When we were soldiers

8 44
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: War

Lay me doon In the caul caul groon

Whaur afore monie mair huv gun

When they come I will stand my groon

Staun ma groon al nae be afraid

Thoughts awe home tak awa ma fear

Sweat an bluid hide ma veil awe tears

Ains a year say a prayer faur me

Close yir een an remember me

Nair mair shall a see the sun

For I fell to a German's gun

Lay me doon in the caul caul groon

Whaur afore monie mair huv gaun

Whaur afore monie mair huv gaun

This is written in the original Scottish version of the song, the source in both English and Scottish version is here

I first heard this song in the movie"We were soldiers" featuring Mel Gibson giving audiences a view of what the battlefield was like during the Vietnam War.

Image source: https://bestsimilar.com/movies/25440-we-were-soldiers

One could argue that the Vietnam War was one of the greatest wars which cost the lives of so many Americans, a big loss. I did some further research and then I understood why, a topic for another article.

My roommate think me weird for even listening to the song, there is a certain "vibe" that you get when you listen to those lyrics, it's more of a goodbye song from a soldier to his family.

It tells the story of a soldier going into battle and his final wish for when he fails to return.

So many wars have been fought, we can't begin to count how many lives have been claimed during these wars for peace.

"War for peace"- what an irony wouldn't you agree.

I once posted an article on noise.cash about how it would have felt to be alive during the dark ages, going to war with only a slight hope of ever returning alive.

This is a salute to thank the great Men and Women who give their lives on the line to defend their nations. I can only hope their sacrifices are worth it.

So many lives have been lost over the past century to ensure that we have what we have now but instead of us appreciating this sacrifice, we only add more to the bloodshed all in the name of what, Peace?

image source: https://www.cfr.org/blog/ten-vietnam-war-novels-read?amp

What great cause is there that requires you to take your brother's life, your sister's life?

Even Animals do such with decency and are still better than Humans in that regard. I'm sorry for saying this, it can be a hard pill to swallow but the fact remains man is man's greatest enemy.

World War I, World War II, Vietnam War, Cold War, Civil Wars, Inter-Tribal Wars even Chemical Wars all for what?

Is there even such thing as Peace in the world of today or is it just compromise?

With pain in my heart, I write this article, no more bloodshed. My heart goes out to those on the frontline giving their lives for the cause, they are the true heroes.

I always wanted to be a soldier growing up. I remember how I cried to my mom to allow me to take the NDA exams, just as I was about to succeed in my quest my cousin who took the exams and went for the interview came home with his experience and so I lost the battle.

I was a lot younger then and was probably chasing a childish dream, seeing men in uniform marching fascinated me I guess.

Now I'm older and I see things a lot better than I did, I can only begin to fathom the thoughts on a husband, wife, son, and daughter as they bid farewell to their loved one going into battle who might never return.

I put myself in their shoes, I have never been good at saying goodbyes but then you can't disobey a command to fight for your country and to defend her honor.

You march into battle with comrades but you know deep down not everyone would come back home. Everyone had to tell someone goodbye to be there.

image source: https://www.nyhistory.org/exhibitions/vietnam-war-1945-1975

The first battle gun is fired and soon it's time for war, bullets flying through the sky, each one capable of claiming your life but still you fight on, For your honor, for your country, and for your loved ones in hope that you will return home the victor and see them once again.

You watch men fall, you see them scream in pain or anger, battle cries all over the place. Sweat and blood hide the veil of tears on your face.

By some good grace and good strategy you win the battle and can return home. Some memories stick with you

"No one came back" - Thomas Shelby (From Peaky Blinders movie)

Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) is a common issue most battle returnees face upon their return. The illusion the battle is still on, the need for a therapist.

You left the war but it didn't leave you. The pain and loss of the battlegrounds take their toll.

That is a great burden for anyone to carry. You would think that would be the end of the war only for another one to rise again and you might be required to return. Every minute might be your last but you still fight on.

So, I want to use this opportunity to thank these great heroes for their services to our nation. Nothing can be more devastating like the times of war.

My heart also goes out to the people of Afghanistan, I can only imagine how it must feel to have your whole life and home stripped away from you. I am but a voice but my prayers will go a long way.

To the lives lost, the soldiers who died in service over the years for their good cause, may their souls rest in peace.

image source:https://www.shutterstock.com/search/rip+peace

I salute you!


Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
You need to check out my amazing sponsors for more interesting articles.

Lead image source from unsplash

6
$ 4.12
$ 3.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 6
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: War

Comments

I just loved the way you compose your write up...I wish I had knew u earlier than this. Great job👏

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

War is an irony. Making war for peace is humanity's greatest falsehood. Thousands and thousands of people die from wars that you do not know why or what is their background. Right now I am listening to the song. The vibe is immense.

I do not condone wars at all. They are full of disaster and death. Look at Afghanistan as it was after an intervention. I hope they bounce back from such a hard blow for 20 years.

Let's make peace above all else, let's make love prevail all over the planet. Hatred only incites more hatred. We are all human beings and we deserve to live in peace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How difficult it would be for all the soldiers to go to fight without any hope of returning.Their families, their dreams and their hopes all were left behind just to save the nation.They are our real heroes who deserve to be appreciated.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, they should be appreciated

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I heard the songs and the lyrics are just lit. I still, didn't watch the movie but it seems very interesting. I am going to add this to my watch later list.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You definitely should

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I watched the film, it is a great one. It is sad yes, and ironic too that the idea of peace involves arms, weapons and wars. Salute indeed to men and women of the past and of the present who bravely fought (and are fighting) for what they believe in.

$ 0.02
2 years ago