A hopeful change

24 32
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

I'm aware that I'm in no position to be saying this, nor am I denying the fact that I tried to get sponsors and join the small contests held in read cash. I still do, specially with the flash picture prompt one set by @feebie. That one, I think is fine because it helps improve creativity and the quality in a user's writing. Even the writing prompt @wakeupkitty held, that one was good too. Those kinds of contests really showed how much we can improve the quality of our contents if there was an incentive behind it. Now imagine if the same was applied to sponsorship and giveaways. I'm not against advertising sponsorships and contests and all but I do hope people can do so where people will need to write new quality content than making spam-like short posts about their entries and the original announcement post. If entries were to be made, then why not just include it in the comments alone?

It's lesser spam and hopefully the idea would promote better articles instead of people recycling only a few of what they think is good? Again. This is in no offense to anyone, I just maybe wanted to see a change in light of the recent events. And I think community moderators need to be made alive again for the sake of having much better filtering of content. Just hoping the small changes in behavior would make read.cash more bearable for the creator and hopefully he would come back soon. And also hoping people would appreciate the platform more by not complaining as much. As stated, he's a one-man show. The least we can do in the long run is lessen the complaints. If help is needed, there would be more experienced members that are always willing to help out if they saw the query.

If you guys managed to read through this train of thoughts of mine, thank you

14
$ 0.18
$ 0.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

I believe any contest or competition that is properly administered and follows the rules is a good initiative

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, else it really just looks like repetitive content and spam to me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. Honestly I never competed in any of the events here yet. Lets see which way the future takes us

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I did in a few. Those I thought were fun and fitting for me to try. Though I tried one where i needed to make a short post but only once. When I found out what sponsorship really entailed.. i thought, It would be better if I just made really good and interactive posts in the end

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Actually I was a but lazy not to participate in any of them. Another reason is that I use my phone mostly for read cash so it is not as convenient as a PC

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I alternate often so I still use PC when I do research based articles and ones that need to be timed. It would have been great to see how you would participate though

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah for my other work I do use my laptop often but for read cash and other crypto sites I use phone only

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just so laptop won't break?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No I use it carefully 😜😂.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your train of thoughts is a part of mine also. I have been busy with this month work and I only stop by sometimes. The first stop is contests held, the second is sponsorship and the 3rd one is a meme. I cannot find any articles that I like to read. My notification is once again fill up with the promotion of stuff. It is like looking at ads website.

In my opinion, nobody should ask for sponsorship. If someone writes good enough, sponsorship will come on their own.

Contest supposed to be encouraging them to become a better writer and not making a good writer become a spammer.

Give away? It is the same as spending time reading and leaving upvotes or some tips on the articles. No need to promote, because a tipper is the main course for every article.

I miss the freewriting contest by @wakeupkitty, where I have joy in reading.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Agreed. At least creative contests with good content was something to look forward to. And I get that memes are fun and that it feels nice to receive sponsorship and all but hopefully in a way that you know they sponsored you because they appreciate and anticipate each of your posts, thus what I do when I do sponsorships. But then yes, to make it look like you need to apply and stuff. It's not a pretty sight. They really do mostly look like ads unless it was done so in a creative way

And I know that some people aren't all that well versed in english. But that's why we stay, right? To improve? Plus there are translators, of course. So there's really no excuse to say you won't be able to write good content with all the tools that could be made available to you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But then yes, to make it look like you need to apply and stuff. It's not a pretty sight.

It does not look nice to me either. One more thing, how much is the amount that everyone is fighting for. I know one sponsor that gives $ 0.01 a month. If we write better, we sure can gain more than this sponsor. As a friend said to me. I do not wish for my name to appear under someone that does not appreciate effort and quality.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think they go for the idea. They do not even notice it's peanuts on an annual base.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with this at least. To truly sponsor only those whose work you appreciate is what makes sponsorship so special. It's lost its significance through these events somehow. Shouldn't not getting a sponsor be much more a reason why you should write better?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Those sponsors do not read or comment on you which says enough. I once wrote why I do not want a sponsor and so far I only sponsored one person. Most here do not have a niche. To be honest I would be very embarrassed if I saw my name underneath a post I don't agree with. I do not care about the topic or the fact if I agree with what is written as long as it is good. But my name as a sponsor underneath some of those memes...

I hope sponsors know who or what they sponsor just like real organizations do. They stand for something but I think here it's too much asked. You do not count if you don't have a sponsor is the idea.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If it comes to a giveaway I agree. It's tipping each other something read.cash told us to do because the fund will end and if so will this platform if not earlier. The thing is most users here do not give that tip which means the system won't work. If always the same do they will be out of money and it's questionable how many tips will be given. If the platform comes to that stadium you really need to be good to earn something here and we already know most of us are not.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This platform does not generate its own income and it depends on sponsorship. I wonder what will happen if the sponsorship is gone.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is told by read.cash several times. About 6 weeks ago they spoke about advertising and in the last message, it was written too. Advertisements will be all over this platform. At that time it was the reason to fight people who steal from the fund and that still is the case.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't think I will host an other contest soon. I already told read.cash that. Who knows in a few months if there are real writers, people willing to work for this platform instead of breaking it down. 😕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think there is a real writer her but most probably some leaves or buried under all the spams.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I manage to read through the train of thoughts although the word "even" hit me. Even? The community freewriting and read. cash organized a writing contest. We helped people writing. Not just let them join but really helped by advising, allowing changes, allow practicing, and more. The thank you is some of these people started writing way better, the other "thank you" was people starting scam, abusing the fund in many ways, and now backstabbing the creator. That's something I do not understand.

Adults behaving like children. People with children, people preaching to think before you speak/write suddenly do not feel the need to think because it is fun. It's normal for them to have fun this way, to complain about points, to scam. I try to understand it but I can't.

I think what I would do if people on purpose would damage my creation. Something did out of goodness. I wonder what you would do after so many weeks, months of working hard, after reading so many complaints. I know what I would do and would have done a long time ago.

👍🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well I admit that at that time, the feed seemed like an alcoholics therapy session given the topic but I agreed on how much you helped the participants with their entries, as well as provide materials which could be used for the free writing event. Those kinds of events would be nice and better than the random give aways and sponsorships that lack content to me since they all appear the same format to me. If it happened to be "to the one that makes the best content about a given picture or topic, then I will sponsor or tip you" but it's not the case but rather a series of self promotion. I mean, I understand that their work needs publicity but then what about helping other people improve as well? I think people are aware that you're good, else not a lot of people would anticipate your content.

I can understand that too that adults get more childish as they age. I see that in my parents a lot. How easily they get impatient but i know people can find other ways to amuse oneself without the need to fall into fads and without the need to attack the creator, thus resulting in him having to leave.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Actually, to me most feed, if it comes to alcohol-effects, we're the same. Oh, how funny it is to be drunk. After one person wrote something else the drunks suddenly came with stories which turned out not to be that funny.

You have to keep in mind that under normal circumstances certain topics are googled for which means these articles will be read.There was something new added to the lists and tips we can google for since decades. The AAA is famous which means there's a market for these kinds of content. The only thing I regret is the biggest part of those who joined turned out to be not mature enough to really see the effects of alcohol and keep up the good writing.

The idea about free writing is you can always write. No need for a writer's block or lack of inspiration. Each word is good to use. I just wrote a short story with this topic and the prompts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know what the free write entails but of course it's good to be reminded that a majority of these people are either minors or not of good english background to be able to live up to your expectations.

But then those rather depressing entries were a good read too. I just hoped that more variations could have been added to the theme. Maybe another time, images could be used. Just maybe

$ 0.00
3 years ago