Sleep Paralysis

30 127
Avatar for Gwenie
Written by
3 years ago

Sleep paralysis is something I guess most of us had already experienced. But what exactly is sleep paralysis? Is it really associated with the presence of evil, as most cultures believe? Let's find out.

Sleep paralysis is a feeling of being conscious but you cannot move. This often occurs when an individual passes between stages of wakefulness and sleep. During this stage, a person may be unable to move or speak for a few seconds up to a few minutes. A person may also hallucinate (hear, feel, or see things that are not there) which often results in fear.

Samuel Johnson originally defined sleep paralysis in his A Dictionary of English Language as nightmare, or in Filipino, bangungot.

Sleep paralysis was widely considered as a work of demons, specifically incubi. In Old English, the names for these beings was mare or mære, hence comes the mare in a nightmare.

There are two types of sleep paralysis.

Hypnagogic or Predormital Sleep Paralysis

  • This occurs while a person is falling asleep. This happens when the body slowly relaxes as a person falls asleep. A person usually becomes less aware and does not notice the change. However, if a person remains aware while falling asleep, they can notice that they cannot move or speak.

Hypnopompic or Postdormital Sleep Paralysis

  • This happens when a person became aware before the REM cycle is finished. During sleep, the body alternates between NREM (non-rapid eye movement) and REM (rapid eye movement). Within the NREM stage, the body relaxes. This usually takes 75% of the overall sleep time. At the end of NREM, the sleep alters to REM. The eyes move quickly in this stage and this is often where dreams occur. During REM, the rest of the body remains very relaxed. But if a person became aware before this cycle is finished, that's when sleep paralysis occurs.

An average of four out of ten people may experience sleep paralysis. This is a common condition and men and women of any age can experience it. This may also run in the families as a result of specific genetic changes. However, there are also other factors that may be linked to sleep paralysis such as:

  • Sleep deprivation.

  • Sleep schedule that changes.

  • Mental conditions like stress or Bipolar disorder.

  • Sleeping on the back.

  • Sleep problems like nighttime leg cramps.

  • Use of certain medications.

  • Substance abuse.

What to do during sleep paralysis? There's no need to fear evil or demons. This also doesn't have any cure, unless it is caused by other medical conditions. A person can minimize experiencing it by making sure to get enough sleep. It will also help if a person relieves stress before bedtime. Trying a new sleep position can also help. But if the sleep paralysis routinely happens, it is best to consult a doctor.

Unability to move and frequent hallucinations are the universal features of sleep paralysis. However, the ways in which they are experienced may vary according to time, place, and culture.

According to some scientists, culture is also a major factor in shaping sleep paralysis. For instance, if it is feared in a certain culture, this fear can result to conditioned fear, and thus worsen the experience.

Research has found that in Egypt, there are higher rates and longer durations of immobility during sleep paralysis. This is because they have elaborate beliefs about it.

A study comparing the rates and characteristics of sleep paralysis in Denmark and Egypt showed that it is more common in Egypt versus Denmark. This is because Denmark has no supernatural beliefs about sleep paralysis. The study showed that the episodes of sleep paralysis there are shorter and fewer people fear that they could die from it.

Folklores

The night hag is the general name for folkloric creatures which is used to explain the phenomenon of sleep paralysis. A common description is that a person feels the presence of a supernatural being sitting on his chest, which causes the immobilization.

  • Egypt - Egyptians conceptualize sleep paralysis as a terrifying jinn attack. The jinn may even kill the victims.

  • Italy - In Italy, they refer sleep paralysis as a pandafeche attack. Pandafeche may refer to an evil witch, a terrifying catlike creature, or a ghostlike spirit.

  • Philippines - Here in the Philippines, there are also some beliefs that sleep paralysis is caused by evil spirits or other supernatural entities.

I've also read somewhere that sleep paralysis is the gateway to astral projection. Im not yet sure about this and maybe I'll just write another article explaining this.

You can also share in the comment section your country's culture and beliefs about sleep paralysis.

Lead image from Facebook. Used with permission.

