Darkness: My deepest secret

17 106
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Have you ever been in a situation where you are down emotionally, shattered and disappointed?. You feel as if the whole world is against you. Nothing you do seems right. To crown it all, you can't tell anyone- especially your family because you know it will hurt them, and when they get hurt, the pain you feel escalates.

This period is what I likened to "Darkness". The word Darkness connotes a state in which little or no light can be seen. But it can have various Denote various meanings, depending on the situation or context of use.

I've been there and it wasn't a good experience at all. It affected everything I was doing. Never will an hour go by without me heaving signs of failure and sorrow.

The fact that I'm facing something so huge wasn't the major problem. The constant reminder that I'm keeping it from my Parents hurts more, and the realisation that I'll have to let them know someday hurt the most.

Photo credit: unsplash.com

However, this Dark period brought out the creative part of me. I tend to write better when I'm sad. Sometimes I imagine a scenario that depicts sadness before I write. Though I was criticized and called morose when people see my jottings in this period.

Things I discovered in this trying period was:

  • Secrets are like an untreated wound. It hurts from time to time

  • It's a time for self-reflection: During my dark hour I thought of what the future holds and also did a self-evaluation

  • I realised I have just a few friends, those I thought were my friends were there just because of what they tend to gain.

  • "Family" will always be "Family": I'm forever grateful for the emotional help my family offered when I later told them.

When I finally let the secret out

Just like the biblical Prodigal son, I got tired of living each day with guilt and came out with the truth. And simply as his father received him with open hands, my burden was also shared and the relief I felt was incomparable. Rather than feel sad after telling them, I became relieved and realised I could have saved myself from stress all these while if I had opened up on time.

They took it upon themselves to look for a way out of my predicament. What I thought was impossible became so easy with their help.

And just like that my Darkness turned to light. But I'm forever grateful for the lessons it taught me.

Photo credit: unsplash.com

This article is written in respect to the Fourth weekly Prompt by @JonicaBradley Titled "Darkness".

I will like My new friends on this platform @Gaftek @QueenRay and @King_Gozie to give this a try. The prompt was initiated to help people with ideas of what to write on. So many times most of us are short of ideas or topics to write on. This is meant to help us with it.

It's isn't compulsory, accept only if you feel like giving it a try. If you decide on writing on the prompt-

The rules are simple:

  1. Write about darkness

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words

  4. ย @JonicaBradley

  5. Have Fun!

Till next time guys!๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค— byeeeee.

Check out other interesting articles and stories;

https://read.cash/@HappyBoy/on-the-waiting-list-05ffc77b

https://read.cash/@HappyBoy/catalysts-to-my-goal-253b4f74

https://read.cash/@HappyBoy/i-met-her-on-noisecash-now-shes-meeting-me-at-the-alter-f22993d7

Also a big "Thank you"to all my sponsors. I appreciate you all.

15
$ 0.83
$ 0.50 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.12 from @Meyzee
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 5
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

I'm just reading this now and I'm touched by the bold step you took because I'm in the same plight too. I'd take a bold step in revealing it to my parents, they can really handle it and I'm sure I should tell them. Thanks for this article, I just subscribed today and I appreciate more of your inspiring articles, good luck.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am working on the prompt too @happyboy, thanks. Darkness cannot stand the sight of light. Just don't allow your secrets to weigh you down.

Nice article.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Go to hear that... looking forward to it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cowardliness is the biggest hurdle to success. To achieve your dream, you must be ready to put all you have at stake.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But I wanted to know the secret!

I'm mostly joking. Your secrets are yours to keep or share.

Art, any art, whether it's writing or music or painting, comes from pain. If everything is going smooth and even, there's no tension. There's no story. Even fairy tales have to have some tension otherwise there can be no happily ever after.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜‚ okay let me give you a hint ma. It was pertaining to my Performance in school back then. It wasn't entirely up to me(though I've got no excuse). I'm just thankful I washable to overcome that phase.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Well shoot. I was going for something juicy! Like, you robbed a bank or eloped and she ran off with the family jewels, or you decided you identify as a camel or something. . .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What! That's out of this world๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜‰ I do have quite an imagination.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Secrets are like an untreated wound. It hurts from time to time

This is true

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nice one

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Something I realize in life is keeping secret to yourself as it means darkness to me. When we relieve ourselves from pains hurting us within us and we tend to open up to others especially those that cares, we would feel the light in us and be free.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You will not stop bursting my head๐Ÿ˜‡๐Ÿ˜‡

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Interesting ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

By the way I'm accepting the request... I'm already working on the prompt

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for reading. Will you like to jump on the prompt?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank God you were able to open up and overcome the darkness.

$ 0.03
2 years ago