They don't deserve to be paid. Google should

11 90
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

On Monday I started drafting an article but deleted it because the contents were written out of annoyance and might contain words not reader-friendly

The reason for my ranting isn't farfetched. It's about the state of things in school. The system of education, the way we receive lectures have been influenced greatly by the Lockdown last year.

Need I tell you that various institutions across the country adopted a virtual learning system during the lockdown. At first, everyone thought the Pandemic was going to end in a matter of weeks, but it wasn't to be. Schools have to come up with ways the students can continue learning while at home. Though this decision came very late, it was widely accepted by students who were tired of sitting at home doing nothing. Also afraid of the effect the wasted months can have on the laid-out goal they've planned for themselves.

The Learning management system, popularly called by its acronym LMS was welcomed with both complaints and praises. So many issues were cited but with time students began to adapt to it and also look for ways to make it comfortable for themselves. The effect of this on students was discussed in various publications and seminars but a key issue that wasn't addressed was the effect on the Lecturers.

The possibility that the effect of this system on the lectures was discussed in meetings by the Senate and other decision-making body of each school is not what I can entirely negate or deny. I say this because I spoke with a lecturer that talked about the problems of mobile data for YouTube videos and also organising Zoom classes, the problem with typing lecture notes for students before the pandemic was very easy for them. He also spoke about the problems lecturers will have in explaining some courses to the students with the use of Zoom or the LMS portal of each school.

However, one thing he failed to mention was the aftereffect of these online classes. When I say after effect, I'm not insinuating whether the students will understand or not. What I'm saying is "What happens after the lockdown is over and physical classes are back". If this was discussed, then I must say they've failed at addressing it well.

Currently, most schools are back to having physical classes. Although restrictions are placed on classes with a large attendance. The effect of the online classes is evident on both the students and lecturers.

For the students, it's disappointment about the last results and also not having full knowledge of the previous semester work.

While for the lecturers it's what I call the " Aftermath effect of virtual teaching ". The lecturers are now so used to this method that they enjoy it to the fullest and reluctant to go back to the former system.

I need to explain further how Virtual learning was for some courses/subjects before I go further in stating its repercussion on physical classes (system) which is now back in use.

Imagine having to type the lecture note on short notice for the students, the stress and time it takes to do that. I know it's their job and that's what they are paid to do, but that has never been what they are doing.

In physical classes what lecturers do is to give out materials or Pdfs to students and explain to them. While some lecturers take out time to Dictate to the class. We even have some that combine the two style, that is Dictate in class and give out materials to compliment the notes given in class.

But for virtual learning due to the inability to type or let me look for a "better" excuse; Due to the short notice given to them, Google became the "assistant lecturer". Materials were source from google, some edited while some lecturers don't even bother or didn't care enough to do a little editing.

And when students complain of how the materials shared are either not related to the topic or tough to understand, the reply they give is -"I am here to lecture you and not to teach you".

Image source: Google

Image source

Back to the present day ( Post lockdown), it's surprising to see lecturers still sending materials gotten from google to the class as lecture notes. Isn't it Ironical that the same "Google" these lectures despise and complain of is now their main source and aid to teaching?

Countless times I've listened to tales of how they (lecturers) have to go to the library, source various textbooks, go through various pages just to do an assignment. They never cease to show their discontent about our lazy we are due to the availability of the internet and various search engines. They run it in our face at every given opportunity. Yet this same google is now their best friend.

I'm not against the use of google by these lecturers or any other search Engines. It's a welcomed idea and a win to the students who have been subjected to various backlash for their dependence on the internet for almost everything. The problem I have is the laziness which we are chastised for is now being exhibited by them.

Bulky materials are shared with the class WhatsApp group. Unedited ones at that. All they do is click "ctrl c" and off to the group with a "ctrl v". The rest is left to the students to Sort out themselves. Though classes are now physical, the Ghost of the online classes still roams. And I asked myself "...are they not being paid for their work?", I'm sure you know the answer, but this can only lead to more questions " Why then are they acting this way? Laziness or danger caused by comfort and freedom they enjoyed in previous months".

I won't go into details about how uncomfortable it is for students now. Even some classes are still received online, though hostels are open and physical classes has been given a "go ahead". Now we are back to were we started from- issues of network, data and power supply to charge phone is rising again.

LMS is a Great step for the Educational Sector. In fact it showed us our flaws, where we need to improve and also present to us an alternative in future in case of any activities or pandemic that may hinder or disrupt learning. It should be improved but at the same time the method of teaching should be look into. Perhaps after graduating I will have to write an open "Thank you" letter to Google, YouTube and other helpers of both students and Teachers.

Finally, I say ask myself again " Do they deserve to be paid?, Google should".

Disclaimer: Due to the sensitivity of this topic, I wish to state that this was not written with respect to what is going on in a particular school (no institution was mentioned in the article), neither is it written about a particular lecturer in any department or school.

Lead image:

So sorry for boring you with my rant this morning. It's been weighing me down for some days now and i just feel like pouring it out. I tried as much as possible not to step on toes. Hopefully I didn't🤣

How's learning in your school or country going?

Is the lockdown over? . Are students enjoying the system of teaching?. Drop your answers and observation in the comment section.

Bye for now!🤗🤗🤗

To all of my sponsors "Thank you" and of course @TheRandomRewarder for the constant tips

To my subscribers- kindly do me a favour by clicking on the images of my sponsors. They've got some interesting and impacting articles. Check it out and thank me later.

15
$ 2.97
$ 2.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
+ 7
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

My last year affected a lot with same results. In my region there was 2G network support at the lockdown time. So when I take online classes voice break down occurs many times and even from 27 classes I learnt nothing. After that when I used google lens for help. I found all material from that It was ancient on one side and old research on the other side. When I claimed in my university about the Culprit many were against me. Anyway, we should compile our virtual teaching in more proper way rather than harm by online lectures to students.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really enjoyed it because is what I am also going through also. U pointed out everything that is the problem,which makes me happy. I pray changes is being made to these problems. God bless u sir.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Amen, I pray so too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is absurd and very unprofessional for lecturers to give ambiguous content to students which becomes a barrier to learning. How do you expect engineering and medical students to come with the situation? They really do not deserve the pay, google does.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly! Courses that require complex calculations and rigorous explanations before one can understand shouldn't be taught that way. I pray God touch the heart of our lecturers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really frustrating. I'm not against lecturers using Google,but they should at least do some editing. Add their own details to make it easier for assimilation

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I so much understand the cause of your outburst, though I'm partially glad I graduated before the lock down and online class saga began. Talk about the times students will come online and the network will be so poor. Talk about the subscriptions made daily and at the end of the day, the results are not encouraging (and this basically being as a result of the system being adopted) Not only that, coming back to class, and still facing more or less issues. Just keep going strong.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly! The result are not encouraging at all. The fact that it's online classes we received didn't make them pity us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These days, it's very hard to find educators who are as committed to educating the young as they were in the past when resources were not on our fingertips. Yes, you're right, many have become lazy. I hate teachers who keep assigning students to report on topics all the time. It makes me think they don't want to teach and just let the kids find out things for themselves. Where is creativity? Where is dedication? And it's very, very sad. Why do we even wonder over the quality of graduates given the quality of mentors?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

One can get trained by Google and YouTube video's in any choosen profession or career

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes sir, everything we need is right there at our fingertips

$ 0.00
2 years ago