bent position. Your finger may bend or straighten with a snap — like a trigger being pulled and released."

-Mayo Clinic

 I got my trigger fingers from the prolonged use of cell phones. At the time I was hooked on playing a multi-player role-playing game. My condition got to a point that a little pressure on my fingers would cause immense pain and wake me up in the middle of the night often.

 I decided to see a doctor. He gave a prescription and suggested a simple exercise. He said, my condition will not improve after two months, he may need to do a procedure. The medication is simple a nerve vitamin with paracetamol - Polynerve Forte.

 Then, the pandemic hit. I wasn't able to return to the doctor for the follow-up check-up. Fortunately, my condition started to improve after a few weeks. It's not fully healed. I still feel some discomfort on my fingers sometimes, but they are no longer painful when I make a fist.

What Causes These Conditions?

These painful conditions are caused by repetitive strain. When we type, and if our position is not correct, it can cause strain on our joints and nerves. Same thing when we are holding our cell phones when we play games or type.

Prolonged and incorrect positioning injuries can occur over time.

In Closing

Computers, cellphones, and tablets may seem harmless. However, using it for a prolonged period at a time can cause painful injuries. I did not even mention here how they affect our eyes.

That's why we need to take frequent short breaks when using them.

Thanks For Reading


Related Post

Why is taking frequent short breaks is better?

Image sources

Lead Image / Repetitive Strain Injury

Carpal Tunnel Syndrome:

Trigger Finger:


Check out my other content at:

10
$ 6.24
$ 6.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.03 from @Success.1
+ 2
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

Naranasan ko din this. Minsan nasasarapan ako pag namamanhid ewan ako lang ba? Haha pero pag ramdam ko na masakit na at parang ang tagal bumalik kinakabahan na ako haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right your article is very informative I still remember when my one finger bend while typing and now I try to use mobile or computer when it was necessary

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is an informative article, it is very helpful to other who kept on using computers.

Nakaranas din ako ng pananakit ng mga joint kos sa kamay before at pangingiwi ng mga daliri ko sa kakagamit ng cellphone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is good information, been this situation too that it triggered my fingers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang style ko naman e lagi lagi mag stretch para hindi ma strain yung katawan natin. May mga lamig lamig pa nga ako minsan haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Correct, and another thing I want to add is I don't wet my hands with water everytime I am into my cellphone because sometimes the hotness of my phone transfers into my hands and it can cause damage if you will immediately soak your hands in the water.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is true

$ 0.00
2 years ago