My Beautiful Namibia | My first love | 🕉️♾️🕉️

2 45
Avatar for Hermitworldwide
3 years ago

It's rare to find people who would want to go traveling. Especially all around the world. It's a very good thing to expose oneself to various environments. This is the order of growth. That one must go places. See things. Do things. Make different things. This is in order to grow the stable genes in us. Different conditions around the world will effect the body and mind differently. It grows us to much broader understanding and much keener mindsets.

One way of living oneself fully is to devote oneself to traveling. In this article I will cover my top Traveling Destinations as well as the basic plan to get there.

We will start with my country, this is where I was born. It's a beautiful South West African country. It's more arid and barren but that's what makes it beautiful. My country is the only place in the world where the ocean meets the desert. We have the oldest plant in the world the welwitchia mirabilis. We have the largest population of cheetahs most of which are house in the cheetah conservation fund of Namibia just outside otjiwarongo. Amongst other unique features, we have the highest dunes in the sossusvlei, dune 7. We have so much more. So heres the basic plan to tour my country. As places I have already been. I have practically been all around the country and the world too but this basic plan is to do it in simplicity. Without rush just spending a bit more time than I did before. To cover these entities more definitely I will write about the entities themselves rather than places to stay at.

Sossusvlei Dunes

This is the name given to our most beautiful part of the Namib desert. There's a part of the Namib desert where the dunes are golden red. They say it's really hot but we think it's not too hot, you just have to practice caution when stealing on the dunes. The most beautiful of these are not exactly sossusvlei but they are in Henries bay. What's unique about these dunes is that they are directly connected to the ocean. The sea splashes into the dunes and this is the only place in the world that this happen. I found this to be the most mesmerizing view of all time. When I was there I was on a personal journey in search for work and healing. I stumbled upon the salt crystals that lay atop of the dunes. This gave the dunes a very unique features. This phenomenon is only seen in our country. Obviously I will get to take some pictures to write a better update version of this article. Which I will write more specifically as it happens place by place in no particular order as anything could happen. I just keep fueling the dream, the goal and the vision and keep alive and healthy by feeling good. What's more to these dunes that flow into the sea, they go on for miles and miles along the stretch of the Atlantic Ocean. All the way to Terris bay but of course the landform changes as it does. To the east of these majestic dunes is rocky mountains. Some of which form our arid rocky mountains desert, going northwards. All the way to the Kunene which is the region up top forming the western corner of the country. In the Kunene lies the beautiful Kunene river with some of the freshest although not cleanest in terms of debris and dirt, this river does not house so much microorganisms. If you end up traveling there,rest assured that it's somewhat safe to drink the water there.

Coming back from the Henries dunes towards the south. We have our most beautiful Swakopmund. Filled with, well, houses and other man made stuff but the ocean here is really fresh. It's the freshest part of our ocean. The Henries ocean is fresh but there's something else about the Swakopmund ocean that just spells love and appreciation to nature. It's both rocky, sandy, and also has a section of pebbles. So its a very beautiful combination of the beaches. Going more southwards, we have the desert dunes that separate Walvis and Swakopmund. In these dunes are the highest dunes that are more close to Walvis than they are to Swakopmund. In these dunes is where skydivers drop. Incase you are interested in skydiving into the Namib desert, look them up on line. There's a lot of houses and villas between Swakopmund and Walvis bay. A part of this area is called langstraand meaning long beach. It is here that we have the flat beach with the dunes about 1-3kilometers away from the sea. It's a good place to live or rent because there's not much noise. It's also luxurious.

Into Walvis bay, I have traveled here a whole lot of times I have lived and worked in Walvis bay. This was during my early years. I always loved it. Had a lot of fun while staying and working in the bay, Walvis bay. The thing I didn't really like about Walvis bay is the smell of the sea, I think it's because of the fish factories. There is this smell of rot and when the sea breeze breezes through, all we smell is the rot. That's on the north part of the bay. Westwards lies the desert and it's beautiful dunes,in case you want to get a good view of this, it'd be really good to land in the Walvis bay airport. You get to see the transforming landscape from up top. But if you got time and money, you can actually hire a plane tour of he desert to get a full view of the dunes and the sea. Moving southwards, we have the flamingo lagoon. If you not into swimming or any of the water activities just the views, then this will be the place for you. It's luxurious so renting or living here is pretty good. It's also not much noise. There are occasional kite surfers surfing on the more surfable part of the lagoon. Westwards of the lagoon is the desert dunes that form the known Namib desert. These stretch out and going down south all the way close to a place called Luderitz. The place where the first Nubian diamonds where found. Namibia is the world 3rd in diamond production and worth. I personally think that we should be first because most of the world's diamonds are ours. Moving southwards we find Luderitz mountainscape. A few miles into the sea lies the famous Luderitz shark Island. This is a site to see. Luderitz is known as a young port but it's industrially coming up fast. There will be a lot more to be offered by this beautiful majestic place.

