Our Way of Celebrating Haloween

8 20
Avatar for IamAshrone
2 years ago

October 27, 2021, is Wednesday already in the middle of the week. And the news that goes is the cemeteries will be closed on Friday so we need to visit it as soon as possible to clean and paint the tomb of our beloved who departed from this Earth. And that soonest is this morning I had to wake up early to go there with my mom and my uncle.

So have a blessed day to all of us and hope everything will turn out fine on this hump day. November is nearing and it is time for Halloween. But in my country, we do not have a lavish celebration. We have our way of how we celebrated it.

Celebrating Halloween

We Filipinos celebrate Halloween differently we do not have to carve lanterns out of pumpkins, we do not have trick or treats for the children, or apple bobbing. Though in some parts we were adopting the trick or treating for the kids and having a fun party on Halloween.

Filipinos celebrate Halloween differently we have flickering lights of candles, lots of prayers, flowers, and groups visiting the cemetery this is how I grew up this is the tradition I carry up to now.

The tomb of my late grandma and aunt I have cleaned and painted this morning and say my prayers for them

When we are still free and there is no pandemic in our country I remember clearly that we need to wake up early when November 1 strikes need to be dressed up and have breakfast quickly for we need to go to two cemeteries and the other is far from home so we need to travel for an hour to get there.

Flowers growing around the vicinity of the cemetery

When I was a teenager it was three cemeteries we need to go on, one for my grandfather on my mother's side and one for a grandmother on my mother's side also, and for my grandfather on my father's side. So you see I need to follow my elders to visit these tombs every year.

The cemetery where I have visited

Now that the pandemic hits my country it is prohibited to go to cemeteries in large crowds and before November 1 comes cemeteries were close so we made sure that before it closes we go there and clean and pray for our departed loved ones. This is now how we celebrated Halloween. No large crowd not like before that we could even have chitchat with another visiting relative like a mini-reunion. No parties either no trick or treat for kids in malls. We may be influenced by Western tradition but still, the simple tradition most Filpino follow prevail.

Going to the cemetery is a most Filipino tradition that is still followed by many. Like me, I still do this every year this is how I show that I still care and miss them and most of all I love them even they are not here with us physically. This is how Halloween is celebrated.

So thank you very much dear friends for always finding time to read and visit my humble article.

Thank you to my awesome sponsors (old and new). You might want to check out their articles and I can assure you that all of their works are worth reading. Bless us all always and be safe.

All Rights Reserved @IamAshrone 
Lead image from unsplash.com
All photos were mine unless stated.

5
$ 3.41
$ 3.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @TengoLoTodo
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 1
Sponsors of IamAshrone
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for IamAshrone
2 years ago

Comments

When I lived in Spain this what they would do too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think sir this is what Filipino get from Spaniards the tradition of visiting the tomb of the departed loved ones.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I think it is.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am happy that you are on of the many Filipinos who remember their dead. Its a wonderful tradition d For me to remember those who have gone before us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Good morning thanks for finding time to visit my article. Thank you for your comment. It is the tradition that I grew up so I still do this every year.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Walang anuman po. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow That’s a good way of telling them that you remember them I hope they all Rest In Peace Happy Halloween 😍

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wishing them to be restful now I do not want them to be disturbed. Happy Halloween too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago