What good is anger?

1 6
Avatar for Greatie
2 years ago

You know the saying that experience is the best teacher has proven to be true time and again, the past few weeks have only proved it much more true to me.
This year has been so challenging and tasking for me as I was burdened with organizing an event in my school that has not held for over 10 years. You can imagine the pressure that puts on you especially when you are the chairman of the planning committee.

Since it was more of an association thing it is expected of people to turn up. But that was not the case as only a few persons were actively involved in the planning and preparation of the event. This increased the work load and pressure on the few who were involved. The short time frame to the event was not even helping matters, as barely 3 weeks was the available time for the planning of the entire event which was scheduled to hold for 4 consecutive days.

When the activities of the event eventually began, I saw myself loosing my cool and scolding people more often than not such that I was always been persuaded to calm down. It was quite a shock to me as I am a person of calm disposition. The most shocking occurred on the third day when I flared up and went home angrily without allowing anyone to calm me down. I didn't attend the rest of the activities of the event due to how angry I was.

Later on, after pondering on my actions I figured it was not so easy being a leader. It is true what they say that leading humans is the toughest thing in the planet, I knew this and I also knew not to get angry to the extent of not listening to word of reasoning, but none of it mattered at that moment of my anger. It did cost me a thing or two though.

I eventually apologized though for my behavior, but all of that would have been avoided if I had just listened to the plea of those who were begging me at the time. I let experience teach me that anger is never the solution. I could have been much more reasonable and civil in my actions rather than making an open display of my rage. To be great one needs to have total control over emotions especially anger. This brings to mind Moses the Prophet who struck the rock instead of speaking to it and it cost him entering the promised land.

I may have missed it at this point, but I have learnt that anger and rage doesn't pay in anyway, but only causes hurts and regrets at the end. Being calm is a mastery that everyone should possess. Never let anger get the better part of you.

2
$ 0.05
$ 0.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Eurydice
Avatar for Greatie
2 years ago

Comments

I agree. I also believe that we must not throw decisions especially when we are angry. Hello, I am your 4th subscriber, keep writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago