The day I got electrocuted

8 27
Avatar for HerBAE
Written by
1 year ago

I got electrocuted while I was trying to repair the plug. I remember it like it was just the other day.

I was in the kitchen trying to fix one of our old electric plugs. We had a lot of electric plugs that would keep breaking, and I was trying to figure out what was going on. So for some reason, I thought that the problem was that the wires inside were loose, and pulling on them would make them slide back into place.

So, I started yanking inside the wires. It didn't work at first, but then I felt a spark on my finger. Not thinking anything of it, I kept at it; maybe it's not just loose wires, but loose bits of wire as well.

I was still trying to fix the plug when my finger accidentally touched the both pieces of the live wire. Not that it was not a surprise, but the shock I got from it was even bigger than I’d expected.

I had replaced several plugs over the years, but this time was different.

I was determined to get the job done as quickly as possible. I should have switched off the power first but I didn't think about it until after it was too late.

The moment my hands touched the naked wire, electricity went through my finger and up my arm, through my heart, and right into my shoulder. My arms shot upwards like a lightning bolt had struck me! Next thing I knew I was on the floor.

Thank God I didn't try to peel off the rubber part with my teeth, otherwise I could have been badly burnt.The electric current then spread out at shoulder and went down through my left leg and out of my toes. Miraculously, I only lost count of three in that moment because I was knocked to the ground.

Luckily my brother came in that moment. He quickly switched off the power to avoid any further incident (though it was unnecessary) before he came to check up on me.

When mum heard, she came running in a cup of milk and a bunch of bananas in her hands (who told African parents that milk is the first cure for electrocution?). She started feeding me like I was a baby. That was a day I can never forget. Sometimes I still have electricity phobia because of the incident. But now, I'm always careful with the way I handle anything electrical.

If you have experienced something like this, you know exactly how I felt. This is why you should always be very careful around electric wires, especially if you don’t know what you’re doing when it comes to electric repairs.

Closing thought;

While it might be tempting to run your own electric repairs, there are some things that you should leave in the hands of a certified electrician. Trying to repair electrical wiring without the proper knowledge might cause harm to yourself and others.

The same goes for placing your hands inside a fuse box with no gloves on. This can easily result in an electric shock, which is why you shouldn’t do this.

Only let a certified professional handle any electrical repairs. That way, you can be sure that nothing will go wrong when they start working on your electrical wires.

Most accidents can easily be avoided if you take the time to make sure that everything is handled properly by a qualified technician.

Thanks for reading πŸ’šπŸ’š

9
$ 2.80
$ 2.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
+ 4
Sponsors of HerBAE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HerBAE
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I think the only electricity shock I have is that of a refrigerator, I touched a naked opening at the side and I fell down, since then, I've been having phobia dealing with anything electricity πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One who knows nothing about electrical repairs should not touch them so as not to get electrocuted. It is not a fun experience to have

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… I was thrown from the chair to the bed when mine happened. My hand mistakenly touch the iron part when I was playing with the wire of a bulb, I couldn't shout cos who send me is what will end the matter with beating sef πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🀣from chair to bed. It means you should go to sleep. I like that one

Exactly, who send you will be what they'll all be saying

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…I dupe for my life that day

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bro I can imagine how scared you must have felt in that mili seconds

$ 0.00
1 year ago

wahalaaaaa, i know that feeling. i almost pie on body the day i got mine. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have experienced it before. Its horrific for some secondsπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚it happens in a twinkling of an eye. I think that's why they call it a shock.

$ 0.00
1 year ago