Fear of Failure: Motivation

13 88
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

You should never allow fear to reign in your heart, never give fear an inward sympathy- so we were taught. Fear is seen by many as the catalyst to one's failure. Once you accommodate a little fear or doubt in your heart you are already on the long downhill to failure. But what if I tell you ,you can draw motivation from your fears.

Motivation can be said to be the reason why we do things, the reason why we don't quit even when we are failing at it, or when things turn sour. We can draw motivation from anyone or anything around us, in fact we can be our own source of motivation.

I'm tempted to make this about my motivation on this platform, about the people that motivate me and the other factors , but I won't. I will make this all about my day to day activities, what keeps me going each day, my extra oil and inspiration.

Currently with the situation of things in the country, to say people are tired is an understatement, the prices of goods and services has increased drastically, yet the salary paid to workers remains the same. The driver on the road who has a certain amount to deliver and also a family waiting for him at home, the teacher whose salary is not even up to his monthly expenditure, the policeman expected to run after thieves and robbers with an empty stomach, what keeps them going?

The word fear comes to mind when I think of all these , but as I said earlier, Fear is seen as a taboo, it's something you shouldn't allow at all, and If it happens that fear comes in ,try as much as possible to hide it, tell no one, in fact if possible deceive yourself that it doesn't exist. But fear is like our shadow, it appears in our Darkest hour, when things get gloomy and not as planned, it's inevitable. Fear appears with it's brothers ; doubt and disbelief. Why not just turn what is expected to be a problem into source of inspiration and motivation.

Photo credit: unsplash.com

Fear of being Average

You've heard of the saying "Jack of all trades, master of..." what ends it depends on you. I don't want it to be "none". I easily get attracted to various things, so it was no surprise when back in high school I was interested in the Three departments, I did the Three in the first part of high school and I performed well in the Three, I was back to where i started, having to choose between the Three, the plan was to do the 3 and the one I pass the most will be my field, never knew I was creating more problem by doing the 3 because I perform almost at the same level in the 3.

What helped in making the final decision was the fear of not being an average in any of the field prompt my final decision and I must say it's been one I don't regret.

Nothing hurt more than knowing you could have done better, regret leaves a bitter taste in ones mouth. The zeal not to later have regret over any endeavour of mine has been a driving force. Be it academics or any other field, so far you've started, give it your very best. Even when things are not going well,when others are complaining, the fear of being called a failure or average should make you give it another shot and this time around give it your all.

Fear of disappointing those who trust me

I mentioned so many people going about their daily activities even with the hard state if affairs in the country and cruel situation they face daily can only be fuel by the responsibilities they have waiting for them at home and fear of disappointing them.

I can't say I have some major responsibilities at the moment, but the fact that so many people believe in me and even some looking up to me has kept me going, sometimes the thoughts of quitting do come to mind, it sometimes look as if I can no longer drive on but whenever I think of these people I strive on and endure the storm with the assurance that it will be over soon.

Fear of failing myself

This is my biggest source of motivation, I don't want to fail myself, the expectations and goals I've set for myself are very high, even my dreams sometimes scare me. I channel the fear of failing into a source of motivation. I aspire and strive every day to beat previous goals reach.

If I fail where others succeeded, if I don't achieve what I planned to do but short and long term do make me upbeat. Though I've been told numerous times that I'm being too hard on myself, but I would rather push myself to the limit than settle for less.

This article is written in response to my acceptance of the weekly prompt by JonicaBradley, i was invited by

@Princessbusayo and I will be glad if

@BabeT @Rayshell @Adewale also jump on this

Here is the instruction

This is a prompt word by @JonicaBradley titled "Motivation". 

Here are the rules:

Write about motivation

Write 100% original content

Write at least 600 words

Tag me @JonicaBradley

18
$ 0.91
$ 0.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @MightyTalon
+ 3
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

Fear is the only thing which keeps us away from the path on which we want to walk,it a great obstacle that is making us linger in abyss. GREAT ARTICLE

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought I am strong enough. Fear really weakens me. Actually, I am good at faking how I feel even I fear much. I also fear starting here in read especially you replied what you are expecting from me. But, it motivates me to think what to write. 😊😊 Thank you HappyBoy! 😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm glad to here that ma'am

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks again! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this wonderful write up. I think most times fear is a motivation, it make someone prepare for the unknown.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmmm, thanks for this great article, it's better we embrace fear and make use of it positively as a source of motivation instead of denying it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you too for going taking your time to go through it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many times we fear and get scared of many things but the earlier we see fear as our motivation and trying to work things out and never disappointing ourselves, the best for us.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Fear is a great enemy human could have. Once you permit it, it drains you. Be you, and fear will flee. The only remedy to fear is strong faith and belief. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so relatable. Me as an artist can relate. The reason why I don't accept commission is I am afraid to disappoint those who trust me. I'm not confident enough with my arts so I never accepted commission.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ummmh. Words👌. Fear is a limiting factor and wouldn't allow growth. It shouldn't be permitted at all. Thanks for this deep message passed.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You're welcome Rayshell, thanks for taking your time to go through it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome. It was worth reading

$ 0.00
2 years ago