Similarity of Sin and Pride

27 44
Avatar for Hanhan.430cas
2 years ago

For today's article, since we are still in the Lenten season, in fact next week we will celebrate the Holy Week, it's our time to reflect, meditate and even contemplate ourselves how's our relationship with God. If you have noticed, almost of my articles are more about reflecting ourselves as I did. Thus, a sensitive article. This is for all including me.

_______________________

If you are too much interested in yourself and you are not caring about other's needs, feelings and emotions then you're self-centered. Don't blame me. Blame Merriam Webster. ✌️

This article talks about one letter and no other than "l". Yes I not U. I is written in capital letter whether it is found on the first, middle or last of the sentence. But many people wrote this letter incorrectly. But don't you know that this letter is somewhat present in some negative words like sin and pride? In fact, it is found at the center of the two words and make them also similar. What is the impact of this to our lives? Does it have negative meaning? What is the connection of these two words, sin and pride?

Because of pride, people committed sin. Likewise, because of sin, people don't know to lower down their pride. According to Saint Augustine of Hippo, it was PRIDE that changed angels into devils; it is HUMILITY that makes men as angels. This is very true when the brother of Saint Michael the Archangel wanted to become equal to God or even more than with Him. He was became a rebellious angel because of pride.

Is pride a sin? It is not a sin but pride that makes us to commit sin. Yes pride is a sin. In fact, it is number one of the capital deadly sin. Because of pride, people don't know how to forgive. Many failed because of pride. They thought when they won in a harsh conversation they could feel real happiness within their hearts. No. They could have no longer peace in their minds and even in an actions. It starts with an anger and ends with revenge and hatred until it became a sick. When you have this kind of sick, you are near to death. This kind of sick can't be seen in any machines like microscope, x-ray, and many more. Our soul was stained by this mortal sin that would lead us into hell. Remember, God took angels away from heaven and fell on earth because of pride and became devils. They were never given a chance to be forgiven. That's why Satan and his companions were very angry with us human because God gave us many times His forgiveness because we are special creations of God. But let's not abuse His goodness and mercy.

Pride and sin are crime partner. We committed sins because of pride. It is I which is the center of it. Like in a certain group, there is really one who wants to be focused by some people. He wants to be the topic of all times. He wants everyone will listen to him or her.

Pride is everywhere. It is an instrument of Satan used to tempt us. It is his tool to drag us closer to God. Even in our workplace, some people applied "I" mentality. They questioned why they are the one promoted to such position for I am better than them.

Going back again to the topic, the middle letter of the two words, pride and sin is the letter "I" which encapsulates the message of individualism and partition. Because of pride, we tend to think that we are better and thus, no longer need others. We sometimes believe we don't need God either, because we can create our own results, our own destinies. On the other hand, our sins lead us to a life away from God. This is the world that "I" mentality has brought us to.

Writer's Note

It is through humility that we can overcome anger. A humble person will have no problem reconciling with another even it the fault is not his. In the cross of Jesus, we see a supreme example of love and overcoming rage. He could have cursed at everyone then but He did not. God humbled Himself for us. We must do the same.

__________________________

Thank you for reading!

13
$ 1.52
$ 1.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @MizLhaine
+ 5
Sponsors of Hanhan.430cas
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanhan.430cas
2 years ago

Comments

God created us just like HIM. He is the perfect One in this world. He really loves us the way He loves Himself. Just face repentance,accept the true meaning of Love for HIM. PRAY and serve the LORD . Be humble enough!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks ma'am fro dropping by. Welcome to the community. God bless to you journey here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being humble is a priceless thing we can execute to make this a better world ..but a lot of people seems to can't do it. why because of pride.. and I hope they will realize na mas better ang buhay kung mapagkumbaba ka ..mas enjoy ang life...proven kuna to..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks my friend for dropping by. I agree sayo. Wala namang mawawala sa ating kung magpakumbaba Tayo. Magaan sa loob kung marunong Tayo magpatawad dahil makakamtan natin Ang kapayapaan sa puso't isipan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You say it well, Pride can be sin, as because sometimes our ego won't allow us to forgive nor to be defeated. Bad ego wants nothing but overflowing power and that makes a person made an unforgivable sin in God's eye.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pride is one of the greatest sins

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that's true. If we remain sinful, it's a disgrace for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Too much pride will eventually lead us to sin. Pride will make us feel entitled and it isn't pleasinh. Humility is the key in every situation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If we try to lower down our pride, humility starts to grow which teaches us to be humble.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pride goes before a fall. You're right, pride has made most of us feel entitled to things even when we were meant to be apologetic about our wrongs. Pride would make us feel that we're right. I'm kinda sure if Angel Lucifer had apologized after wanting to be like God. I'm sure God would have shown mercy. But no, he'd rather be thrown down than to apologise to the maker.

