I became a reaper

23 78
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

[writing prompt]

There is more than just one Grim reaper- there is the sorrowful reaper, the envious reaper, so on and so forth- one for each emotion behind the death. You were chosen to take over one of the reaper roles… Welcome to day one as the Puzzled reaper.

-----------

Another day, another soul to collect. It’s been years since the puzzle reaper had started doing this yet he could still remember how he came to be so vividly as if it only happened yesterday. He was a special case, at least now they would say. Thus why he was appointed the role of the puzzled reaper.

1999

He was 25 at that time, the prime of his youth. That time he had just moved into the new city and performed street magic for a living. He had met various people but five people struck him the most. One was of a woman that always wore red. She was beautiful and apparently was the owner of one of the most famous diners around town; one that eventually became a favorite of his as well. The other was another street performer but this one was different. This man was well off to being a professional singer for all anyone could say and with the beauty of his voice. The third one was the so-called town idol. Everyone knew her and everyone liked her. Her beauty wasn’t one to take lightly too. She was definitely one the town could be proud of. The fourth and fifth were twins, genius ones at that.

One by one each of those five people suddenly disappeared. And the cause… was him from 1999 to 2005, he pursued each person. As to why? well because he found the true nature behind each person. Yes, he soon discovered what horrors each person hid in their own closets just to attain their current standing in society. Each was horrid in their own way. And he was equally horrible for having rid of them. Later on he found out that the people he had murdered and brandished as alices were not in their own minds.

Each had made a deal with the devil. And now the devil grew furious that each of his hosts perished without having to consume them fully. Perhaps he did the people a favor with having murdered them but he didn’t have time to think of his deeds when the devil soon came for him. In just a matter of moments and in an attempt to possess him, it was soon over and he found himself being guided to some hall by this hooded figure.

At the end of the hall was something like a conference room. and there stood multiple hooded figures yet what was different was the kind of item each one held. At the very center stood a figure that held the traditional scythe, the grim reaper. Yet those that surrounded him were apparently reapers of different kinds, he couldn’t tell which was which but one thing was for sure, they were the ones to pass judgement on him. The hall erupted with voices and whispers of his most unusual death. Death simply by being too weak to possession was not common anymore, much more was simply being possessed in the year 2005 but what was most puzzling was why the devil didn’t drag his soul into the underworld seeing as devils were the reaper’s rivals with soul. He was a very special case and thus was granted a special place among them as one of the grand reapers whose deaths were all special cases in itself. After much debate and a brief confirmation of his last emotion during his death, he was given the role of the puzzled reaper.

-----------

I'm sorry for my absence and for not finishing the inktober prompts. I've been job hunting and has been getting stressed with the interviews and all. So yeah, my depression was getting the best of me again. Anyways, this is just a plot i thought of. Should i expand it to a series?

30
$ 1.97
$ 1.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Ozzyy
+ 2
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

thanks for keeping us in your life while you focus on other things! we are always here =)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

More diabolic stories please, also best wishes for your job searching and wish you easy gaining! I love that story and hope to be continued too, but I totally see if you need to work and have not enough time to upload! Looking forward duture articles!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll be working on my time management skills soon so hopefully i can continue all the things I've been hoping to do here since it seems such a waste not to finish them all. I'll work on better time management skills

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are a good writer. You should contonue this story 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I plan to now UwU I'll be working on it tomorrow morning

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder why a deal with the devil. If you ask me God is a lot of evil and people do all kinds of things in his name... Things I wouldn't call good.

Good luck job hunting.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well the idea with gods is that they're the final destimankind wants to attain then there's the fact that devils act as gods and that devils also steal souls from the reapers

I need that ;;-;; i didn't know it would be this hard

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey, I don't know how to comfort you with your depression anymore. Honestly, I'm out of words na. It would be cliche to tell you this again but let's claim that better days are coming. 🙏

I will keep an eye on this story or series if it will be? ☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's alright, no worries. I've been managing and I'm being kept busy with all the interviews i need to attend to and contract details so don't worry too much ^-^

Then i guess I'll be making a series out of this too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congrats in advance for getting job. Weeeew 🍻🥳

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There's always time for everything. Take your time for the first thing that is to look for work and thus you are thinking about what to do with your serial plots. You will know how to do the best. Success.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think? I might get fired in the first company i applied to? I'm not so sure but I'm waiting for their verdict

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ooo no

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Damn,I thought you finally kiled him😑😑

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But he did die- he got possessed by the devil but there's something i read about demons and not finding compatible bodies so they die? That's what his death was based off

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was already surprised not to see your inktober publications, but take it easy my friend, remember that life is a rise and fall, the important thing is not to stay in the descent... Good article, you can turn it into a series.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was trying to draw but then the interviews came pouring yet still no follow up reply so it's kind of making me sad. For this whole october, i think I'll finish up everything I've been working on

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Series! Series!! Series!!!

You did justice to this prompt real good.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I fear that i might not finish it like with John's story but I'll be working on that when the last interview finishes up tomorrow

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Alright that's great!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I admire how you come up with a plot despite being stressed, take it easy. You will have your desired job soon 😊

I'll look forward to you making this a series, I am kinda interested in the grim reaper lol.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love me a hood plot challenge so maybe that's why but I'm thinking I'll turn this into a kind of detective series if i serialised this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay, I will look forward to that then 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago