Traditional art as NFTs

16 82
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago

Hi Hi! I'm back after another long break. Sadly, my body's readjusting to a different time frame since I'm going nocturnal just to be able to study better. I have no idea why? But I struggle to study during the day, but not when it's around 2-3 am. I'm pretty sure I was supposed to be born an owl or something. Anyways, I was to give @MisakiLhaine an update for when I mint my traditional art as NFTs in the juungle. It's doable and after looking it up a bit more, I found that even on other platforms, artists also mint their traditional art and turn them into NFTs. The thing is, that minting traditional art is quite controversial of a topic.

NFT collectors value authenticity (this is based on searches I did before proceeding to do anything) I have no idea how valid this statement is now, but on a couple of platforms I've checked, if you apply as an artist and that you'll be minting traditional art, they will ask if you're on other NFT markets or if you sell your traditional art offline as well. This is to ensure authenticity, especially in the markets under the ethereum blockchain. They really value having only one piece available on the internet. I also don't know if people still do this, but sometimes, buyers/collectors ask to receive the physical copy of your art. I know this used to be a thing under the ethereum blockchain. I also read somewhere that some buyers ask for the original piece and any copy of the piece they bought be destroyed. It's a pretty extreme thing, but then you'll see there that they really value the authenticity of the piece they just bought, but I'm still on a 0/50 if it's a good thing or if it's just too extreme.

They also value a single art style. I do think that this is more on making your name and mark as an artist though since a style does define an artist, most of the time.

As for my first steps in minting my traditional art... it actually took me 2 whole days. While the minting process is already tedious, it becomes much more laborious when it's a traditional art. First, you have to scan your pieces or take a good-quality picture of them. I actually spent an entire day on this since I had so many pieces I wouldn't mind minting.

Then there's the editing if the scans came out with such high brightness that it altered your pieces way too much. In my case, since I compared my scans with the pictures I took, I stuck with the pictures so I only had to affix my signature and do very minimal retouches.

Once you're satisfied with your pieces, you have to save them as png. This was also another struggle since ALL of my pieces were over 50Mb in file size when I converted them to png. I had to compress them to 25 Mb or lower so I could upload them on github.

That's all the NFTs I've had to create in just a single day XD

I still couldn't overtake the waifuus and the rats but it's good to see that I have 42 pieces in my collection already. (You can view that here: https://www.juungle.net/#/collection/ca495aa47f95e6f2c2a661f49ec17eac9534ebe792b66a93d93adcc0149594c4)

For now, I'm just gonna keep adding more pieces to my collection while doing a bit more promotion on other platforms such as the mainstream ones. Juungle doesn't have that much exposure all in all so I do think this is a huge need. But then again, even the BCH community lacks exposure. Sure, it's slowly getting there because of Benswap and the SmartBCH network but it's still a pretty closed community so in a sense, this is how I'm promoting BCH, through art and through the juungle. I'm not sure if it will work with inviting more artists (to overthrow the waifuus) but since the minting process here is external, unlike in most NFT marketplaces, I think it'll take a while before the juungle will flourish like what you see on the ethereum blockchain. Still, it's not so bad to try. And through teaching new artists how to mint, I do end up teaching them about BCH fundamentals so it isn't such a huge waste of time on my end when someone inquires


That's all from me for today. I just wanted to rant a bit about my 2 day minting spree because I am never doing that again XD

I think, as soon as I finish a piece, I might have to mint it ASAP to avoid that kind of congestion again.

11
$ 14.07
$ 13.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 4
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago

Comments

Hello Hanzell, I looked at your collection. I also have traditional drawn pictures that I would like to NFT but I haven't found where to do so. I am on WAX, which has an NFT creator to upload and also OpenSea, which has the same. XCUR (Curate) is another upcoming NFT marketplace and I didn't know about Juuungle.

Your art is very nice. You do have a very unique style.

But my short question is : What made you decide to Mint on Juungle instead of other places I mentionned?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Mainly it's because juungle is the main network I use to promote my creations. It's my way of showing my support to the bch community. Also, I don't like the wax network since the NFTs there have greatly lost their quality since it makes it that you can have an infinite amount of the same piece, which I think is no different from putting it on Google. Opensea has transaction fees that are too pricey but since it's one of the mainstream networks then yes, I see why it would be easy to sell there. I do plan to expand my network but I'll go at it slowly. I still have to check oasis.com which is a new market on the smartbch chain (but again, it'll lack audience because the smartbch network is still pretty closed off) but I will eventually try to get into opensea. Soon I'll be giving attention to my mintable account too so that will add to my portfolio (hopefully)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry for the late comment, I haven't check my read.cash account for a week now. I should try it once I have an available laptop to use, though I don't have an specific art style. Haha I just love making fan arts and stuffs. Suddenly, I got scared with the idea that some buyers will ask to destroy the hard copy of the artworks. 😟 Thank you so much for this update, I really appreciate it. ❤ I am really amazed with your artworks and for having your own art style. It's actually my struggle as an artist, haven't find my artstyle yet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhy, ang daming maganda talaga. Pero oiii, try mo din sa Curate mag mint. Easy lang sya gawin 🤩

$ 0.05
2 years ago

What's curate? Parang Ngayon ko Lang Yan nabalitaan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nong nakaraang araw ko lang dun naalaman yan. Nasa tg kapa ga? Om ko sau link

$ 0.00
2 years ago

great article! one more question, how do you mint your nft on BCH? I just follow the guideline of https://read.cash/@VideoGameDana/how-to-create-an-slp-nft-that-displays-artwork-properly-on-both-slp-explorer-and-juunglenet-021e54a3 However, I stuck at the PR merge in github. The author did not merge the PRs for a while.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

If it's just waiting for approval, the admin hasn't been checking those recently

$ 0.05
2 years ago

How much nagagastos mo sa minting?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Not sure basta dinpa nauubos Yung initial investment ko of $5

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uy gaganda ng drawing 😍 gusto ko mag try paano dito? 🤧

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You have to learn how to mint. Try mo guides no crimson and video game dana. That mostly what all of us based on

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oksy sige. Thankyousm💜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are really welcome back and more especially is the fact that your body is back to shape. The nft of these recent times is really making waves and i think it is about times i got one myself

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Be careful on the network you use if you plan to get an nft then. That's the best piece of help I can give you right now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok thanks a lot i'll be very careful

$ 0.00
2 years ago