Being a good child amidst distractions in the university

10 22
Avatar for Honey_bch
1 year ago

Checking through my page, you will discover that I've started this university series for a while now and I will like to be focusing today on the several kinds of distractions in the university and how to handle them and still maintain the good girl/boy you are from your parents house.

It's no longer news that there have been so many bad happenings in the universities of recent, taking a deep look at the causes of these happenings, we can say some of these things happened as a result of distraction from the ultimate reason they were in the university in the first place. For instance;

There was this particular news that surfaced recently, it is the story of a guy who allegedly took drugs in order to have 11 hours marathon s*x with his girlfriend, they both agreed to it and now they are both dead because they couldn't both bear it I supposed. Imagine this kind of stupid thing, how can the both of them just decide to die all in the name of pleasure, it is such a pity! You can clearly see that in this case, it is distraction that caused their untimely death, if they have focused on the main reason they came into the university, they wouldn't have both been dead by now.

There are series of distraction and intimidation in the university today, thanks to @Olasquare for bringing my attention to it in one of my comment section. Distractions are meant to happen and even sometimes, it can lead us into the state of despair and we just feel like we are worthless, imagine seeing your friends with different kinds of iPhone and it looks as if you are the only one still using Android phone among them, there is no doubt that you will feel intimidated especially when they start snapping with their phones, they might even want to introduce you to one of their internet fraudster boyfriend so they can link you up to their friends, you have a very big role to play to refuse this kind of offer, you should not let all these get to you, be able to stand your ground. Let us take a look at some of the reasons why people fall through distraction;

  • Excessive love for money

  • Greed and covetousness

  • Discontentment

  • Bad companies

  • Undefined goals

  • Earthly pleasure and satisfaction

All these above points revolve around the last point which is earthly pleasure and satisfaction. Everyone who is looking to derive earthly pleasure and satisfaction in university should be able to work tirelessly for it, majority of people does not want to work but they want to enjoy life, it's not done! Let's also take a look at the number of things distraction can lead to:

  • Rituals

  • Prostitution

  • Kidnappings

  • Internet frauds (Yahoo Yahoo in my country 😁)

  • Robberys

  • Killings

  • Cultism

It's getting too rampant these days with the series of death that is happening, people are now dieing like chicken. Can't people just focus on their real goal and strife to achieve it, yes I know the country is in a state of despair but we don't have to loose hope, even children nowadays want to make quick money, we really have a lot of things to do. I've also have my own share of distraction and I will be sharing below.

During my first semester in the university, I met with a girl who live in the next flat to my flat, she this reserved babe, she breathes wealth but I always thought she was from a wealthy family. She was nice and so we got talking, anytime I'm bored, I will go over to hers and vice versa, it was going so well and I really appreciated our friendship. One day, her mom came visiting and looking at the way her mom is dressed, you can tell that she's not really the person I think she is because she was dressed like someone from an humble background. From that day, I started feeling suspicious, I start to imagine where she gets all the money she spends from.

Somehow, I got to know that her and her friends were into runs, they normally see all this big politicians who in turn gives them plenty money, they would occasionally tell me to join them that I will get to meet great people in the society who can easily help me with anything I need in the country. They will buy the latest phones, human hairs, clothes, shoes and so many other things. I almost got distracted with these things but one thing that held me was my defined goals, I knew I have so much to achieve in the future if I don't let their attitude get to me. So want I did was simple, I pray alot for God's upholding, I moved totally out of the house and I avoided her completely. Through this, I was able to overcome the distraction.

With my own story above, I hope I've been able to encourage someone who is thinking of compromising and I don't also want to list the things you can do in order to overcome distraction because you have different approach to different forms of distractions so just look for what works for you and make do of it. God will help us!

All rights reserved honey_bch copyright 2022

Lead image

Hello friends, thanks for stopping by and do not forget to subscribe, I will see you in my next post. I love you ❤️

9
$ 1.05
$ 0.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @Aimure
+ 4
Sponsors of Honey_bch
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Honey_bch
1 year ago

Comments

You definitely made the best decision by not going out with them. The thing is sooner or later, they will come to regret it. And looking at the state in which Nigeria is now, they can become a victim of ritual killings and abduction. So stay true to yourself, the sky is your starting point👍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly my point too! With all that is happening in the country, girls are still getting involve with things like this .. it is such a pity .. anyways thanks for the words of encouragement

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think if young adults can build a resistance for peer pressure, I would be easy to them to handle these distractions.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very true, temptation from peer pressure shouldn't be allowed

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Such a bold decision moving out of the flat just to get away from the ephemeral satisfaction.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was indeed a very bold step, had to sacrifice so much

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a very wise decision. It's not very easy to be able to defeat temptation but if one can defeat it, the person is strong and bold. There are too many temptations out there and only God can save us it. Have a nice day😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can tell you that it was not easy, I just took that bold step

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes the temptation that one faces out there is tough enough for someone to comprise, but God helping us, we always find way to come out.

When I was in school, almost gave bribe(sorting) to a lecturer for Mark but I found my way out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow.. that was another huge temptation for students

$ 0.00
1 year ago