A Tribute to my Grandpa

1 12
Avatar for Its_Jai
1 year ago
ctto

It's almost been two years since I've lost my grandpa to cancer. I still think about him a lot and I often think about him when I make life decisions. It's never easy to lose a loved one. At first, it's as if losing him has left a void in my life.I had a lot of regrets, things I wish I had done differently and things I wish I did with him when he was still with us. But that's the thing with life. We never realize what we've got until it gets taken away from us.

My cousins Yboo (left) and Dynwell (right) visiting my lolo's grave

I always saw my grandpa as a strong healthy man. He was always energetic and full of life. That's why him getting diagnosed with cancer came as a shock to our family. It was very sudden and it happened very fast. His health declined quickly and it was hard to get medical services because of the pandemic. Sometimes I think to myself, if it wasn't for the pandemic, could things have turned out differently? But there's no use in thinking about that. I know my grandpa in heaven wouldn't be happy to know that I think about these things when he's looking down on me from above because how he died is not what's important, it's how he lived his life.

Lolo's 76th Birthday ❣️

My grandpa lived a simple life. Some may judge him for being poor, for not having proper education, for not having a high paying job. But to me, my grandpa was the greatest man I know.

My grandpa was a fisherman. Not a prestigious job, but I'm always proud of it. It's a decent way of earning a living and my grandpa did his best to provide for his family. I remember when I was a lot younger, he would take me and my brother on a boat ride. Those times made me so happy, I loved listening to the waves and feeling the cold wind on my face. I could say that it was the best experience for the 7 year old me. My grandpa didn't have a lot of money to give but he had a lot of love and that was more than enough for me.

My grandpa never really had a proper education because his parents couldn't afford to send him to school. People often judge him for that. He never learned how to write or read. But to me, my grandpa was the most intelligent man. My grandpa may not have known or learned about the figures of speech or the scientific method but he knew a lot about life. He was a man full of wisdom and I've learned a lot about life from him more that I learned about it from school. I'll never forget all the advice I got from him.

I've always dreamt of having my grandparents at the important events in my life. Graduation, Wedding, Having my first child and more. I always prayed to God to keep them healthy and give them a long life. At first I thought that I will never be able to fulfill that dream but now that I've matured, I don't really feel like that anymore because I know when those events happen he will be here with me. He is always with me through all the lessons he taught me, through the love he gave, he's in my DNA and I am his legacy.

WE ARE HIS LEGACY:

"Wherever you are grandpa, I know I wasn't the best grandchild but right now I'm doing my best to live my life in a way that honors you. I love you."

I miss you and your crooked glasses lolo 🥺❣️

How about you? What's your grandpa like? Tell me in the comments. ☺️

Have a great daw everyone and don't forget to take care of yourself.

Sponsors of Its_Jai
empty
empty
empty

See you on my next post ☺️❣️

3
$ 1.28
$ 1.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Marinov
Avatar for Its_Jai
1 year ago

Comments

I miss my lolo too, dzai. I was young when he passed away. Pinakabuotan nga lolo 🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago