Age of The Undead

3 68
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Disclaimer:

This story is pure fiction. All characters, names, events, and incidents in this story are the product of the imagination of this author unless otherwise specified. Any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead (or living dead), or actual events is purely coincidental.

This story is inspired by the mobile game "The Last Day"

Chapter I: The Cabin

A group of raiders ambushed us. We manage to fend them off, but we were cut off from the convoy. Our vehicles, riddled with bullet holes are beyond repair. It doesn't matter. The main convoy is carrying our women, children, and elders towards "The Sanctuary."

However, the gun battle has attracted a horde of zombies. At first, we tried to fight them off. But there were more than a hundred of them and less than a dozen of us. We were overwhelmed. I saw three of my companions got away, but I got separated from them. I have no choice but to run.

I went up a hill. The zombies are clumsy and slow. Without a trail, they can't seem to climb up a steep hill.

I have been walking through the forest for an hour or two. I'm not quite sure. I only have the sun to gauge the time. I have no water. Our supplies are left in the vehicle. I have nothing but a piece of bread. It's getting dark. I have to find a shelter soon. The zombies are more active at night. I have nothing to defend myself with but the three rounds left in my Beretta, and a machete. And would not dare use the gun unless absolutely necessary.

Original illustration by JLoberiza

The convoy was heading North. It is said that the Sanctuary is located near the Canadian border. But no one knows the exact location. I have to head that way then. Hopefully, I could find our convoy there.

The ground is covered with dried leaves and twigs. I need to walk carefully. The undead is known to stay under the cool shades of the woods during the day. Most of them move slowly under the heat of the day.

Up ahead, a shadow of a man. The question is, is he alive? or a living dead? I sneaked behind him... He is bloodied all over. And I see a couple of bite marks on his arms. I pulled out my machete. With one swing, his head flew and his body dropped where he stands.

Then I saw something behind the trees. A clearing. Is that a cabin? It looks like a cabin!

Shelter at last! I hope there's water and food too.

In my excitement, I got careless! I stepped on a dried branch.

"CRACK!"

The sound was loud enough to attract a group of undead nearby. The two lingered toward me. But the third one is a runner! I swung my machete towards the incoming zombie. A female. I got her arm. My training with the Filipino Martial Arts or otherwise known as Arnis took over. I raised the machete up to my shoulder. Blade out. Swung horizontally and hit her neck. Another head rolled. The two slow walkers are no problem at all.

But I have to be more careful if I want to survive the rest of the day.

Slowly, I crept towards the cabin. The door was open. I can hear something from the inside... a static hiss? or something...

As carefully as I could, I peeked from the door to see what was creating that sound.

A CB Radio! Still operational! But the occasional squeak and static hiss have attracted a group of walkers! Five of them!

I think I can still handle them. I tip toed accross the room. But the floor squeaked! Alerting the undead! They ran towards me.

I hurriedly moved backward out of the door. I slashed through the neck of the nearest one as I continue to move back. Another one grabbed my left arm. Swinging low, I cut off both its legs!

Then I stumbled. I fell on my back. The three remaining zombies rush towards me. They are mere inches away from me.

But then they stopped! A dog barking frantically as it rushes towards the undead! It leaped and got one of the undead! And the noise it is making has got the attention of the other two.

Now's my chance. I rolled back to my feet and took care of the two undead. I looked at the remaining zombie. The dog snapped its neck... killing it. Somehow, the dogs have natural immunity against whatever bacteria or virus that caused the dead to reanimate.

The dog has a name tag. "Thor ", that's what the tag says. He must have been owned by whoever owned this cabin. I turned off the radio and checked the rest of the cabin. It was clear.

I also found a small underground basement. Perhaps, it was a hiding room, just in case the place is overrun by a horde.

And to my delight, there were some canned beans and some bottled water.

Thor and I will be safe for tonight.

This is my first day as a lone survivor in this Age of the Undead. My name is Josh

To be continued ...

Hello. dear readers! I hope you enjoyed my first ever fictional story. As I mentioned in the disclaimer, this was inspired by the game The Last Day.

Although this is not the first one that I had in mind. I have a more complicated zombie-themed story that I have been playing in my mind for years! Hopefully, I can publish it here also.

I want to hear from you soon.


Credits

Lead Image: Source Pixabay with modification


8
$ 3.66
$ 3.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
$ 0.05 from @MizLhaine
+ 2
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

Who owned Thor? Looking forward for the next series or better scan your articles after this comment. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The story goes cool, haha the story starts what I been thinking is Minecraft LOL, And I wasn't disappointed with the scene where he sees the Cabin but underneath is an underground base power.. Yee looking for the next chap. What inside the cabin.. maybe he's future love LOL, spoiler what haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe. I'm thinking of making a Minecraft world out of this story... But I'm still a noob on that game. Hehehe.

The basement just popped up when I was writing this. It was not in my plan. But the cabin is not that safe without the basement.

Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago