My grevious mistake

9 32
Avatar for Immaculata
1 year ago

Have you ever done something before an later comes back to regret your actions? If yes, then you can certainly guess how I feel now.

Today I decided to rearrange the house and maybe get rid of old or unwanted stuff when I came across one of my old art book. I was instantly filled with regrets the moment I started flipping through the pages of that book.

I had the drawing book when I was still in high school. My school was not one that taught fine arts. I just had a natural talent for drawing. I remember having lots of drawing books at my disposal because I literally made sure to draw something everyday. I was obsessed other maybe in love with art. Not to be boastful but I always thought myself a good artist. I just needed a little training to perfect my use of the pallette. It's so sad I gave up on the dream.

I wanted to study fine arts after I left high school but the dream was vehemently kicked against by my loved ones. I was told it was a going to be a waste being an artist in a country where art is not even appreciated. I would be a pauper. I was encouraged to pick something better to do. In the long run, I chose to study Law. Well I'm in love with my career choice but I just wish I hadn't given up on drawing. Maybe I could become a lawyer artist.

My worst mistake was listening to these excuses. Not listening to myself to not abort such beautiful dream. But I still try to see positivity in my giving up artwork. Maybe if I had pursued fine arts, I wouldn't have had the opportunity to study Law. I mean it is such an interesting thing to do as well. At least in the near future I can boast of the number of skills I'm able to pull off. How many lawyers can draw, sew clothes and still practice at the same time. This is just me trying to reduce the level of regret in me. Perhaps I will pick up my artwork again. Only then will I be at peace with myself.

I know I must have been lucky enough to be blessed with a crafty mind. All the skills I have today were products of my curiosity. Nobody taught me. I can sew different things like clothes and bags, and I'm also a beadmaker. I only had to watch one or two DIY YouTube videos to perfect those skills. It's helped my financial life. Now imagine if I had diligently included being a fine artist to the list. If I had just perfected that art, maybe I would also have had another source of income. This is exactly where my regret comes from. The money might even be enough to finish Law school.

Turn your phone around

Even though I did give up on my dream of being an artist, the spirit never left me. I still find myself drawing in my notebooks. I'm still good in it. Maybe I just need to start again. I will try and perfect my skills but I just regret not doing it earlier.

I know that there is absolutely no need crying over spilt milk, so I'm going to be as fast as a flash of lightening in reviving this old dream of mine. I'm still young enough to kick some ass in the drawing world. Almost all the pictures in the drawing book was still in progress when I gave up. I will strive to bring them to perfection.

My candid advice to everyone of this readland family is to never give up on a dream you have. Or maybe of you really want to give up, look towards the future and see what your dreams would look like if accomplished. Maybe then you'll never give up. Only give up if the dream have nothing to offer you in the future.

6
$ 2.92
$ 2.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Ashiin
+ 1
Avatar for Immaculata
1 year ago

Comments

Wow, you were so talented in drawing. But it's never too late nor too early,, you can still achieve your dreams, it's all depends on you, not on anyone else, the moment you determine to do it, you will do it.. I am so excited for coming around your amazing page.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's my pleasure friend..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

First, let me say that I've always respected artists. The ability to draw is one thing I wish I was born with so that I can build on but I appreciate arts and it's just not in me to learn how to draw.

If anyone can also speak about regret, I can. I gave up my dream of playing football because my dad kicked against it and now I can't even do it again because age is no longer on my side. It's a wasted dream. What we need to succeed in this life has been given to us but we just manage to stress ourselves unnecessarily in this life.

I am happy you are doing Law and since you still have passion for it, please take some online courses if you can. Nigeria has gotten to the level where you need to develop every talent you can.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really appreciate your advice. Thanks for coming by

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's an honour. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can still pursue that love in artworks if you want. 🤗 You have such a good hand and talent. Goodluck om your journey.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for the encouragement

$ 0.00
1 year ago