A Typhoon Is Coming

12 34
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

December 15

 

It's Pay day! And it's the last day of classes for this month! The last day of a grueling schedule. At least for this month. So I have a lot of reasons to be happy and grateful today! However, I can't help it, but I have a reason to be anxious also. You see, a severe tropical storm has just entered the Philippines Area of Responsibility (PAR).  And it will continue to build up to become a typhoon before it hits land on Thursday afternoon.


Hello readers and friends. It was the dawn of December 25, 2019, when typhoon Ursula hit our province. Yes, it was Christmas. And our house was damaged by that typhoon. And now another typhoon is about to hit us by Friday (December 17). Although this typhoon will not hit our province directly (hopefully), but we will surely be affected by it.

Part of our house's roofings was gone
Some of the carpenters began repairing the roof

Christmas Party

 If, and only if, the typhoon will not hit us. We are scheduled to have a Christmas Party by Friday. All of us are praying that the typhoon would weaken even before it makes its first landfall.

If it does, there will be no party then. *sigh*

 The Typhoon

Source: PAGASA.GOV.PH

Typhoon Odette (international name RiA) has a sustained  winds of up to 130 Kph and the strong winds extends up to 400 km from the center. It is expected to make its first landfall sometime in the afternoon of December 16.

This is a strong typhoon. And a lot of people will be greatly affected.

Source PAGASA

Rumors

Yesterday, when I went out to buy some snacks, I heard from a number of "Maritess" that the storm will hit our city last night. I wanted to refute them.  Tell them that the typhoon was just about to enter the Phillippine's Area of Responsibility. I won't even make the first landfall before Thursday.

But I thought, what's the use? These people believe that sometimes, thunder comes before lightning.

Preparation

I don't know how strong the typhoon would be when it hits our area. But I know that it will pass on the other side of Panay Island (Iloilo). But because of it's with I'm sure we will feel its intensity.

Our house has not been fully repaired yet. I did not have enough money to have it fixed after Ursula. However, since the pandemic, we are living with my in-laws. But I am not sure if this house, which is made of light materials would be safe as well.

Tomorrow, I will start packing some of our things in plastic garbage bags

However, we could always evacuate to the school nearby. That's where my wife teaches.

 Affected Areas

 I just hope and pray that the typhoon will significantly weaken before it hits us. For those living in the areas on the path of this typhoon, please stay safe and be prepared. Those areas could be,

  •  Surigao

  • Dinagat Island

  • Southern Leyte

  • Bohol

  • Cebu

  • Negros Island

  • Panay and Guimaras Islands

  • Palawan Island

 

Again, I hope this storm weakens or even dissolves.

Thanks for reading


Check out my other content at:

9
$ 7.85
$ 7.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.22 from @Pantera
$ 0.04 from @Oikawa
+ 3
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

You stay safe there my friend. Hope the typhoon will soon be gone in your place. Stay safe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Signal #3 na dito sa amin sa Bohol pero buti nalang tumigil na ung ulan at hindi na masyadong mahangin.Kept safe everyone

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Doble ingat lang kayo dyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes po.andito po ako sa work today.salamat

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep safe po kayo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just hope that we all will be safe. Take care friend

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope so too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please be safe 🥰

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep safe my friend

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago