My metamask has been hacked ($403 USDT)

34 118
Avatar for Infinity
1 year ago

May 7, 2022. No. 237

I certainly have no desire to even write this article today, much less at 5:22 am. But actually, I can hardly sleep. Yesterday around 8:00 pm when I opened my metamask, I realized that all USDT had been withdrawn, my account was literally 0. I thought it was a wallet error, so I closed everything and reopened it, to find the sad reality that I had been hacked.

All my monthly earnings on Pegaxy turned to dust in seconds. Months of dedication and time consumed turned into dust in 3 minutes. Just when the money is most needed, that's when a hacker comes to take everything from you. The poor will always be poor, no matter how hard they try.

I went to polygonscan to see what movements my wallet had made and I find that, in effect, they had been sent to another wallet in their entirety. The hacker sent me from his 1 MATIC account and then somehow got control of mine. In less than 3 minutes, he converted the USDT into MATIC and sent it to his wallet. In the photo, you can see the procedure of what he did.

The hacker's wallet is this: 0x80c8c297d4a0769abc84f44a6fa7a3b99dfa9ef8. Although you can do little, since, although everything is transparent to see the transactions in the blockchain, we could not know who owns that wallet or any other where the money moves to unless he obviously identifies with it.

This same procedure has been carried out on multiple occasions, sending a little money to your wallet and then gaining control of it and emptying it.

Excuse me, but I don't have the energy to continue writing this article. I'm literally very bad right now. It has been a very strong blow and if we take into account my current economic and family situation, it is even worse. Money that was sorely lacking and that an opportunist would steal, just like that in a few minutes.

:(

22
$ 13.66
$ 12.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Pichi28
$ 0.10 from @emily2u
+ 18
Sponsors of Infinity
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Infinity
1 year ago

Comments

No words said can change the situation. Let's try to recover the loss by some other means!!! hugs

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, my, that's horrible! I'm so sorry to hear... I thought Metamask wouldn't be that easy to hack :(

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sorry to hear about this friend. It's so so sad. I wish there is a way to rectify this, sadly there isn't. Sorry mate😥😔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Goodness! I bet this guy is just from your place, he might have accessed your device once.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dunno. My pc has the firewall on. Maybe is a virus. Hackers are smart nowadays. I reinstall my pc now and new metamask wallet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Damn! That's a lot. I didn't know that it is possible...or have you clicked anything or visit other sites?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seems to be the case. Really hard my friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

uff primero lo siento, por eso perdida. Segundo me sorprende y preocupa que sea posible hackear metamask y peor aun no sea claro bajo que mecanismo se hizo, gracias por compartir!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seguramente fue un virus. Gracias

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How is that possible? By any chance, did click any link given by others? That's the only way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seems to be the case. But the antivirus don´t show any virus, nothing. I reinstall my pc now. I also need the change the wallet too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whaaaaatttt! Really sorry to hear about that. All the work an effort gone like that. Painful, very painful

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, in 3 min

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sorry to know about this :( tsk....

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you my friend, for the huge support. Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For a second I thought this was a joke or just a click bait and I will get to see "just kidding" at the end of the article, but it turned out to be all true! Damn! That person must have been very smart to gain access to your wallet that way. Sorry for all you have lost, you will surely get them back in due time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some times I think is a bad dream and the money is still there, but no, it´s not a dream

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really feel so sorry for you and can't even imagine being in such position. God will definitely bless you back

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Man, so sorry for your loss, this is an eye opener.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sorry for your lose David, but how come they have access on your wallet.. maybe you click some links before..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe, sucks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I mean, WTH 😱 that's a huge amount how, how did they do it 😱

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seems a virus

$ 0.00
1 year ago

OMG! I am so sad to read this David 🙈 How could this even happen? It’s mind blowing!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe a virus. It´s the only way. I reinstall the Operating System now.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Bless you, I know how hard you worked for that money. It’s heart breaking to see this happen to you 😰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just saying: Metamask can't be hacked.

  • Either you entered private keys or secret phrases on a website,
  • or you downloaded malware
  • or you gave access of your computer to someone else.

By the way, arent' Pexagy NFTs? What happened to these? He/she stole the NFTs too?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know, maybe malware (I check my computer with antivirus and found nothing). My private keys are not online. The money was on USDT, I don't have any Pegaxy NFT rigth now. The hacker don't enter Pegaxy, because my 10k VIS in the game that I have claim, is there. The hacker just check the polygon network, because I have tokens and a few BCH in Smart BCH and still there. I just moved now my few BCH from metamask to an exchange for more security, 2FA, withdrawal key, and email confirmation.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Good luck man, stay safe. Sucks it happened to you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks. I'll try to get over this. But it will be at least 4 months of hard work here on the platforms to recover that lost money. I am unable to sleep. Some people are just bad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I felt the pain and madness in your writing, but that's understandable. Whoever did this has no conscience at all. Truly evil!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

:(

$ 0.00
1 year ago