Sitting pretty

16 48
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago

[WP] “And you!” he snapped, “You sit still and look pretty, that’s what I pay you for!” Fine—for the moment, she thought. His words had no sting. Her plans had been laid long ago. Now she smiled and watched as his works came apart.


“Ladies and gentlemen! I welcome you to the house of oddities! Come ye! Come ye! As I present you with some of the world’s rarities and oddities! ”  Repetitively, those words echoed as the ringmaster enticed people into what he calls “The house of freaks”. True to his words though. The contents of the attraction are nothing but rare and downright odd. Simply because none of them are truly humans.

The traveling carnival which has been gaining fame across Alluthero started with a few people. Simply the ringmaster and a few of his loyal followers. They first targeted small towns along the country's borders… as to why nobody knew. With each passing town, their numbers grew. As to where their new members come from, nobody knew as well. All people ever hear about is that with each town they visited, a new “attraction” would come up. 

As they traveled into more populated regions and known trading routes, the odder their routines became. Everything seemed… more twisted in every sense one would look at it. How would I know this? Because I’ve been following their trails since the young mistress became a “member” of their crew. A crew would be far from it.  I would say every member of that carnival was of supernatural origin and demonkind was no exception to their list. Many of my kind has been put on display, sitting idly for the ringmaster to give them a share of nourishment each day. Had it not been for whatever power this ringmaster had, I doubt any of these creatures would be working for him willingly. He just gives off this aura that would seem to frighten anyone.

“You lot! I believe I told you not to frighten the humans!” The ringmaster’s voice was booming, and it echoed even to where I hid “How many times do I have to tell you that if you make a threat towards the humans, you get punishments” 

The next thing I heard was pained screams and yelps of who knows what creature it was that he was straightening up this time.

“I do believe demons can survive without nourishment for a few days? Isn’t that right, dear Estelle?” 

My teeth gritted as I heard the young mistress’ name being mentioned so disrespectfully. So it was one of our kind again. This has been going on for far too long. As much as I am aware of the expanded lifetimes of supernatural beings and of the regenerative abilities, there is a limit. I hope the mistress’ plan and my intervention would all be worth it. 

For hours, I lay in wait until the ringmaster finally retreated to his cabin on the far end of their campsite. The man had always valued his privacy, or maybe it was in those times that he did his dark arts. I could care less because soon this will all be over. 

I took one last glance at the cabin, then I snuck into the tents where the demons were held. Filthy and bloody as always. I see he grew more merciless with his punishments. On one side of the tent, I see the bloody cage where Goliath sat with his back behind the magic imbued bars.


This was actually to continue to promote my drawings because why not? I've been meaning to give this pretty demoness a story of her origins and now I finally have the time to OwO this mini-series will probably be like...2-3 chapters long? We gotta build up her escape, after all. But I do think sitting pretty while silently plotting is perfect for my demoness since she has that really mysterious air around her

https://www.juungle.net/share/44ac4de861b280cbe799f3525ff62f1d8e0327a12aa070be444fc824e3faa4eb

And for anyone interested, she's still in juungle UwU she's still sitting pretty there too

Feel free to check out the rest of my collection too OwO

https://www.juungle.net/#/collection/ca495aa47f95e6f2c2a661f49ec17eac9534ebe792b66a93d93adcc0149594c4

Cuz right now I'm working on something vibrantly red again and it's pretty much hurting my eyes looking at it for so long XD

8
$ 9.71
$ 9.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 5
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago

Comments

You have tailored this pieces so beautiful that the graphics plant a message into the souls of your audience. You have successfully captured the cruelty of MEN. And more importantly, you arrested the minds of your readers by planting a seed of curiosity. So much so that, they read to the end. I ravished in the wealth of your creativity. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Your compliments are way too high for me. I'm quite sure I'm not that good but it's just a matter of expression and word choices in the end. I was seriously just trying to create an origin story for my drawing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, ang galinggggg. Pero ung nasa last bat naiisip ko si Jiraiya, baka sa buhok 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Iniisip mo jiraiya, iniisip no mama "sino nanaman hinihubadan Neto?" 😂😂😂😂 Cuz she just walked into my room Kung kelan patapos na ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your drawings have really added more beauty to the sense you have made here story wise

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you ☺️ I still need to make Goliath and the messenger demon eventually though but I'm not sure I can when my other concept art is pretty much in a pile now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have returned to your demons. And with your drawings. They're bright red, that's why your eyes hurt. And by the way, how is your grandmother?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I have and that's true, the bright red plus the extreme brightness from my laptop screen is very bad for my eyes 😅😅😅 My grandmother is doing good! I'm going to visit her tomorrow, actually

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How nice that you always visit your grandmother. Protect your eyes my dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow!!! Pretty characters.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank youuu but I still need to make a Goliath and this demon messenger

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Purchased Demoness. It's mine now 😁

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ohhhh it's you who bought it 😯😯😯 big thank you omg-

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So pretty. How much mo binebenta yan?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You draw those characters?you are so talented.you have that magical hand to make such wonderful artwork.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I appreciate the compliments but I do think it's just practice and not solely on talent

$ 0.00
2 years ago