Employment differences

6 47
Avatar for Hanzell
1 year ago

HEllo hello! I return! 

I think I lost the habit of writing, or maybe I’ve just been so busy with life. It’s back to employment for me. To think that I was only unemployed for a little over 3 weeks. I have to admit though, that applying for a job this time was more tiring compared to when I was applying 6 months ago. And I don't think I want to go through all this again. I thought the online interviews were bad because I usually had 3-4 interviews a ay, but gosh I was so wrong! Face to face interview is much worse, epecially for an introvert like me.


The interview process is back to the old ways

I remember in the pre-pandemic days, my seniors would complain about how tiring and costly it was to attend an interview. Not to mention, time-consuming. I kind of get what they mean now. My recent job interviews were all live and in person. It’s nerve-wracking, I swear!!! And definitely costly and so so SO time consuming! I have nothing against HR people because they have other tasks to, but in this application season of mine, the HR people don’t seem to respect other people’s time, they’re the ones alway late. I understand that on a face to face setting, there could be more questions, but I wonder if they ever consider the other applicants who sometimes even stay until the afternoon, just to be interviewed. Unlike 6 months ago,when online interviews were highly catered, all the interviewers were punctual, I didn't need to leave my room, and I was comfortable. Oh how I wish they kept this interview system.


Exam on every interview and the processing got longer

For my first face to face interview back in June, the lab was just 40 minutes from my house. I arrived 30 minutes early (as per interview protocol), yet I still waited for almost an hour and a half.It took that long before the HR came out and handed me a form that I answered for 30 minutes, although if she just referred to my resume, it would have saved the both of us a lot of time. After that, I was given an exam that was on the same level as my board exam, and I just thought: damn, was the license not enough? 

An hour later, I was finally interviewed, and that also lasted an hour. I enjoyed the interview, yes. But half of my day was consumed. We finished the interview at 1pm and I ate with my best friend cuz she worked there.

My 2nd and succeeding interviews all proceeded in the same pattern. I arrive early, I was made to wait, I was given forms to answer despite already submitting my resume, I was given an exam that was basically on the same level as my board exam. I swear, in the week that I only had interviews, I studied like crazy because I felt like I forgot everything I knew from college, and the exams they gave me made me feel dumb as heck. I’m not sure if job applications for other positions are like this, but the continuous exam was so extremely tiring. This was never a thing with online applications. In my online application series, I was only given an exam once and then never again! 

What I’m not sure of was if this exam-interview thing has always been a tandem or is it just with this application season. That I’m not sure at all. 


Anyways, now I’m finally hired at a place that’s 40 minutes away from my house, and I will be starting some time next week. They said around wednesday or thursday so until then, I can hang around the crypto world for a bit. Wish me luck on this new laboratory, guys

 

 

 

9
$ 2.92
$ 2.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.01 from @Grecy095
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
1 year ago

Comments

Congrats on getting hired again, zell! ❤️ sana better company na yan and magtagal ka. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Remember your main goal of what you are doing right now, then you will be excited to get your dream. I wish you the best @Hanzell

$ 0.00
1 year ago

was looking for a job from the past days and huhu ang lalayo naman, halos wala nag ooffer dito sa malapit saamin ayoko lumuwas ng manila nee chan huhuh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations!! What matters now is that you've got a job and now it is time to hustle and bustle, earn money and save money and enjoy the moment of getting back to work.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations on your second job hanz. Real job is way better than anything else. The world of crypto can still coexist but just on weekends maybe hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations, you passed the interview and exams... Next week you will be facing the real work.. So, good luck.

$ 0.00
1 year ago