After pride; comes a fall.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for that my friend. Pride covers our own fault. We can easily find the sins of others but ours not.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a nice exposition. Pride is a really a deadly factor we need to work against and chase out of life. Pride is totally behaving against God's commandments and because God has been merciful, He keep letting us live compared to how He threw the devil away, we are still condoling the act. So bad!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really our pride that hinders to follow or obey God's commandments. Thanks for that additional insights my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice content, sir, indeed pride is something we can have. People have this especially when they are sumptuous in life. Pride is dangerous especially it makes the people blind to offer help in a tough situation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really dangerous because pride can kill our body and soul. Sometimes also we refused other's help because we have a strong beliefs that everything will be okay due to our capabilities.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pride spells sin. We need to understand the situation and be as compassionate as ever to avoid having trouble.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you're right my friend. Understanding would help us also to be patient.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Too much pride is a sin. We need to repent for us to receive forgiveness. Yes I really appreciate your content sir, this is significant.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Repentance is our turning point facing to God's mercy. Without repentance, when we die we could hardly inherit His kingdom. God is a God of mercy. He is willing to forgive us when we ask for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, repentance is really required to our generation. That's the main reason our God leaves a message for us. We should repent and be baptize in his name.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To repent is to avoid and forget our past lifestyle that would somehow ruin our lives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Over pride is definitely a sin. Because you start teasing others which may hurt their emotions.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think you're referring to a false pride. Hurting them is one way of killing them as well. So in anger, we should know to control it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How about pain turns pride sir? I mean, I was in pain and maybe it turns out to be pride because I don't want to reconnect to them. But I don't talk ill to them like I curse them, no. I just want to stay away from them. And cut ties. I mean, maybe it's pride that I don't want to be connected with them anymore. I am angry but I know how to forgive, it's just that I don't want to connect with them again. I know, it's a sin though as I can't throw away that painful past. I did moved on but I don't really want to be connected with them anymore. Having them away from me and my family gives me peace.

Am I asking too much if I say I don't want to see them anymore?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We can't forgive others if we can't forgive also ourselves. God knows your sufferings. He understands your situation. Now, it's your choice not to be connected anymore with them. As long as you don't think negative against them as revenge. You have nothing to worry about. If they sincerely asked for your forgiveness but you ignored, it is your pride that hinders you to do so. But since you were hurt most, you don't need to sorry to them but you must forgive also yourself and ask guidance from God to live peacefully. I understand also ma'am your situation. I know it is not easy. Talk to God about that and listen to what He says. I know that God will listen to those who are afflicted. What makes us wrong or sin if we take revenge to them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't do revenge sir as I always believe that there's a karma. And that everything you throw to other people will get back to you. All I did when I was hurt is to pray for them. Pray for them to realize what they've caused to me. I myself asked forgiveness to God of my wrong doings. But no matter how much I think, I never did bad things to them. Instead I stood with bowing head just for them to know that I respected them but they've done much to me that I never thought will be the reason for a trauma not to fall into traps of kindness which is fake. I mean, I have trust issues now because of it that not all kindness being shown to you is true. Well, they didn't even asked forgiveness sir, instead they kept on looking down on us/me.

I hope to surpass this one. As I always read in the Bible , forgiving and loving others is the thought that somehow made me guilty. I've read in the verse and devotion yesterday about loving your brother (others), coz you're not truly love God if you don't love others who you have seen. I do love God even if I don't seen him but then I can't love other people who inflected pain in me. And I felt shame with it coz it's hard to do so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I appreciate what you did ma'am. You don't have any obligation for them. You did what is right. You have offered all your sufferings to God. You have no choice but to keep distance from them which is the best way to do. Hoping and praying everything will be okay. Keep in touch always with God for He is our strength in times of our discomfort.

$ 0.00
2 years ago