Harmony is gone

18 34
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Loss

I sat down alone with thoughts, trying to understand why bad things have to happen to good people. Trying to understand why we people need to die, why can't we just live forever? Sounds stupid, I know, but just don't say it to someone who just lost someone he loves.

I'm here sitting in my corner, screaming my throats out but no one can hear me, no is listening, loneliness hits harder. I hate the way I'm feeling. I'm angry with the world. Why do you have to take my boy's life?

I stand in a corner seeing my little sister cry over this big loss to the family. I try to act tough and strong as I scream at her to stop crying so as not to attract people's attention. Before I could utter any words, the tears come crashing out like endless waves. I'm not the type to break easily but not this time. I left to the scene to cry in silence.

I come back to stare at his lifeless body. I can't leave him out here like this, he deserves a proper burial. When you've raised someone from childbirth to adulthood, it takes a big toll on you when you lose them.

It seems like it was just yesterday when he came into our lives. He was very playful and restless, always causing a mess and crying all night. As he grew up, we got closer, I could talk to him about what was bothering me and surprisingly he understood, he had a weird way of comforting me. He would roll on the floor playful until I smiled. He knew when I was happy, sad, and angry.

I couldn't continue staring at him, he deserves a proper burial. I need to be strong, no more crying, it's time to straighten up. He had a good life, he lived well and died well. He had been feeling down for a while, the doctors said it was because he was getting old. Silly of me to think he would be with me forever.

As I dug the ground to bury him, I'm reminded of all the good times we had. He loved when I rubbed his stomach. He would jump on me whenever I got back from school, oftentimes staining my clothes but I wouldn't mind because I was missing him too. I always had treats for him, so he would hover around my bag until I had given it to him.

Recently, he stopped playing, which was why I took him to the veterinary clinic for a check-up, they didn't see anything wrong with him but he started eating less, playing less, and sleeping more. This evening, I called him to have his dinner but he just walked up to me, I guess to say goodbye, he didn't even touch the food before he walked away. I knew something was up because I made his favorite food.

Later, I went to check his kernel, he wasn't there, that was when I saw his lifeless body on the porch. I prayed it was a prank and he would wake up, but he didn't. Tears filled my eyes as I screamed for him to wake up before breaking the news to the family.

It's a sad day for me, a sad day indeed. November 1 will now represent the day I lost Harmony. What a way to start a new month, I woke up this morning filled with excitement but I'm going to bed filled with pain, sorrow, and heartache. If I had the power to turn back time to when he was little just to play with him one last time, I would.

Dogs are very loyal, Harmony was. I hate to use the past tense but it's time for me to accept the reality. He has created a void in the family, one that won't be easily filled. He is gone now but his memories will live on. I'm not ashamed to say I cried, I might still do that once I drop this device, he was my best friend.

It is with a heavy heart that I say goodbye to my boy. I do not know where dogs go when they die, but wherever he is right now he's happy. He's probably up to some of the mischief I thought him. Rest on Harmony, rest on my little wolf.

Lead Image Source from me, it was the last picture I took of him. It was the day I got back from school, he was very excited to see me as he laid on the ground for some attention and to manipulate me into giving him treats, smart boy.

11
$ 4.07
$ 3.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @eve
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 8
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Loss

Comments

So sorry about this. Might be the usual charm testing people carry out on dogs. Is he allowed yo go outside the compound?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow such a heartwarming send off for harmony. He shall rest in peace. Take heart bro.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My heart is in pain to hear about the death of your dog,I can understand your agony to loss him. Hearing about him I also remember about my Dog whom I lossed two years ago.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm sorry about that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sorry to hear about Harmony's passing. It is heavy to the heart for sure. Really sad when a member of the family leaves forever. But as you said, the memory lives on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh dear. I wasn’t expecting that. Yesterday heard one news & today witnessing another. So sorry. 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a sad story. I feel so sorry abou this😔 I remember my 3 year old niece, crying the whole hours because her favorite dog died because of car accident. It breaks my heart seeing her that she feel the pain of losing.💔 I know hows the pain it was of losing one of your love😔😔

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My little sister cried to sleep

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oops, sorry for your loss. Seems like Harmony was so closed to you. I can say this again as I said many times, dogs are so much loyal to boys especially and I don’t know why can’t people understand this. I can feel your pain mate, once I had a dog and he also left me and that night I was screaming and crying for the whole night. We can’t do anything to bring him back but I just pray to God to give you enough strength. Have a blessed day buddy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amen to that, thanks friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was almost in tears while reading, you've got a solid heart right there.... the day I lost my dog I was just crying like a baby, it was really painful, I really know how you feel now.. your pet lived a good life cheer up brother..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Still have to process it all, it feels surreal

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to this because I lost my dog last year too, it was more painful because I caused it, I gave it to a neighbor to look after it because I was going to school. When I finally return they told me my dog was dead I thought they were joking at first until my grand ma told me 💔

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That must really hurt

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't believe you even had the strength to write this, this article was so sad to read, and I am sorry for your loss. I am sure he was glad to have you as his owner like you are glad to have him as your dog. He may be gone, but you still have the memories.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It wasn't easy, I took a pause in between.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really sad. Dogs are healers and generally loyal creatures. Sorry for your loss greatwolf. Harmony is in harmony as we speak, so I believe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is what comforts me

$ 0.00
2 years ago