Thanks for reading. :)

-Gwenie

Sponsors of Gwenie
empty
empty
empty

30
$ 3.28
$ 3.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @Telesfor
$ 0.05 from @Mictorrani
Avatar for Gwenie
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Sometime it happens with me that i am fully aware of my surroundings but cant move and i am feeling terrified

$ 0.00
2 years ago

this picture exactly shows how I feel when human is trying to put me to his mouth. Dark times for us, potatoes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's a good write up. It really sucks to experience sleep paralysis. It's a nightmare for me because it feels like my soul left my body. It's like I'm trying my best to wake up but I cannot. I just pray trying to wake up haha. I hope that you won't experience this yourself. Thanks for sharing this and have a great day

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I fell this kind of thing so many time in a month

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What do you usually do when you experience this?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have sleep paralysis since I was a child. I'm thankful they are gone now. I think sometimes it just because of too much stress, trauma, and being too much tired. I don't know what the real reason is, I'm just speaking based on my experiences.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What you mentioned can also be linked to sleep paralysis. Good to know that they are gone now. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. I'm very happy I can sleep well now. It is very terrifying every time I'm having sleep paralysis.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for analysing sleep paralysis scientifically and medically. Many people believed it is caused by diabolic effects and demons, but it should clear to them now that it is purely of medical issues.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. And the beliefs of the demonic factors can worsen the experience of the paralysis. That's why we should stay as relaxed as possible when experiencing this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nakakatakot KAYA ma sleep paralysis , ilang beses ko na naranasan yan

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True sis. Lalo dito saatin, dami pamandin paniniwala tungkol jan.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

KAYA nga may namamatay panga minsan

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True sis. Pinaniniwalaan na binangungot, binisita ng ganito-ng ganyan. Lalo sa mga probinsya tulad dito samin.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo Ang Sama nga lagi pag nakakapanaginip ako GANYAN LAGING my involve na devil daw kuno hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. Hindi naman natin pwede ipaliwanag scientific explanation niya lalo sa mga matatanda. Kaya tatahimik na lang. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aneong it's me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Always pray to God before u sleep

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess every culture has a tale for this situation. In my childhood, It happened to me a lot. After searching on the web, the frequency had decreased. Thank you for explanations for the ones who knows limited things over it😌

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. Every culture have a different explanation about this. And we also need to know its scientific side. Good to know you've done your own research about this. Understanding how this happens really helps to lessen the fear of sleep paralysis.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I always experienced this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What do you usually do when you experience this mam?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I keep praying

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are right mam. Through our God we can overcome anything. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think sleep paralysis is bangungot in tagalog po, dasal lng po bgo mtulog n nrnasan q na rin po yan n ngigising lng po aq kundi dhil sa my kumalabit sa akin o my tumawag po sa pangalan q, this is a nice article po, God bless

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you mam. Yes po this is bangungot dito sa atin. Isa po talaga na nagpapalala ng sleep paralysis dito saatin is yung mga paniniwala din po. And tama po kayo mam. Dasal po talaga malaking tulong pampakalma.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Opo, msydong mraming paniniwala d2 sa atin pro ala mn po msama kng susundin un, pro mnsan prang ndi na din po mgnda kc mnsan po naggupit aq ng kuko sa gabi o mdaling araw po kya ngagalit nanay q,lol n salamat din po, mam gwenie :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. Oo nga mam. Pero mas okay na sundin para di mapagalitan. Haha. Wala din naman po mawawala if ever. Basta pray lang po tayo lagi. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Gosh I knew this feeling. I can relate to this article because I had this somehow or somewhat a terrifyng experience of being in a sleep paralysis. I mean it can lead to trauma and fear. I think anyone can relate to it. And it's just crazy and dangerous that thinking the odds of how dangerous sleeping can be. Thinking that you might not wake up when you sleep. But with God, he gave me the strength and courage to overcome this fear. In the past, I can't sleep alone at night because of this but I realized that when god is here with me there's nothing to be fear about. I mean there's a lot of possible solutions for this but believing God is with me is the most effective way for me to get past this. Just pray and believe our lord. That's all, thank youu just have faith in him.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can relate to what you said sir. The first time I experienced this, I'm so afraid to sleep again. But with our God, we can overcome anything.

$ 0.00
3 years ago