At age 30 which should come first?

11 55
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

One of my favourite activities now is to join some hangouts on Twitter. While I go about my daily activities, I’ll have my earpod on listening to different opinions on relationship-related matters. The way everyone thinks they know it all, the fights, the bants and the flirting is fascinating. It’s also funny how everyone can’t agree on a certain topic, there will always be people objecting to a particular notion, no matter how simple the topic is, I guess that’s what makes us human.

I can remember the recent debates about when a lady should wake up or in their words “a proper wife material”. Someone said if your girlfriend sleeps over at your place on a weekend she should wake up before 8 am to do the chores, if she doesn’t, she isn’t a wife material. Which means don’t marry her. As expected some people agreed while some disagreed. Some said it should be both ways and not just the lady. 

A particular comment caught my attention. A girl said-

“I’ve dated so many rich men who wake up early to cook breakfast for me. They serve me breakfast in bed”

A guy replied- 

have you ever asked yourself why none married you?”

I haven’t seen a better ratio than that. The likes and comments were blowing up. This is just an example of the little fights that take place during these hangouts. Though I join most of it just for fun, sometimes I learn a thing or two from the woke generation.

A particular topic got my attention yesterday, -

“At the age of 30 what should come first for a man, car, land or wife?”

Another user added “With 5 million naira and at the age of 30, what…” .

At first, I laughed and wondered why someone will ask such a ridiculous question. In what way are the 3 related or how do they connect with age 30?. However, after joining a twitter space and seeing the debate I realized this might be a big issue for guys in their late 20s and early 30s face.

Which comes first?

First, the culture of attaching various things to age is something common in this part of the world. Society believes various age landmark has certain expectations. This is something we can’t take away no matter how we try, but we can control how it affects us. Ignoring what the society wants for you and focusing on what you feel is good for you is the key to living a happy life. 

Looking at each of the things mentioned, I can say they are all timeless.

Car?

With 5 million Naira you can get a car, with even less one can but one important thing is - for what purpose?. Why do people buy cars? . If your reason for buying a car is because others are buying, or because you’ve gotten to a certain age then it will end up being a liability for you and not an asset. If the car won’t make journeying easier for you or bring in more money for you I see no reason why you should get it when all you have is 5 million Naira.

It doesn't end at buying a car. You need to be prepared for constant maintenance. If you are not prepared our bad road will teach you a lesson.

Mr A might get his car at the age of 27 while you have not even a bicycle at age 32, but that doesn’t mean he is living a more fulfilled life than you.

 

Land?

This is an asset that most people love to have. They say “Land appreciates”, so getting a land might be a smart move. The question is after getting a land, what next?. Leaving your land unattended is very dangerous in some parts of the country. The same person that sold the land to you, can sell it to another.

However, if you put some measures in place to avoid losing the land in the long run you might be glad you bought the land. But no law says one can’t get a land after age 30.

 

Wife/ marriage?

Simply because you have 5 million Naira with you and you are 30 already, doesn’t mean marriage is the next thing. Though financial status also matters when trying to settle down, especially when you come from a tribe that loves elaborate weddings a lot, but marriage is more than the wedding itself.

The real deal is what you and your wife will face after tying the knot. If you spend the 5 million on a wedding and have no constant income stream, then the marriage might end faster than the time it took you to plan the wedding.

Conclusion

If you decide to spend the money on any of the 3 it isn’t bad, so far you’re satisfied after taking the step and it meets a need. What’s the purpose of money if it can’t be spent on what we want?

However, another alternative is to invest the money, either in a business or in yourself. If you don’t have plans before to get a land, car or get married before, getting 5 million shouldn't make you jump into it. Think it through and if they aren’t part of the agenda for now regardless of the age, the best option will be to find a way o  double it or increase it by investing.

Thanks for Reading! 🚗💚💒

15
$ 2.95
$ 2.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Unity
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 8
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

Comments

Probably age 30 for men are seen as the ideal age for marriage coz it's a stage where "not too young nor too old" where decision making , mind, and carreer are probably stable at this age. A vehicle and land can go before 30 depends on the capacity to acquired such. Yes land could be a good investment a tangible assets that don't depreciate unlike cars.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Regardless of what come first at the age of 30 one thing is for sure, it could be a car, a land, and a wife. It is just a matter of what omea first. If time permits you to catch a wife first, then it is a good thing to know because you have a partner to build with your dreams of acquiring a car or a land and feel good about life Happyboy.

If I am going to decide, probably I would choose, a wife first as a girl motivates you to do good about life serving as an inspiration of everything. I wish you good in everything and best wishes in advance Happyboy. My warmest greetings from my side here in Ph. Have a nice time. I am glad to bumped with this article today and share my personal thoughts. Perhaps not an advice but just my view on this matter. Once again, thanks for this nice and well written article.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

For me, I would say get a land first and build a house. Why should be driving numerous cars in a rented apartment? Who are you trying to impress?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

can we choose both wife, car and house ahahhahahha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Marriage should be removed from that list abeg, I don't see it as serious as the other two (car and land). I believe everyone should do what works for them, the only thing we can do is to live our life the way we want and only others to live theirs. I personally will go for a land first, before car, marriage comes last. Another person might choose to marry first, then buy land next, it's totally up to the person involved and what they like

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Age doesn't matter at all when it comes to those things, I can't say because my friends have possessed all that I should also go on the run to get it all means especially when given 5 million naira. I believe when my time comes I will have them but the money should be spent wisely.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Investing the money is a great idea. But if I’m to pick out of the 3 options I would go for a land. If you at least fence the land and resell in the coming year or more, it will be in profit by then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm.. I think I would go purchasing a land first. The marriage can wait and the car will just get rusty over time. But the land will keep increasing its value.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Firstly, the issue of waking up is both way responsibility. A hard working man should wake up early in the morning and a caring woman should should wake up early as well.

Secondly, I don't want to wait till I reach 30 to have all cars, wife and a house. And 5 million is too small for me abeg.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think of what God blessed me maybe thats the first thing to do. His plan is better than me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The issue of paying bride price and get a wife is what I normally tell people. Marriage is not just about paying the dowry, it's what will sustain life after the wedding is the Koko. How much is dowry sef?? Tor🤷

$ 0.00
1 year ago