Own your words.

2 14
Avatar for Iamjohn
1 year ago

We are responsible for our words. Unfortunately, when something goes wrong, some of us decide to back flip. I have seen this so many times that I lose my respect for some of the very respected persons. People use words like a joke. They don't think that words have power, the power to build someone or to destroy.

Also, in the back of our minds, we think that we will take a side if something goes wrong. You will see how messy the situation goes when we choose to act like this. I have seen a married get ruined because of false promises. From bottom to top, from a very common man to politician; no one owns their words anymore. It became a common practice.


image source

I can give you an example from my life.

One of my close friends shared a secret with me, many years ago. I didn't tell to anybody as promised. But somehow it got leaked and he charged me that I did it. I swear that I didn't. After arguing for hours, showing him my proof, he finally realized it was not me but another person with whom he shared the same secret. I owed my words and I was very strong on my point. But you see, what went wrong. My friend didn't understand the weight of his words and trusted someone who doesn't own it.

It happens in family life, in the workplace, in politics; everywhere.

I say, why take the opposite stand when you already said something for the other side. Words shouldn't be flipped like that. This is the reason our society became like this. We cheat, we do misdeeds thinking we will come up with something and cover up the situation. But wait, remember; words are powerful. Maybe not today but someday, somehow people come to realize what the other person said is wrong. It ruins relationships, man.

It's better you own your words, you become responsible for what you said. If you have done something wrong approve it. If that's impossible for some reason, try your best to follow the highest ethical standard. But if you choose to own your words your hands will be burden free forever.

Promise.

Thanks for visiting my blog.

4
$ 1.38
$ 1.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jento
$ 0.02 from @LykeLyca
+ 1
Sponsors of Iamjohn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Iamjohn
1 year ago

Comments

It's always good we are careful with our words by doing this, we will have the confidence to own our words but if we just talk anyhow, there will be so words that we can own cos it will lead to the unexpected.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's what I believe. Unfortunately, this practice seems like an old school thing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago