Visible light through color.

13 95
Avatar for JCnakama
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Human, Thinking, Blogs, Writing, ...

In this opportunity I will talk about color; optical phenomenon that is perceived by light within a certain wavelength range. In general terms, let's say that we observe color because light reaches our eyes. Light is like a disturbance in space, in the form of a wave. An example is the wave that is generated by hitting the surface of water, that wave is the disturbance in the water. In addition, due to the tiny distance of visible light wavelengths are measured in nanometer (nm) which is equivalent to one millionth of a millimeter.

In this sense, the region of the electromagnetic spectrum that the human eye is able to receive is called the visible aspect. Electromagnetic radiation in this wavelength range is called visible light or simply light. There is no exact limit to the visible spectrum: The typical human eye will respond to wavelengths from 380 to 750nm, although in exceptional cases some people may be able to perceive wavelengths from 310 to 1050nm. Rainbows are an example of refraction of the visible spectrum, the most visible color being yellow.

 For specific wavelengths, light has a specific color:

-       400 nm: violet

-       470 nm: blue

-       550 nm: green

-       600 nm: yellow

-       700 nm: red

-       800 nm: Cannot be seen and has no color. It is outside the visible spectrum.


Our eyes have three cones, which allow us to see light in the marked range of the electromagnetic spectrum, but some animals such as birds and insects have more cones, which allow them to see in other areas of the spectrum, specifically in the ultraviolet (uv) area. It must be taken into account that if these animals can see in other intervals, the contamination of electromagnetic waves, which are invisible to us, can confuse the vision of these animals. There is the opposite case, animals with less quantity or concentration in their cones, such as dogs, which only see in blue and yellow. A light-adapted eye generally has a maximum sensitivity of 555, in the green region of the visible spectrum.

The spectrum, however, does not contain all the colors that the human eye and brain can distinguish; brown, pink, gold, silver and black are absent. The wavelength visible to the eye also passes through an optical window, the region of the electromagnetic spectrum passes very attenuated through the earth's atmosphere (although blue light is more scattered than red light, it is the reason for the color of the sky).

In the same vein, the scientific study of objects based on the spectra of light emitted by the objects is called spectroscopy. A particularly important application of this study is in astronomy where spectroscopes are essential for analyzing properties of distant objects. It uses high dispersion diffraction to observe spectra of very high spectral resolution. Light has a complex nature, depending on how we observe it, it will manifest itself as a wave or as a particle. These two states are not mutually exclusive, but complementary.

To conclude, light is a wave of alternative electric and magnetic fields, that is why it is said that it is an electromagnetic wave and like any wave, light has a wavelength that is the distance between two wave crests. Not all light is the same, light can have different colors and precisely the color of light depends on the length of its wavelength. If its wavelength is the distance between two crests or valleys of a wave, its frequency is the number of times the wave is repeated per second. The color of an object we see is the color of the light reflected by the object on our eyes.

          Did you know that dogs only see in blue and yellow?

Image source: all images are designed by me, on the Canva.com website.

Dear readers, your opinions are very valuable to me, I will be very attentive to your comments. Thank you for investing your valuable time reading my post, best regards.

Articles related:

The Psychology of Color.


Disclaimer: I would like to let you know that English is not my mother tongue, I may even make some mistakes in the elaboration of sentences in my posts. Feel free to correct me attentively. It will help me in my learning process.

Sponsors of JCnakama
empty
empty
empty

You can follow me on:

Facebook - Instagram - Youtube


My Blogs:

Ecency Noise.Cash - publish0x


8
$ 12.37
$ 12.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @nomadghada
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
+ 3
Sponsors of JCnakama
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JCnakama
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Human, Thinking, Blogs, Writing, ...

Comments

Interesting article, thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am pleased to know that my publication was to your liking, thank you for taking the time to read it and comment, best regards.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think your translation came out rather good. If it comes to it we see with our brain and DNA infects the way we can see colours too. Men have more issues if it comes to seeing (certain) colours for example than women. I know not all animals can see colours (for as far as we can judge that). A bull can't see red and some animals see black-white plus 'red'.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks friend, my biggest concern is that I made a bad translation and change the context of what I want to expose, I'm glad to know that it was accepted. Undoubtedly everything that has to do with light, the electromagnetic spectrum and colors is a subject that has attracted my attention since I was a child. Unfortunately I could not dedicate myself to it professionally, greetings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a pity you couldn't dedicate your life (work in that field) but if this is your interest go for it. Before school, institutions, universities people (home) schooled themselves too. 💖🍀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the motivation, I really appreciate it. You are right you can learn a lot independently and more with the help of the internet, where you can literally find everything. Unfortunately the situation in my country (Venezuela) has been very complicated for a long time, it seriously affects the entire population. To get ahead is very difficult, you have to work hard just to put bread on the table. So every minute counts, and you have to go in order of priorities and always with the intention of generating income quickly. That is why it is very difficult to dedicate oneself to a profession that one is really passionate about. When I was a child my dream was to be a scientist, I am passionate about science and everything unknown, maybe I can fulfill that dream in my next life hehe. For now I can only be satisfied with the opportunity presented to me in read.cash to investigate and learn about these topics that I am passionate about, and in turn get some income to support my family, greetings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Short but information dense article. It might be added that purple as well, is no spectral colour. I wrote many articles here before about colour, which is a phenomenon, in which I am very interested. You can find them here: https://read.cash/@Mictorrani/index-over-my-articles-at-read-cash-5f7c1e34#colour

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right friend, the article is short for the complexity of the subject, however I plan to continue deepening on the subject in subsequent publications. Thanks for commenting and for the recommendations, I will certainly study your articles on the subject, greetings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see from another reply here that we have an interest in common. My interest in colours etc., started with eyes and vision, I was originally a neurologist, so I came into that quite naturally. Then, since I can never hold myself from crossing discipline borders, I also became interested in all other aspects of colour, also cultural ones.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes actually I had noticed it too, I love your content, I read all your articles that you publish, unfortunately I can not leave comments due to lack of time, as I mentioned in response to another comment every minute of my life I have to dedicate to work and ensure the daily sustenance of my family. But you always have a sure like from me, and every time I can a tip. I am really happy for you, because you have been able to satisfy your scientific curiosity in a great way, I hope to continue learning a lot from you, greetings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's like I'm in a Physics class.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha yes friend, try not to be like that, but I like to vary my content with the topics that I find interesting, greetings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago