1990 Earthquake : The Experience I can Never Forget

16 35
Avatar for IamAshrone
2 years ago

Earthquakes are one of the most destructive wrath of our mother nature alongside with thypoons. It kills lives, destroy properties, and can leave you with nothing. The saddest part is losing people you love. My experience on this catastrophic event happen way back in 1990 when i was on grade 6 in my last year on elementary.

Before i start my story let me first greet all of you a blessed day. Enjoy your weekend, have fun and relax for awhile.

July 16, 1990

Image of the collapsed building from Philvolcs

It was just an ordinary day for a student like me, wake up early so not be late on school, since our new home is far i need to be up at 5 o'clock in the morning to prepare. I need to pack our food for our lunch alongside with my sister. At exactly 6:15 am we are waiting for our tricycle service to fetch us for school because at 7 am flag ceremony is held on the school ground.

7:30 A.M.

After the flag raising ceremony i immediately went back to my classroom. Prepared for my first subject. Glad it was always our adviser who started our day in our classroom. On this day one of my classmate is celebrating her birthday and invited us to their place which i refuse i told her need to be home early and do not want to be late. And we continue our daily school activities. Our first morning session ended at around 11:50 in the morning and i just waited for my classmate to go home for their lunch break, me , i had my lunch inside our room and took a nap after.

1:30 pm

Our Afternoon class started and sadly our teacher for the subject just left some activity for us to finish, she told us that they are having their meeting. So all of us were happy after finishing our activity we went outside our classroom. Play a little and transfer to another room for our next class but the best part all of our afternoon class were suspended because all of our teachers had meetings. So i just waited for my sister until she finished her class. And at the same time one of my brother, a kindergarten, this time is in afternoon class my mother always wait for him to finish so we were going home together.

3:00 pm

It was afternoon break but since i do not have class anymore i am just sitting beside my mother waiting patiently for my siblings to finish their class. The kindergarten will be finish at 30 minutes more and my younger sister is having her last subject for the day, her next subject is cancelled because of meetings. So after waiting for them to finish i just played a little with my classmates. At around 3:30 they are done we are waiting for a tricycle ( the most common transportation here in my country) , we are travelling on the road when suddenly we feel the earth tremble, my mom just duck inside the tricycle together with my two siblings and i just slump on ths backride of the motor and our driver duck on the ground, when i open my eyes i saw glass was raining from up above. We were on the street when there is tall building. After that shake our driver immediately drove fast away from that area for the fear of the building would collapse. As we are on the road we passed a school building totally brought to the ground. I can hear people shouting from a distance and crying too. Our jeepney terminal was at the central market and that is were heading. I can feel still little shakes of the ground. As on the road i see many trees was down, post of electric wires, and some houses that was also affected by the recent earthquake. On our house was my elderly grandmother who is resting on a chair, my aunt and my youngest brother who is still in his hammock. According to her the window frames not yet installed fall down directly to where my grandma who is resting because of the divider it does not hit my grandmother and the hammock support snapped and my youngest brother fell together with it glad no one is hurt. Then a neighbor is crying according to her, one of her children is in the school who collapsed but after 10 min the daughter arrived she cut her classes and watch movie that is why she is safe from the destruction.

This is what happened to us on the day of the earthquake who happened on July 16 1990 at exactly 3:36 o'clock in the afternoon. Many lives were taken, buildings and properties were destroyed. But i am thankful that we were saved from the wrath of our mother nature.

Image from facebook.com The Liwag Building who collapsed and took many lives of students and teachers

After a year of the earthquake some drivers who pass on that area said that they can still hear shouts and plead for help. And if you pass and eat on that place do not play with your food they said in the blink of an eye your food is transferred on other area.

Authors Thought

Earthquakes is the shaking of the surface of the Earth resulting from a sudden release of energy in the Earth's lithosphere that creates seismic waves. This natural phenomenon occurs in our planet some are destructive and some you cannot feel.

This earthquakes causes so much damages, not just on property but also emotionally to people, losing someone you love on earthquakes brings trauma, and having near death experience on quakes brings trauma to the person too.

I cannot really forget that earthquake who strikes here on our place when i was still young, our classes was suspended indefinitely, many places in Central and Northen Luzon has announce lockdowns due to landslides in their provinces specially in Baguio who is hit badly also. Until now when i am experiencing earthquakes, specially in Taiwan when i worked, i cannot control my tremble for the fear of seeing another building collapsed in front of me.

So this is it my dear friends. This is what i recall from my memory, from one of the most destructive earthquake happen in my place. Thank you for reading again and may God Bless us always.

All right reserved @IamAshrone 
Lead image is from philippines
news agency
Proper credits were given already

Thank you once again to my lovely sponsors here on read. Bless you all.

6
$ 2.16
$ 1.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @lovejoie
+ 2
Sponsors of IamAshrone
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for IamAshrone
2 years ago

Comments

nakakatakot ang earthquake tlaga sis. HIndi pa ako nakaexperience ng earthquake tlaga sis mga earth shakes lng pero napakasaglit. That time nangyari tong eartquake sis nasa Cebu pa ako nun HIgh School ako neto noon. Sobrang devastating tlaga tong natural disaster na to. Praying huwag naman maulit to.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes sis wag na siyang mangyari ulit. Madami na naman ang maapektuhan pag lumindol pa ng malakas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko tuloy yung kuwento ng teacher ko na nakaranas rin ng lindol na iyan Tapus ang nakakatawa pa yung asawa ng pinsan ko birthday niya din pala nun haha Yung magblow kana ng candle pero lumindol bigla haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Memorable talaga yung day ano bday din iyon ng classmate ko tapos biglang lumindol kumakain daw sila bigla umuuga buong bahay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Para akong kinalabutan ako habang nagbabasa.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Naku sis kung alam mo lang grabe talaga yung iyak na madidinig mo nung araw na lumindol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw it on the news an sit trembles in Manila too, very strong. But I think there are lots of casualties sin cabanatuan and Baguio. I remember Hyatt Hotel which has ghost roaming after a year it happened

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes here in my place and in baguio were the ones hit badly by that quake. A year of that incident the building that collapsed and many died had ghost too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakaka takot maka encounter ng earthquake kht matagal na e2,dko pa naranasan in person pro sa kwentonpa lng super nakakatakot na

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hello sis kita mo nakhide n naman sa akin comment mo. Matatakot ka nalang talaga sis sa taiwan ilang beses ako nkaexperience ng lindol madaling araw bigla babagsak gamit mo sa ulunan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe, I had goosebumps while reading. I had a traumatic experience din sa earthquake. Nakakatakot talaga kapag kalikasan na ang magagalit. Walang makakapigil. At thank God na safe kayo at yung family mo.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes po very grateful na nakaligtas on that quake that hit on our place. Upto now pag naaalala ko po yun naiiyak nalang ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ingat lang po palagi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same to you po always be safe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will never forget that 'cause it was my birthday!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kabirthday mo pala sissy yung classmate ko din nung elem..😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago