Cassava Tops: Our vegetable for the week

2 18
Avatar for IsThisIt
2 years ago

Have you seen this plant? This plant is called cassava. It's root crops and leaves could be eaten. This week, cassava tops has been our main vegetable item. Therefore, I say that is our vegetable for the week.

To be exact, I started picking leaves last week Thursday. Then I did it again the next day, and the day after that. Until yesterday afternoon.

Our immediate neighbors transferred to another home. The new boarders are always out. One time, I asked permission if I could get the cassava tops. The lady of the house gave permission saying that they do not eat that anyway. Or are not fond of them just yet.

In the afternoon I would get the cassava tops. I wait then for my husband to come home. He is the one who cooks the tops.

Ever since I got married to my man, I always relied on his cooking. I think this is one of the best things I got out of this marriage.

His way of cooking these cassava tops is simple yet very edible and delicious. Although this viand is not one whom kids would readily appreciate, adults would come to love them once they taste them. Like us!

One good thing about cassava is that they grow even by just planting the wood cuttings on the ground. And even when they grow and you pluck half the shrub, it would sprout new leaves in no time as long as there is regular rain showers.

Even when it is the only viand prepared, I would still have a good meal. We usually have meat or fish for the kids but we want them to see that vegetables are very healthy.

When I researched, I found out we could even put coconut milk on it.

Cassava is more known for its root crops. Fortunately, we were able as well to learn that we could eat the leaves.

This is a big help actually for our budget because vegetables nowadays are very pricy.

If I am not mistaken, I first tasted this at my elder sister's before. They also grow these plants on their backyard so they could easily get some. I usually eat camote tops or chayote tops but I realized I have additional 'free' vegetables which is the cassava tops.

We are so much blessed with these vines and shrubs in our area that ignoring them is equivalent to ignoring His blessings. We are actually fortunate to have these. I can't imagine my food now without such vegetables.

I remember before when we are still renting. When we do not have something, I would go to places just to obtain chayote tops. Now we could readily pluck leaves of cassava as replacement for camote or chayote.

To summarize here are how cassava tops helped our economic and health aspects as a family:

  • It served as a quick harvest whenever we don't have available vegetable.

  • It helped with our budget.

  • Cassava is known to contain vitamins and minerals so this is helpful with our health. We just have to cook them properly to avoid the toxic content of the plant.

  • My hubby and I both love the leaves so it is a good food to eat together with him.

Another thing I love about cassava leaves is that, it could serve as a fencing material. It easily grows as a shrub and I could use it both for fencing and for food. Wonderful!

Personally, I have experienced an improvement with my sleep ever since I kept eating this food. I believe this could be used as a staple food.

In addition, after some time, you could also harvest the root crops. Same with the leaves, you have to cook this properly to get rid of toxic materials.

Final Thoughts

If I were one who has a backyard and has ideal location for growing these plants, I would have this. It gives economic and health benefits by providing vegetable for the family, improving sleep, and could be used as ornamental plant in the backyard.


Note: I am not a new user here. I just wanted to test my luck again. Hoping I would be able to publish articles that are worth reading. Like in this article, I have given my thoughts about eating cassava leaves. These are true stories from day to day living. For my next articles I will try to cover other topics relevant to our lifestyle and habits.

3
$ 0.06
$ 0.05 from @deedum
$ 0.01 from @Eunoia
Avatar for IsThisIt
2 years ago

Comments

Cassava is also good source of carbohydrates.. Never tried the tops yet but I would love to taste someday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, carbohydrates. Try it! It may taste weird at first but it has to be declared delicious haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago