Pointillism

53 97
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

So I recently met this new user, @Terilastovicka who is a friend of a user here that I like talking to and I saw that she worked on pointillism style a lot on some of her artworks. It was so rare to see, specially in here. And I honestly have so much respect for people who use this kind of style because of the extreme amounts of patience needed to finish a piece made entirely out of dots or points. Not a lot of artists really do make use of this technique unless they use it as a shading technique or for added details and such. But to make use of it entirely for a piece is definitely not something a lot of artists would be up for nor have the patience for, I mean, even with the simplest blending technique on oils and acrylics, it would still take some people days just to finish a piece, what more if they used dots, right? Can you even imagine?

So just a brief history on this. The technique first came into use by Georges Seurat and Paul Signac way back in the 1880s. Though many other artists used this, like Van Gogh (she loves this artist a lot) and Picasso but they only did so at the start of their careers and their art styles changed to impressionism, I think? At some point in their careers until their passing.

They used to do this with pure color, unmixed paints and they just make distinct dots. The finer the dots, the smoother the blending seemed to look despite not actually blending the paint together. But the dot size could always vary. Some actually made use of large dots, probably made by a large tipped brush whilst most made use of smaller dots. It's also worth mentioning that this was where printing technology was based off.

Under Γ—100 magnification on a scanning electron microscope. Image not mine but
Under Γ—300 magnification on a scanning electron microscope. Image not mine

As you can see here, your prints come out as just small dots under the microscope because your toner actually just sprays ink as mists that will eventually come out as microscopic dots on the paper. It actually gives better details on the art too compared to the other techniques and can come off as one of the most realistic kinds of styles there is but honestly, I mostly use this style only to test out a new medium I've acquired and mostly it's ink, pastels, watercolor and crayons as I'll be showing below

This is ones of my very first attempts. Took me an entire day to make because of the size of the paper and because I wanted to get as much detail as I could on my imaginary fruits hut as you can see, eventually I gave up and ended up making squiggles that complimented the glowing fruits

Later on I got faster nad improved on the details and tried applying it to a person. He was on the school band and I don't know why but he pkays the saddest songs on the trumpet when he practices alone. I always thought he would fade away one day if he kept playing sad songs like that such as leibisleid. I think that was his favorite

Ode to potatoes for potatoes hold so much wonders and deliciousness but it's also a piece I never got to finish because I honestly lack the patience and also because I didn't have brown inks before

This was when I attempted a Tim Burton kind of style because honestly, I love his drawing style so much but I also didn't get to finish this because the ink on my orange pen ran out and I kept forgetting to buy a replacement that would match the original ink color

I'm pretty sure I've posted this before but this was made by pastels. I made it when I first got the sticks. It was a means to test out the color and the blending capabilities of that pastel set and I was satisfied that the colors came out easy to blend, really.

That's all from me. I hope you guys enjoyed knowing the truth about printers and in seeing my work.

There goes my first attempt in incorporating science into art UwU I hope you found this interesting

69
$ 3.30
$ 2.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor
$ 0.02 from @Jane
+ 5
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

They are really pretty! And I can imagine the time you need to put into each piece, dotting the paper over and over again. It creates a certain softness to the colours, doesn't it? I love the Tim Burton style, though it reminds me of the movie, BFG :D

Do you draw the outline first in pencil or something? Maybe you can do it in smaller pieces of paper, draw smaller, then it will be less time needed? :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, there's definitely a certain softness to this style which is why it fascinates me so much yet I'm not so fond of doing so πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

I've tried on smaller pieces of paper, it practically goes along the same amount of time since smaller paper means details need to stand out more for me than when on big paper

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow.!! Really this is a good post and good Article brother

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your drawings seem great to me. Finished or not, these drawings expose many details. I don't have much knowledge about art but I can notice beautiful drawings. Patience or not, they are really cool. Congratulations!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's why pointillism is the key to printing, the dots that overlap make blending and the details come out better than any other style ❀ i just wished i could find a matching pen so i can finish my tim burton style drawing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wish you success in finding your color. I love Tim Burton and some of his movies. With Johnny Depp

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's too hard to find ;;-;; but same, i love his works, that's why i wanted to create a tribute for him

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is worthy of admiration, it is a job that needs a lot of patience and a pulse in the hands to make it perfect.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It definitely took a lot of patience out of me though πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But it was worth the effort πŸ’ͺ🏼

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow..nice work!! Go ahead ☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow that's very cool jare .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you ^w^ sad i haven't been around much to bug you though

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh well am quite in a process of facing and doing research on my major finance so am kind of lazy to write article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh try to finish your research first before doing anything. That's what i did, after all

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very good art work

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, i appreciate your praise

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Fantastic art work β€œTreat a work of art like a prince: let it speak to you first.β€œFor most people, art is only valuable if other people say it is; and artists are only worthwhile if they are either rich and famous, or dead.”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True, that's why it's best to make a name for yourself while you still can. Better that each time you make art, it leaves a memorable impression

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woah!!! I only learned pointillism as a method of shading or a curious method of painting. Not being the most patient student, I didn't have time to be applying dots for minutes straight, though I probably knew I'd get faster once I started practicing.

You got so good at it and you've some nice works there too. I can't wait to get back to school so I can buy some art materials and get serious here!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well it got faster but it takes longer with pens than it soes on any other medium, honestly.

Ehh i only used ball point pens for almost all of those, the really cheap multi colored ones that you can buy for a dollar for 2? You should know by now that i won't be the type to buy expensive materials on my own accord πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

On my own accord πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Why spend so much money when you can get it good at a relatively cheap price?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yuuppp plus in the end, it's all about skill and on how your hands move with whatever medium you have

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ‘ŒπŸ™Œ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now when will you check telegraammm I'm almost done reading :""

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Gimme 6 minutes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okiee

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Please Subscribe MY ID.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very good art work

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the praise

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Those artworks, are so beautiful. I love anything art but am not good at it. How I wish I can learn

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well you can start with digital and pop art? People say those are kind of shortcuts to art, actually

$ 0.00
3 years ago

By digital you mean editing pictures

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow It's just awesome.... All of this art looks incredible dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes but i stay away from this style too much now unless I'll do it with pastels or with watercolors. Thank you for looking through here 😊 i appreciate it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow that's all very nice! I love it. You are quite talented. It look so time consuming as well. Hope you get satisfaction or will get rewarded for it. Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They are. Each piece took an entire day to finish but they really did come out well enough. The detail application here can be done better. Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's so satisfying to look at! This kind of art is very hard to make, I can tell. The detail and patience.. still, the outcome is great!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sadly i never got to finish some of them because i use up way too much yellow on these kinds of art. Each took me an entire day yet i didn't get to finish some of them πŸ˜‚ it's a shame

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is an interesting kind of art indeed but not my type of art. With the children I made paintings (painting) out of little stripes that already took long but I must admit it was fun too do esp because we worked with at least two at one painting. It was for some national art contest school wanted them to participate. The paintings are gone since then. Never received them back.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's honestly too time consuming and even the line arts are already tiring enough because of the need to keep all line spacing even and all. It's a shame your kid's arts were never returned though but maybe those would be pit on display one day

$ 0.00
3 years ago

These art were created just by pointing? Incredible πŸ’ž

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Yeah, and printed materials fron a printer comes out the same way tbh

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow.. you're really good and fast learner. 😁 i hope i can be as good as that in art too someday. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh no, i learned this style back in highschool. I don't use it anymore because of reasons being that I'm always in a rush πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Let me watch videos bout that. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago