Substituting Life

4 12
Avatar for HattyHats
3 years ago

For the longest time I have used illegal drugs and alcohol to drown away my life. I thought it was helping because everything didn't seem to feel as bad or I did not feel at all. I thought it was better to just let go and give up.

I have come to find out that there is beauty in life and every decision you make not only effects you but effects everyone around you.

I was on heroin for over 10 years (6 years sober now). I have just recently stopped drinking heavily. The heroin was the hardest thing to stop. Every morning I would wake up feeling like I was hit by a semi until I got high. I lost a lot of life and love because of the devils blood. I should have died during this life but for some reason I am still here. If I were to try to tell the story the world would not believe me.

The alcohol was not hard to stop. I just do not go out and buy beer anymore lol. A couple days after I stopped drinking I could already see a positive impact on my body and life. I have more energy and I can think straight and hold a decent conversation with loved ones.

My next step is to stop smoking but that is for another article or 2 or 3 or 4 lol.

Now I just write my thoughts and try to find a meaning and purpose in my life. I would rather be helping others instead of just thinking about myself and numbing up.

Life is hard, I know this because I have lived every aspect of life. I have been homeless, I have been on the brink of death, I have lived comfortably, etc. If you just look at it as a way to love and to find meaning in every day. Life will be that much better. Take a second to look at that flower. Take a slow walk and breath in the fresh air.

There is always someone that has it worse then you. It is how you handle the situation which points you in your future. I have never had anything good happen from negative thinking.

Stay strong and free. Life is but a blessing.

Photo by Aliyah Jamous on Unsplash

3
$ 1.15
$ 1.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of HattyHats
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HattyHats
3 years ago

Comments

We all need to toughen up to life's challenges running away from it will not solve it challenges make you strong ,they make you bold, they shapen you to be whatever you want to be

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I believe this. If we do not have challenges we will never become a better person.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Drug addiction is enough to destroy a nation, everyone should refrain from using these drugs and intoxicants, otherwise the consequences will be terrible.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You know some negative things happened but the most important is you coped with this and make it into positive as much as you can

$ 0.00
3 years ago