Stretching even more southwards as the bottom side of our beautiful Namibia is more arid areas in exception of the oranjemund basin where most diamonds are mined. Southwards flows the orange river that flows into the Atlantic from botwasna and south Africa upington side. There's beautiful towns in the south of Namibia. Keetmashoop is the biggest down south, it's dry and arid but the people make most of what they got in terms of growing grapes and other fruits. There's huge farms producing fruits and vegetables near the orange river. There's are tours of these farms. Other wonderfully towns are maltahohe, Gibeon and mariental. That's about the basics of the south of Namibia. I had stayed in keetmashoop during my very young age, before even starting school I think. It was a very interesting time as I remember running away from home only to be found in the highway. I still don't remember why I was running away all packed up.

About the resorts to stay at, there's some really good resorts where one can relax very well in the desert. Places like the solitaire, sosussvlei loadges that are not too expensive. Some camps that have pools to cool off and a place to park the car and camp out in the clear desert. These parts of the desert are more clear than the mountainous desert parts. It's a very beautiful and pristine place to be. As there are desert lions, elephants, oryxes, zebras, wild horses and a lot more animals even the rhinos can be seen on very rare occasions. To paint the picture clear these places are oasis in the dry desert. I will definitely make a whole blog of articles about these wonderful places to better help the world see the beautiful spots of our country. I believe that Namibia is the most beautifully diversified country in the world!

Going a bit northwards from mariental there's other smaller settlements where towards the west are some of our oldest tribes. Again I will get deeper into these as I travel through the parts I'll get to travel. Following the B1 road to Windhoek there is a very beautiful town of Rehoboth. It's dry, naturally but the people make it very beautiful with gardens and green trees, most of which are ever green. I lived in this town for a couple of year during my 3rd grade. I had a lot of fun here. The one interesting thing was the natural Hyder that was to be found just outside the westers part of Rehoboth. It was very fascinating to then younger me. There's also a dam close by Rehoboth that is really big and there's a lot of activities to be done there. Some rentals are also available nearby. There's also a water bar where you have your drink with your feet submerged in the dam water. Moving on comes the capital city, Windhoek which means the wind corner. It's extremely beautiful in terms of infrastructure. No building is higher than a couple of floors maybe the highest building is 20 floors. I never did a survey so there might be higher building but the point here is that Windhoek is placed in a depression between the mountains. So the winds are filtered into the depression and they breeze out. The mountainous landscape is visible although thoughts have it that in the near future more higher building will be erected and from atop these skyscrapers the skyline will be more defined.

Towards the east side of Windhoek lies the Hosea kutako airport which is our international airport. I used it a whole load of time but if you do not want to drive about 30 minutes from the airport into the city, you can choose to land in the Eros airport which is based in the city center. Staying in Windhoek is affordable when traveling through. Pretty much around the country expect to pay from as little as $10 to 1000$ per night. Of course it depends on what class level of traveling you are into. We like the easy life and so we feel good and make it easy not too up top but definitely not on the ground level. But we do begin somewhere to get to the top. On one of these travels of mine I will showcase the presidential suite of one of our top hotels.

Eastwards of the Hosea kutako airport is Gobabis. A wonderful town just a few kilometres from the borders between Namibia and Botswana. It's flat, dry but not too arid as the rain seasons are known to rain this town. Lately there's been more industrialization and constructions making it more visitors friendly to visit and go through on the way to Gobabis.

Northwards of Windhoek about 60 kilometres out is the wonderful Okahandja. The garden town of wonders. There's farms, producing fruits and the gammams oasis hot springs that are open all year long. Better in winter which in Namibia or the southern hemisphere is around April to July. Moving more up north about 200 kilometres from Okahandja is otjiwarongo where the cheetah conservation fun is just a few kilometres outside of otjiwarongo. From there going westwards are the silent mining towns between Swakopmund and otjiwarongo. The more interesting one is the brandberg which is close to omaruru and his, another small mining town. The brandberg is Namibia's highest point above sea level. It's a dream of mine to conquer the highest peak of my country before going for Kilimanjaro, the Alps then the Himalayas. Having played on dune 7 being the highest dunes in the world, I feel confident enough in my ability to climb the brandberg. If you would like to join in, let's plan a road trip, we will have fun. There's a rest camp close to the brandberg called the white lady because of the rock paintings of a white lady that where discovered in the area. A bit more westwards is another resort where you can go zip lining in the desert. I will most certainly cover this one in a seperate article.

