I'm Back

36 87
Avatar for Gwenie
Written by
3 years ago

Good evening from my side of the globe. ☺ As the title says, I'm back. πŸ˜„ Though I was not totally awayβ€”because I still read and comment on some articles hereβ€”it still feels so good to be able to write here again.

These past weeks, many things happened. Good and bad. There were patience-consuming days, but there were spirit-lifting too.

Here are some of the things that happened to me.

Last week, I was blessed with the chance to enjoy this place. This is the St. Lucy Parish church, located in the town plaza of Aringay, La Union. This was taken in the middle of the day, and yes, it was really hot. Haha. But like what we Filipinos say, tiis-ganda. πŸ˜† The gardener here also gave me some plant that was added to my collection of green babies.

While doing my work, I also got the chance to rest here a little and enjoy the view and the salty air. The view is so calming and I think my lungs was happy to have unpolluted air too. πŸ˜† As for those tripod-looking things on the left, I don't really know their name and purpose. But I think the fishermen in the area tie their boats there when there are storms or when the waves seem angry.

I also resigned from my work and it was effective today. I felt so relieved and felt like a heavy burden was removed from my shoulder. This is something that also belongs to my list of good things that happened.

And now, enough of good days because there were bad days too.

I resigned from my work, not because of the work itself, but because I felt that I was just getting tired for nothing. Imagine commuting from one town to another. Bus, jeepneys, and tricycle fares increased because of the pandemic. Then when I calculated it, nothing was left in my salary. Even my savings account looks like a nest now, having three eggs. (0.00). That is why I decided to resign and just continue our thrift shop business.

Yesterday, I and my younger siblingβ€”a 19-year-old boyβ€”fought. We were exchanging harsh words when he suddenly hit my back with a dustpan. I was hit really hard because the dustpan was even destroyed. Edi sis syempre gumanti Ako, hinampas ko siya ng takuri, sapul as noo. Then doon na niya ako sinuntok-suntok, sa likod din. (sorry I cannot translate this in EnglishπŸ˜… Help πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚) The photo was taken right after we fought and the barangay tanod left. I was asked if I would file a case against my sibling, but I decided not to do it.

This is how my back looks now. When I woke up this morning, my back felt sore. I cannot move my right hand properly too. The pain even reached my chest and my throat, which made me worried. I am worried that, what if something happened to my lung or in some internal part of my right body. That is why I will observe for a few days more, and if it will get worse, I think I'll need to have an X-ray, to say the least. Which I hope will not happen because hospitalization is something out of the budget for now.

I also want to share this because I think this is something more women should be aware of. Do not let any manβ€”may it be your husband/boyfriend, brother, father, or whoeverβ€”hit you physically. Because the day when a man laid his fist on you, is also the day he lost his respect for you. Lumaban tayo sis. Let's fight for our rights. I know it is easier said than done, especially for mothers whose reason is "ayoko lumaki anak ko na walang ama" (I don't want my child to grow up without a father). I myself grew up without a father. And in my opinion, it is better than growing up seeing your mom crying while getting hit and having lots of bruises. So for all the women out there, stay strong queens, and fight for your rights. πŸ’•

I think this is getting too long that's why I'll end it here. Thanks for reading and if you have some questions, reactions, or opinions, feel free to comment.

Always keep safe everyone. πŸ’•

-Gwenie

53
$ 3.90
$ 3.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Gwenie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gwenie
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Oh darn.. that is quite a bad bruise. Good to see you back! Hope you are feeling better now. Yes, we must never let any man hit us. I would fight back too!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thankfully I am better now. In a few more days, I think this will fully heal. Agree. Because if we wont fight back, men will think that they're stronger than us and will probably do it again. Which is something we should never allow.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Phopo nice but danger forus pic which in you beating to own her

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I did not fully understand what you said but I think you said that the photo is nice, so thank you. ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wao

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You had great travel ha? 1st and 2nd picture are looking so amazing. Where it is?? And what is happend with your hand? Is that okay? It seems you get hurt badly.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The first and second picture was taken here in La Union. We have many beautiful places here. Beaches, mountains, forests, falls, name it, we have it. πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is good to know you're right, don't let any man to abuse you. Women have been abused for centuries in the past and has been never given enough rights in the society also. Fortunately there's a change. Please speak up, our generation today is new. We have lot of advocacies pertaining to women rights. Dont be afraid.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Agree. It is good to know and familiarize ourselves with our rights. Women today should not be afraid because fear will just cause more abuse. Here in the Philippines we have the law called VAWC or Violence Against Women and Children. It takes courage to report physical abuse, especially when abused by someone you love. But it is something that must not be tolerated.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yess good thing you also know about that. Raffy tulfo is da key haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay trueness πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ watching raffy tulfo did not only taught me many laws, but entertained me as well πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ my chismosa self is tuwang tuwa πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha yeaah very much educating also, at the same time enhancing your chismising talent. Me i learned that when i am still a PolSci student. But i shifted

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder why you shifted. But anyway, good luck on your new course ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woe, that was a rough week, but what scares me most is the injury you received. I'm fearing what might have happened to you internally due to the pain yo're feeling. I believe you should take some legal action or at least report that cousin of yours - when men begin to act this way and nothing happens, they feel they are above any punishment and will continue.

I hope you get better tho. It's been a long time since I saw your posts

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will. If this will not get better until tomorrow, I will have a checkup and file a police report as well. He is actually my sibling. 5yrs old younger than me. Thank you for the concern. ❀

What you said is true. Men who physically abuse women and not reported to the authorities will feel superior. That's why I also want to raise an awareness. Because abusing a woman physically was, and never will, be acceptable. Whatever the reason is.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Do you still feel pains?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thankfully I am better now. I think a few more days and this will fully heal.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Edi sis of course I retaliated, I hit him with a sledgehammer, from the forehead. Then there he punched me, in the back as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Whoat?! Umm.. why do you copy someones comment? Or you just translated the Filipino term that was written in my post.?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome back we really miss you...but now that you are back what do you have for me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. Haha. Well, I really don't have an article in mind as of now. But I guess you'll see me more in the comment section now. πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Best of luck

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good Evening too. Welcome back. Hopefully your pasa will be okay as soon as possible.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I really hope that too. Because you know, 1t re4lLy HurTz
πŸ‘‰πŸ˜£πŸ‘ˆ . Haha kidding aside, it still hurt and I still can't move properly because of this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are always welcome my friend.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome back, and hope you get well soon sis.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you sis β€πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like the other pictures though, especually the one by the seaside

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. And thanks for the concern. I really appreciate it.❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Edi sis of course I retaliated, I hit him with a sledgehammer, from the forehead. Then there he punched me, in the back as well.

This is a translation of your Filipino Text there from Google. You hit him with a sledgehammer? Cool πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Don't let a man trample on you like that! He punched you in the back? That's pretty dangerous, why does he do that?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sledgehammer πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ most of the time, google translations are funny. πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ hmm, takuri is the Filipino term for the kettle. He punched me when I fought back and hit him using the kettle.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Sledgehammer. I was wondering where you got a sledgehammer from and why he didn't die when you hit him πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ A sledgehammer is quite heavy, he'll probably die if he was hit in the head πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago