Quaranfling

2 10
Avatar for IamEm
Written by
2 years ago

As the pandemic starts, there are protocols that we need to abide for the sake of our safety. Due to the limited interactions, we are bound with our gadgets especially smart phones. We tend to find adventure and explore the world without compromising our health. And even find someone we can share the boredom with. And we are introduced to a millennial term "quaranfling". According to Urbandictionary, quaranfling is an online dating encounter that begins during quarantine, used as a means to fill the dating void, and ends before quarantine is over.

Sharing to you my very own quaranfling moment.

How it all started?

One day, I was at my colleagues' office when their squad suddenly approach us, they opened up something about the trouble they had the other night with some bunch of teenagers. I was just there listening attentively, I was giving my full attention to my crush, admiring him as he shared the story about how things went out of the line. Everything he did just looks so cute that it made my heart flutter and want to hold him, when the annoying guy just ruined the moment by interrupting me. Well, I let that pass and continue listening to all of them who shared.

Since that day, every time I happened to bump on them I keep on checking on them as well, asking some updates about their issue. Hopefully, to get a chance to talk to my crush as well. However, this annoying guy just keep on ruining the moment. He even borrowed my phone once and took some selfie then telling me to keep it because he look very stunning on it. Little did he know that I deleted it right away, I just couldn't have pictures of him in my phone unless you know.

Just before they got some update about their issue, COVID-19 came in and everything paused. Everything changed. All municipalities were locked down. I got bored, and so I took some challenges including that annoying guy's fitness challenge. The challenge was to get fit in just two weeks, he's skinny so he needs to gain muscle and abs at least within the short span of time meanwhile I need to lose weight as I was and am voluptuous. The consequences were whoever lose the challenge would either dance infront of the administration building or a hug in every meeting. I wasn't taking that challenge seriously, thinking that it's obviously for fun. Two weeks got extended, and he's been updating me about his progress via messenger sending me his workout pictures, video of him doing exercise. I never thought those dares would lead us to talking about personal interests, life and lovelife. Our connection just got deeper each day, and I would be lying if I would tell you that I never get excited whenever I see his name popped up in my phone. We even got endearment. I was so overwhelmed with the feelings I had that time. Though it's not necessary, we tend to ask each other's permission. I was just happy with that set-up thinking soon we'll get the chance to talk to each other personally and discuss the thing that we had at that moment.

One night, he told me that something came up and that he cannot chat me for a while. I was considerate enough to give him the little time and space he needed. I started to trust him. I believed he won't do anything that would hurt me and my feelings.

Then days passed by, I was just scrolling in my Facebook, partly stalking him cause I missed him, when I saw a romantic post from a stranger tagging him. And since women are naturally a super spy, I tried to dig deeper until I saw many more sweet posts. Wanting to satisfy my curiousity I kept on scrolling down til I read the caption "my missing piece" with their photo together. Immediately, I messaged him asking him about that girl. I straightforwardly confront him via chat. But no words from him. Maybe I was just overthinking, I don't know but I waited patiently for his response. And it took him months typing his reply. His reply made my heart skip a bit, I've longed for that response. Yet, just got disappointed. The girl I asked him about? She was his girlfriend and she's pregnant. That was confusing, but I manage to reply this line "Be a good father."

What did I do next?

Obviously, I moved on. But before that moving on phase happened I really confronted him, asked him about how I end up being the third party, unknowingly. That was funny, because I really despise people who are relationship wrecker, but it was like I just ruined a relationship. That was actually traumatic. So, I confronted him, and wish him luck with his life's new chapter. Funny right? But while wishing him well in his new journey tears won't stop falling from my eyes.

The Epic Closure

After that, I decided to live my life as if nothing happened. More than a year after that, I received a friend request. And guess who? Yesss, it's him. I laugh as I accepted his request because it reminded me of my "quaranfling serye". I chatted him first, but messaging him was a wrong move. I message him to somehow clear the air but he started reminiscing the past, which is weird because he has a family now. He started uttering the words "what if this, and that". And as I am aware this time, I blocked his attempts the moment I sense it and ignore his messages forever.

The lesson:

Making a mistake once is tolerable but repeating the same mistake is unacceptable. You've learned your lesson, in life you cannot let your emotions rule over you. There's more in this life, we existed because we have a purpose we may not know it yet but for sure the reason why we are bhere is not to become the extra. In God's time, we will meet our God's gift but for the meantime let's use this time to prepare ourselves. We shouldn't settle for less, for we are the children of God and we are valuable as God values us.

Thank you for reading. Keep safe everyone.

Sponsors of IamEm
empty
empty
empty

2
$ 0.08
$ 0.05 from @ThisisGrace21
$ 0.03 from @ARTicLEE
Sponsors of IamEm
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for IamEm
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I hope he is happy now that he as a family. He should focus on them. Good for you for blocking him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truth. The mistake is not a mistake anymore when it is repeated again and again. We must learn our lesson in every mistake so that it won't be repeated again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago