Face-to-face Teaching Internship in the Midst of Pandemic

4 70
Avatar for Iamhasmin
2 years ago

Face-to-face internship is the traditional way of deploying the students for on-the-job training. Because of covid 19, schools implement flexible learning to adjust in the new normal setting.

It is 2 years since the pandemic started and many citizens are vaccinated. So, schools are now re-opening for face-to-face classes for places with low threats of covid 19.

Luckily, in our region, most schools are now open and accepted practice teachers for their schools that’s why, we student teachers got the chance to be deployed in nearby schools and to have a face-to-face teaching internship.

I am happy that I was deployed in my former school during senior high school. We are deployed specifically in the Arts and Design Department which is correlate to our degree program. On the first day of our internship, the school warmly welcomed us in their school and have a mini tour in their department. I have nostalgia while walking by the building where our old room was. The school is far different during my school years, it was more developed and equipped.

On the first day, we meet with our cooperating teacher and she was very kind. She also shares her experiences when she was applying in DepEd and I really feel amazed by her perseverance and determination.

As she said, she took the licensure examination for teachers thrice, and her degree course during college is Development Communication which is far from education. I realized here that there are things that comes in your life unplanned in the first place but God has His plan for you.

My cooperating teacher is a visual artist and it is really need in the arts and design department. So, as a culture and arts education student, I wondered what specific skills do I have or my strength do I have. I know how to draw but not excellently, I know how to dance but not that good, I know how to act but not that well. And during this time, I think that I should choose one specific skill where I will develop and practice more and more for it to become my strength.

What I observe also is the teachers there are really competitive, smart and skilled. They possessed professionalism in their field.

And as an intern, I look up to them with high respect and adoration. And promised myself to not disappoint them since they expect that we, the intern is smart and skilled in our chosen program. In the first four days of my internship, I feel pressured and at the same time feeling delighted as well for it is happening to me now, like I am taking the second step of becoming a teacher.

4
$ 0.23
$ 0.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Chelle18
Sponsors of Iamhasmin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Iamhasmin
2 years ago

Comments

Asa ka nag practise teaching dae? Himoo jud nga determination ang mga experiences sa mga successful teachers nga na meet nimo .Go lang para sa future og amping mo kanunay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa senior high te,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have fun in your internship. For sure you will learn a lot about many things from them. I've been there once, it's stressful but it's all worth it because of everything you learned from them, you'll get to use them every day once you're already in the service.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, true ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago