More on coal 😅

16 42
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago

Last time, I concluded my article with how coal deposits can be auctioned if the kind of coal this certain company needs does not match with the coal they found. So in those cases, they probably have never handled that kind of coal yet or maybe they don’t have the means or the equipment to process the coal because it isn’t a match with what they usually handle.

To give you a brief insight, we should know that there are trends of coal types per continent and country too. Like if we look at the coal we can get in most parts of asia, we’ll see that the coal is extremely soft and extremely moist and that’s usually attributed to the rich waterways most asian countries have. The fact that they’re soft and moist though, makes them a good source of gasoline and LPG. That’s why we have so many gasoline extraction sites here and is one of the main reasons why oil rigs are often in the oceans. Not because the fossil fuel they’ll get there is liquid, but it is moist enoug to be extracted as liquid. As for the testin part of this kind of coal/fossil fuel, they primarily focus on it’s gross calorific value (again with it’s energy. But if it’s gonna power an engine then this is important), then they need to take into account the sulfur, phosphorus and the Carrbon, Hydrogen and Nitrogen content. Why focus on those specific elements? Because they need to take into account the combustability (That’s where Carbon, Hydrogen comes in.). They also need to take into account the amount of air pollutant that this sample will give off (there’s already a law for Sulfur and Nitrogen, I think? Under the new paris treaty? I think that accounts for the sulfur and Nitrogen in gasoline, and Phosphorus too because that causes eutrofication when dissolved in water). This is what accounts for most asian and offshore coal deposits.

Meanwhile, for the low moisture and hard coals which are mostly sourced from landlocked areas such as the middle east, australia and in most parts of the states, these coal samples are ones that are mostly used for energy, cement, and steel production because of their incredibly low moisture content. I am not sure what specifications or parameters are needed for steel production, actually but almost 70% of the steel used in the industry is alloyed with coal (coke, actually but we’re talking about coal so I’m staying on coal). It’s also used in producing aluminum and copper but I am also not sure on whether the coal is used in the smelting process or if it’s an additive of sorts.

Anyways, I think I’ve talked enough about coal for this week. Next week… who knows what I’ll be focusing on XD

I do think I should finish my carnitine article though. Because these are all based on my coal handling and analysis training! Maybe I'll be writing about ores too since I mostly handle that in the laboratory.

Art updates? We'll see when I have the time. Life update? I'll try 😅

Thank you for reading up on my nerd talk up until now! I greatly appreciate it UwU

9
$ 11.37
$ 11.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 6
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago

Comments

I still can't understand kahit tinry ko balikan wahahaha tsuri na but mayaman ba tayo sa ganyang mineral? omg tama ba izzthat a kind of a mineral wahahhah.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not a mineral. Yan Yung main form Ng fossil fuel na ginagamit for energy production. Madami Naman Tayo dito kaso in slushy form. Parang putik na kailangan pa iprocess. Madami Tayo dito oil rig, Yung kinukunan Ng gasolina

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ohh so mayaman pa din pala tayo sa oil and gas?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here in my country, all of this was produced. Coal, coke, aluminum, steel, iron, but I think that because of mismanagement everything has come to a standstill. It is sad to be a poor rich country now.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh I know this. Venezuelan lands have so many high grade ores and coal and I've recently handled a shipment from there but I read somewhere that the resources get monopolized by the government

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, and very poorly managed. Everything fell apart. There is no good use of resources, no maintenance of the work plants and everything is running down due to misuse.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's just horrible! And do they charge excessive tax there for the so-called maintenance of the resources? Over there needs a reform, I swear!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here everything remains in the hands of a few. All the money they get from the exploitation of natural resources stays in the same place and for the same cause.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, it is the first time coming across this kind of content and it is great. I was able to pick a few points.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Well, I'm glad you find this enjoyable. I do think I'll end up writing more articles like this since I am a chemist that's sampling these materials

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great job, at least we can learn stuffs here too outside crypto, stories and others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Look forward to my other articles maybe? 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, that's why some country roads are stronger than others right?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It could be since the asphalt has different constituents but then, that gets tested by chemists too. I'd say that it's mostly low grade asphalt that some use on those roads since in the lab, we run tests for asphalt too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I need a chemist mind to absorb these 🤣🤣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Di Naman ate 😅 I did my best to simplify this eh :""

$ 0.00
2 years ago