Northwards is the Etosha pan and the surrounding areas that are enclosed in the Etosha National Park. This park is the world's 3rd oldest park in the world. It's has about 3 main camps. Namutoni, halali and okaukuejo, they are all excellent to stay at. The difference might be the preference of the few different offers there are. The whole park is filled with wild animals. I had the opportunity to stay in the part for over a week during my teen years as a scout. During this time, there was a full moon, clear skies, we went out into the middle of the pan with guards and we lay there as we viewed the stars and did some meditation. We got certificates for that, the few of us.

"I survived a night in the middle of Etosha Pan, where I let the stars touch my heart and the pan touched my soul"

-Hermitworldwide

This was one of most incredible times of my journey through life. It's very wonderful time to have been in such a wonderful place. Pristine and still being kept in its natural state. Another more specific article is on the way with a much more detailed look into our oldest tourist attraction. It's actually a salt Pan where people from long ago use to fetch salt and traded it around the country for other good.

Eastwards of the Etosha National Park is a beautiful garden town of tsumeb. This place is my birth place, the place the stars chose for me. I love this place. It's also very pristine, small copper town with a big reserve. About 50 kilometres southeastward of tsumeb is grootfontein. This is another garden town which has farms all around it. Actually the whole of Namibia is farm land fenced off except for residential places in town and natural reserves. Grootfontein has the biggest meteor in the world which has since gradually became smaller and smaller as it got chipped away at and it sunk into the ground. The meteor has been one of my favourite entities to have in my journey though life. I love it and I will visit it again . The name is the Hoba Hoba meteorite. I will definitely update more on what and where the Hoba Hoba name came from . Some towns close to grootfontein are otavi and Kombat, Kombat is a small mining communication that is coming back to life. Around this area are a lot of caves. The bigger and more caves are between tsumeb and grootfontein. I didn't get enough conviction to visit these but I will visit them with time. I recall my high school geography teacher going on about how it would be interesting if we had a chance to visit one the caves and see the underground cave lakes. Something like the Mexican kacinotes cinotes. More of what else id like to see with time. One of the best cave lakes that are now exposed are the otjikoto lake and another one that's a few kilometres from the otjikoto lake. The beauty of the revealed cave lakes that collapsed is the many discoveries made in the lake. There are tunnels connecting the lake to the ocean which is about 500 kilometres away. All underground. There a lot of beautiful resorts in the area. A more detail resort hoping article is to follow with time. With more visuals than this.

From tsumeb and grootfontein going northwards is the redline. Which was set up to avoid contamination from foot and mouth disease that was discovered in the uncooked meat. There's more to this story though. The place around the redline is called oshivelo which is the border between northern Namibia and the rest of Namibia. Up north is flat, mostly filled with flood planes and grasslands used for animal farming and homestead farming. The interesting things about the north is the people and how they live. This is because most places are taken for farming, industrial work or reserved for future usage. There are no natural reserves but there are resorts where one can stay while in the flat planes. During the rainy season from December to march, these planes get flooded. To extents that the people will have to move out of the way of the flood. Going more northwards is the borders between Angola and Namibia. There are numerous border posts, probably more than ten of them. Angola is another travel destinations that is too pristine not to have on the bucket list.

As I said before, towards the western corner of Namibia is the Kunene. The flat planes start fading away from Ruacana area going westwards.

On the east side of the top part of Namibia is wonderful traditional farming places in the soft sand forests of Namibia. These are from Enhana to around Divundu areas. Stretching all the way through bwabwata national park that makes up the strip connecting to Latina Milo. I've had the honour to work and live in these areas, the people are very good and this strip is a very good connection or passage to Botswana, Zambia, Zimbabwe and Angola. The rain seasons record the most rain in these areas that's from December to march.

That's the basic cover of Namibia. When traveling through you got the very basics. More details will follow about specific places and I learn more. It's very interesting to know more about my country. My own love before I go on out into the world. I will not only go claim that I'm Namibian but I'll truly be Namibian in the sense that I have explored my country. Knowing what my country has to offer in terms of people and potentials all the different properties. How I can grow my country with love from my own. How my country has been growing me as the country chosen by stars to host me. I love my country , I love my Namibia!

6
$ 2.20
$ 1.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @ptschip
$ 0.05 from @Mavipevi
Sponsors of Hermitworldwide
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hermitworldwide
3 years ago

Comments

After reading this, I just placed Namibia on my vacation list.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. I'm totally honoured. The one article I just updated about Africa is incomplete though it'd be good to plan it out and proceed through a few African countries before going out. I'll update more on my next travels. Thank you so much

$ 0.00
3 years ago