Different type of teachers you'd meet

11 37
Avatar for Greatwolfman
1 year ago
Topics: Teaching bants

All my life, I have come across different types of teachers, some made me better, others worse but regardless they all had an impact on my life. They often say a good teacher should be judged by his students, well then, I shall be the judge in this matter and I'm pretty sure you'll agree with about 90% of my verdict.

Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Check out my amazing sponsors

The Active Teacher.

We all have that teacher who is always ready to work, they wouldn't mind going to the far lengths of organizing field trips and practicals that aren't within the school syllabus just to ensure that the kids get what is being taught.

As a lazy student, I don't like such teachers unless of course it involves going on field trips, who wouldn't love that eh? The best teacher I would suggest that fits this description would be my geography teacher, our visit to "Olumo Rock" - a popular tourist site attraction here in Nigeria- it's just one of those few places you find love, you know? Oh and yes, learn more about Rock Formations.

The playful Teacher.

This is always our favorite, the teacher that doesn't take everything to head and jokes with the class as though we are all friends, of course, they can be serious when they want to but they make learning fun.

I like these types of teachers for one reason alone, they have a habit of missing their class period which means a good time to nap, and even when they send notes or materials to read on and it's time to mark our scripts during exams, they do their best to cover their negligence and reward our efforts. I don't need to give an example here, I'm sure it reminds you of someone already.

The Strict Teacher.

We often associate discipline with being strict, this might be right because it would explain how a lazy boy like me became so good with Physics. My high school Physics teacher was like this.

There is always that teacher who commands a certain aura, when they walk into the class, no one dares make a sound unless asked to, the fear and terror that would last throughout the class is enough to keep you seated, focused, and of course wide awake throughout the whole duration, with your eyes actively watching the clock because you just can't wait for the terror to be over.

I didn't survive unscathed though, I had my fair share of beatings but boy am I happy that I went through that experience, the things I learned during those classes still help me to this day, the same goes for my Mathematics teacher (is it just mine or are all Mathematics teachers always strict? Let me hear your verdict on this one).

The determined Teacher.

This should be a goal for all teachers but it doesn't really help, they always come to class with a game plan to cover certain topics and when they can't, they start to fix classes at odd hours to try and make it up, and when that still isn't enough, you just wake up one morning to a couple of PDF notes to study against exams.

I personally despise such teachers, they seem to forget that it's not by how far they cover but by how well the students understand what is being taught.

The Learner.

These Teachers are usually the new ones or recent graduates who just like the students are trying to understand what is being taught. In college, they could also be Lecturers assigned to teach an area that is beyond their scope, so they try to study it, play around it, and try to teach it as well but when that serious student who always wears glasses and sits in front asks the tough questions, it becomes an assignment for everyone.

I don't enjoy such classes because especially when it involves mathematical calculations because it only leaves one worse off than he was before the class commenced.

The Wise Teacher (Guru Sensei).

They are usually Characterized by their age, usually with some gray hair and big glasses. I once lost my cool to such a teacher on multiple occasions. Imagine this, you are trying to learn something and instead of giving you a solution, they make you work hard for it, and even when they see you doing the wrong thing, they prefer to wait for hours for you to finish the whole work than pointing out that part you did wrong.

True story, I once came back from school and had to attend this extra lesson, he gave me a question to solve without even explaining how to go about it, and when I had a question he referred me to go back to the text and figure it out by thinking about it deeply. Long story short, I spent the whole day trying to solve that particular question, which made me lash out because it felt like I just taught myself.

Although, in a way it was very effective because the following day in class that question was a test question and because I had gone through a lot to figure out to solve it on my own, it was easier to answer.

It wasn't a good way to learn but it was effective, I still don't like such teachers but such lessons last long in my memory.


Well, these are the ones that come to mind at this time, if you have more, feel free to suggest some, and let's have a good laugh about them, have a wonderful day my friends.


10
$ 1.72
$ 1.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @Itsfarah
+ 4
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
1 year ago
Topics: Teaching bants

Comments

I was a teacher before, I love playing with my students aswell. thanks for the memories you brought.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like the playful teacher. Those ones makes the environment comfortable which aids learning. This guru teachers are sometimes very annoying. They can make something very basic become so complicated that you'd begin to doubt if you'd ever be able to learn. I guess all they're trying to do is get students to research. Nice article

$ 0.05
1 year ago

I must admit that I sometimes like the strict teachers as they are usually more efficient in a way.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

The guru sensei would tell you stuff that don’t make sense sometimes and tell you to make sense of it πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚all these professor kind of human beings

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I lie the strict ones because their glasses are usually noise free and I can hear every word that proceed out of the teachers mouth in peace.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I guess that's an advantage

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The gurus are usually professors, their wahala too much. I like the playful ones too, long as they do not derail from the class.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

That one is unavoidable, they will definitely fall out of topic and even start a different story which by the way are often captivating

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We met different teachers, and learned so many things from their behavior towards us. They were actually our mentors in every way.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I would love to have an active, strict, and wise teacher my dear friend Wolfman. When I was in College, I used to have terror professors. That was a challenging experience but it made me stronger in life.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I agree with you, as bad as it seemed to have tough teachers, it did sort of pay off in the end.

$ 0.00
1 year ago