My angel

3 24
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago
Topics: Write, Ideas, Fiction, Creativity, Thought, ...

{SP} One may tolerate a world full of demons for the sake of an angel


Day in and day out, I would often find myself toiling endlessly in the office. The countless hours spent on overtime. The ridiculous amount of work that honestly doesn’t even affect my wage no matter how much I accomplish nor how hard I worked. At this point, I gave up doing anything above the bare minimum service that was written in what I call my “slave contract” 

Yes, I counted myself as a slave, a lowly demon that toiled in the underbellies of hell, which was also known as the corporate world. No, my work did not make me rich. Nor was it enough to make ends meet with how much everything is priced, with how much everything is taxed. One would barely survive without a decent living in this hell hole I would call it. 

Yet why do I continue to stay in this hell of mine? Escape seemed the better option, doesn’t it? 

Well, I’ve thought of it countless times already. I still think about it at times. Yet when I return home after such a long day from work, I’m greeted with the warmest smiles anybody could offer me. An angel was the only thing I could call her. Yes, she was an angel on earth, and with her came a small glimpse of heaven. 

Each time I would come home, she would be by the door, already waiting for me with a change of clothes. No matter how late it was, she would always be there. At times she would even fall asleep by the doorway and in those moments, I would carry her off to bed whilst thinking “Just how did I become so lucky to have you” 

Aside from the change of clothes, she always made sure I always had warm food. She would always heat my food up no matter how late it is yet we were the happiest when we could eat together.

Honestly, she never understood how blessed I would feel even just with her presence alone. Every night, when we lie together in our shared bed, I would keep her as close to me as possible. I always feared that my angel would fly away in the darkness of the night yet she never did. Even after years of marriage, she was still here by my side. Even when I know that she deserves someone who could give her a better life. 

At some point I came to ask why she stayed and you know what her response was? 

“Simply because I love you. And that I know you suffer a different kind of hell that I can’t imagine just to give me a comfortable life” 

“Our life is quite simple to be called a comfortable life though” Was my response to her yet she only shook her head and offered me one of her signature smiles

“It’s comfortable when we have everything we need right here. And I have you”

“You deserve so much more though. I know it”

“Who are you to say what I do and don’t deserve? You’re being a silly man again” 

I know being called a silly man would often annoy anyone but I know that whenever she would call me such, I could still see the spark in her eyes that still remains even after all the years that passed since she first called me that. 

It was never a question of how she managed to melt me when she responds to me like that. And in all honesty, I just wanted to keep that look in her eyes. I want to keep her happy. And for her, I would gladly tolerate a world full of demons for my beloved angel.


My mom and my pets are actually my angels and I thought I should write it down before the thought disappeared


4
$ 0.56
$ 0.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @z_graeden
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago
Topics: Write, Ideas, Fiction, Creativity, Thought, ...

Comments

Just having the love, support and believe makes a whole lotta difference Everyone should be so lucky

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad you've reconciled with your demonic thoughts. Family will always be very important and they are the basis for a better balance in life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Agreed, they are. Especially with the wfh set ups. Their havens get polluted with stress

$ 0.00
3 years ago