What were his last words?

2 36
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago

Why is there so much emphasis on last words, especially when one is close to passing on? I often wonder why this is. When an elderly man is passing on, or a soldier is wounded in battle, they try to make that last word count or mean something, there is so much emphasis to this.?

Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Check out my amazing sponsors 

I watched as he was tied to the stake, he had killed someone, by accident or not? I guess it doesn't matter, the judge had ruled against his favor and he was to be publicly executed. He tried to be strong for so long, you know, being brave in the face of death, the rule that as humans we try to live by - "don't let your enemy see your tears".

The whole citizens in the town came out to see the execution, children were forced inside while the adults stood by watching. I felt very sad about what was about to happen, is there no better way to carry out this punishment, what about a quick and painless poison?

That was when I looked to the side to see the family whose son he had killed, I wouldn't be so fast to call it murder, but in the eyes of the law, the dead person is always innocent. Being from a " less" wealthy home didn't help his case either, even though the majority of people claimed the fight was initiated by the man whose name I do not yet know and by now buried, the one alive is the one who had been found guilty. Then and there, I decided to be a judge when I grow up to try and save as many innocent lives as possible.

The brigadier of soldiers had formed a line and were marching into position for the execution, a lot of ceremonies to commit murder in the name of the "law". I seem to recall a movie I saw a while ago that said "An unjust law is no law at all". This could be no farther from the truth.

"For the crime of murder, you have been sentenced to death, do you have any last words?"

A man spoke, I suspect him to be the Captain judging from the salute he got from other military personnel on-site whose jobs were to control the crowd in case of riots.

That was when I noticed the man who stood strong throughout the whole execution process trying not to show any fear in the face of danger break down in tears

What is it about that final question that finally broke him? I've never seen a grown man cry, this was a first.

"I have a couple of requests if I may be granted them" - he pleaded.

"Your final wish is granted" - the captain replied.

The crowd grew silent, you could hear a pin drop.

If this was a movie, it is the scene where a group of vigilantes would appear from outside the crowd to save the innocent man and bring an end to this but this wasn't a movie, time to face reality, most times, the villains win.

Again, what is it with the final words?

With tears filled in his eyes, he said the exact words that would forge my career path as a law enforcer.


This is a fictional story that has been in my head for a while now. Don't get so emotional, public execution ended about 2 decades ago but there are people who witnessed this and I figured out it must have felt this way for some.

Lately, I've been thinking, what last words would I want to be remembered saying? There is that belief that those words have power behind it, a curse or a blessing?

Well, the man to be executed could still count himself lucky, what about those who don't get to make that last statement, or at least make a reasonable one? The more I look at it, the more careful I want to be spewing out words. You don't know when it would be your last so you just have to treat each as your last and keep on spreading positivity.

Oh, if you were wondering what his last words were, I've given enough hints in this article, feel free to make guesses.

Lead Image Source: Wikiwand.com

14
$ 4.25
$ 4.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 3
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago

Comments

I don't think it's okay to pay so much attention to one's last words. For me, it's no more important than what he said a week ago.. All our words should matter and be dear to us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The value or importance of last words of a person before his passing vary in meaning depending on the beliefs of people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago